We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic family fun holiday xxxx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Didim
Reviewed 29 July 2014

myself,my daughter and my granddaughter had 7 wonderful nightsat the palm wings beach resort from 3rd july until the 10th and i can honestly say i cannot fault anything!!!!! the bungalow room we stayed in 1424 was spacious clean air con worked well rooms were cleaned daily,nice spacious verandah everything was lovely,food was very good,varied,well presented,staff were amazing especially eddie from the animation team,entertainment was good, loved the pool my granddaughter loved the waterslides,the beach lovely no problems getting sunloungers,if i had to say something that could be improved it would be the alcoholic drinks,few more cocktail choices would be nice but hey this is being petty really,its a family resort and they cater fabulously for families,i would return there in a heartbeat if doing a family holiday again thankyou to all the staff that made our holiday a memorable one

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are doing every thing for our guests to have a lovely holiday. It has been an honor to meet you and your family.
We will be happy to see you as guest for the next year.
Respectfully
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 2,175 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I have been in Turkye for many years now (9) and I was always impressed by the friendly staff I have always found. This beach resort is the first dissapointment in this regard, and from reception manager (who could not provide the contracted rooms and could care less about this situation) up to most bartenders (whom seemed each time to be doing me a huge favour for serving me a lousy drink in the smallest glasses I have ever seen - almost shot size) they created a considerable discomfort throughout this vacation. Location is wonderful, beach is small but with beautiful water, food is good even though I have seen much better in other Turkish resorts, rooms are nice unless you have the badluck to stay far from the main area, in which case one would come fit from this vacation after many long walks in the Turkis sun.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Valentin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Palm Wings Beach Resort Didim for your holiday and for taking your valuable time to comment on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to know that your stay did not exactly meet your expectations.We would like to share with you that our first priorty is to make no compromises in terms of our quality service understanding and therefore your reviews are valuable for us. They will be forwarded to the relevant departments to make the necessary corrections and improvements.
It would be our pleasure to be able to host you in our hotel once again in the future.

Greetings from Palm Wings Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent 11 nights and had an absolutely brilliant time. We stopped in one of the bungalows which were very spacious. It is a very family orientated and the animation staff worked hard all day especially Neno, Justin, Shady, Dodo and Tarzan, we enjoyed taking part in the various actives they put on through out the day. The bar staff were also very friendly, the only negative side of things there was the size of the glasses, you had to order twice as many as they were so small. The pool was fantastic. The food in the evening was alway varied with fresh food being cooked by the chefs outside. The singer they had on in the evening at the pool bar left a lot to be desired, he only knew half the words and mumbled the rest - rather amusing to start with!, he sang most nights and the same songs, so we went out a few nights when we knew he was on. Altinkum was about a 15-20 minute walk with a good variety of shops and bars. (in particular Top Kapi - Highly recommended)

Room Tip: the bungalows are the best, we heard a lot of people complain about the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for allowing your precious time to share your comments on your stay at Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa.
We have been delighted to read your beautiful comments. I would like to say thank you on behalf of my colleagues. Your compliments are already forwarded to our related departments. Hope to welcome you here again.
Kind Regards
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just spent a fantastic two weeks at this resort. Food was varied and of a good standard. Bungalow rooms were very spacious and with good air con. Very pleasant staff who mostly couldn't do enough for the guests. ( we were in the middle of Ramadan too and it didn't cause any issues at all

Tips for guests

1. Use the beach, it's very quiet and away from the pool hustle and bustle. Try the beds on the green pier deck which get good shad in the late afternoon. You also get the full beach experience without the sand!
2. Meal times - go early or late but not in the middle as you may struggle to get a table
3. The snack bar above the beach is excellent if you want a quiet lunch with great sea views.
4. Use the golf carts. The boys are happy to transfer you anywhere you want including down to and up from the beach. Just dial 0 on the room phone and they will be there in a few minutes
5. Please and thank you work wonders when engaging with the staff. Use them frequently, it doesn't cost anything and makes for a pleasant experience for both parties!
6. If you are looking for a club 18-30/ lager lout experience this isn't the place for you. Try somewhere else and leave the families and couples to enjoy this fabulous facility.

Tips for the hotel

1. Get bigger glasses. I'm sure it would be more cost effective than serving most customers with x 2 drinks each time
2. Strawberry ice cream - celik donderma ti shock ra. :-))
3. Replace the white rough sheets in the rooms with a simple cotton sheet.
4. Maybe a few more staff in the restaurant?
5. Put a table tennis table indoors where there is air con
6. Let under 18 use the relax pool. Suggest instead a noise restriction/ no pool games policy.
7. Don't lose your