We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly!”
Review of Hotel Vila Bela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vila Bela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The warm welcome by the owners when we arrived late at night set the tone. Vila-Bela is a family owned hotel where you quickly feel like a special host/ like a friend. We travelled with our 2 children (6 and 9 y.o.) and the whole team (Paula, Belmiro, Petra, Rodolfo & all) talked, joked and played with them (and with us) proposing many activities (fishing, surfing, etc.). The kids adored their surf lessons with Belmiro and Paula and are still talking about it. The hotel is perfectly located in front of the sea in Porto da Cruz, a very laid down and charming village (definitely one of our favorites after having toured the Island).The view from our room, the restaurant or the terrace is definitely one of the nicest possible in Madeira. Another great point about Vila-Bela is the food. Fresh & home-made, definitely the best we had during our stay (and we tried many restaurants in Funchal and around the island). Don’t expect 5 stars rooms but the one we had was nice, very functional, clean and well decorated and with that view.... what else to ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frenes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui R, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Vila Bela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hello Frenes,
Firstly our thanks for your stay at Hotel Vila Bela.
Secondly we would also like to thank your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit ...
Thank you,
The staff of Hotel Vila Bela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I loved my stay here. I spent a little extra for the room with the terrace, and found it to be excellent value. What a view! I enjoyed being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves every night. The room itself was simple and very clean. Breakfast was very fresh bread with cheese, meat, fruit and yoghurt. Simple but delicious. And the staff were some of the friendliest I have ever encountered. Highly recommend

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank chrissysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui R, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Vila Bela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hello Chrissysunshine,
Firstly our thanks for your stay at Hotel Vila Bela.
Secondly we would also like to thank your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit ...
Thank you,
The staff of Hotel Vila Bela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in Vila Bela for 3 nights half of april 2014 at the sea-side. The room was nice and tidy, but some towels seemed to be not fresh. Don't forget to bring some extra soap or shampoo too.
Unfortunately the windows didn't close well, so we didn't sleep very well because of the noise of the sea.
Not everybody at the hotel speaks good english though, but friendly all the time.
The hotel is also easy to reach from Funchal or Machico.

Room Tip: Choose a room without sea view because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldevusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui R, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Vila Bela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hello Idevusser,
Firstly our thanks for your stay at Hotel Vila Bela.
Secondly we would also like to thank your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit ...
Thank you,
The staff of Hotel Vila Bela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A lovely place to stay. Friendly, welcoming hosts and a complimentry glass of Poncha. We had a free upgrade to the suite which has two balconies, as the couple who were in the room we were going to be in were staying an extra night. And who could blame them. The views over the sea, coast and village were wonderful. We went for an evening walk along the track by the sea and heard shearwaters returning. It would have been good to explore the area and stay another day.

The evening meal was good, fresh and home made in a relaxing friendly atmosphere.

Breakfast was disappointing however, it was very minimal, the staff seemed tense and the individual coffee/t pots brought to each table did not pour properly and there was no way to stop them spilling everywhere. May be it would be a better option to have buffet breakfast so guests could help themselves. Suggest the owners visit some similar hotels to see what they do.

We were travelling by car and it is worth noting the first turn off the main road from Funchal is closed and this is not apparent until you are nearly to the village (don't be tempted to take short cuts). Take the second turning off which does not bring you to such a convenient place to park but the host would be happy to advise if parking was dfficult.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui R, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Vila Bela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hello Cherryclift,

Firstly our thanks for your stay at Hotel Vila Bela.
Secondly we would also like to thank your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit ...
Thank you,
The staff of Hotel Vila Bela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We spent a week holiday in BelaVila and fount there ideal place for the stay at Madeira. Hotel is in small town, just on sea site. It is new, mid size, family style of hotel. Very nice and friendly people, trying to make you stay pleasant. Great kitchen, nice and clean rooms, good standard and reasonable prise. Also location of Porto da Cruz for your trip at Madeira is good. And you are out of big city as Funchal. We enjoied very much. Thank you Machado family! Pavel & Karla

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PavSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui R, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Vila Bela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hello PavSub,
Firstly our thanks for your stay at Hotel Vila Bela.
Secondly we would also like to thank your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit ...
Thank you,
The staff of Hotel Vila Bela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Vila Bela Hotel on Madeira Island, located at Porto da Cruz, is a great place to stay. A beautiful location with a stunning view on the Atlantic surrounded by huge rocks. The staff is awesome!! You really feel at home.
You will eat great and original portuguese food, fresh and selfmade by Mama & staff. Yummy! The breakfast room with a great view at the sea.
It's a calm and cosy village, perfect to relax. By car you can reach the Vila Bela easy by car or taxi within 30 minutes. You will love the route on the Island. The Hotel's Restaurant is right in front of the sea. Can't get any better. You should check out the self made "Poncha" and the Seafood!!
A familiar place to be, with interesting guests from everywhere.

The owners of the hotel at the same time hosting the Calhau Surfschool at Alagoa Beach right beside the Hotel. No crowd. Good waves. All the equipment in stock for you to paddle out and get some waves. "Calhau" is a typical word of Madeira locals for rocks. All access to the water is over rocks and vulcanic black sand. But never mind, the guides will help you at any time. From Porto da Cruz you can plan all trips over the Island by car.
I had some great waves and a really good time with my girlfriend in February. Rodolfo, the Manager is a Surfer and always down to catch a wave in front of the Hotel with his family and staff. So your cook, staff and manager is in the line up carving some good waves. Cool!! But don't worry..it is not a Surfcamp. In case you are no Surfer you will feel at home as well. We will recommend this place to the max. A big hug to Rodolfo, Paula, Belmiro and the whole team. You guys rock, just like the Island. We will be back for sure! Um grande abraço, Mário & Karol (Berlin / Brasil)!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank macarronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui R, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Vila Bela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hello Macarronimo,
Firstly our thanks for your stay at Hotel Vila Bela.
Secondly we would also like to thank your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit ...
Thank you,
The staff of Hotel Vila Bela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This small charmig family hotel is a really nice, clean and peaceful place, directly on the seaside, quite close to Funchal. The whole staff (Rodolfo, his whife Paula and their son Belmiro) make you feel like home and provide excellent cocktails(poncha!..), very good food (ask for cataplana, torta de limao and even pizza...) and a lot of suggestions to go around the island.
Nearby there's a big natural swimming-pool and a black sand beach but if you want to make an unforgetable experiment try surfing with Belmiro. I've done it and in spite of my quite important disability (leg amputation) it was great! I'll sure be back soon for further experiences...

Room Tip: Ask for seaside rooms : amazing views during the day and the sound of the waves at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui R, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Vila Bela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hello Cristina C,
Firstly our thanks for your stay at Hotel Vila Bela.
Secondly we would also like to thank your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit ...
Thank you,
The staff of Hotel Vila Bela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto da Cruz
21 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
450 reviews
6.4 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
0 mi away
Costa Linda
Costa Linda
#2 of 4 in Porto da Cruz
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
3.3 mi away
Casa de Campo do Pomar
Casa de Campo do Pomar
#1 of 5 in Santana
91 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dazkarizeh 73
Dazkarizeh 73
#1 of 2 in Ribeira Brava
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Bela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Bela

Address: St da Praia 23/25 | Sitio das Casas Próximas, Porto da Cruz, Madeira 9225-050, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Porto da Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Porto da Cruz
Price Range: £51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vila Bela 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 9 rooms with sea view and 3 rooms with mountain view. Our rooms have stunning views of the mountains and the sea of Vila do Porto da Cruz.Being surrounded by traditional Madeiran mountains, mountain view rooms have stunning views of the mountains that surround it.With the hotel being located a few meters from the sea, the rooms facing the ocean makes us think that we are in the b ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vila Bela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Bela Porto Da Cruz, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing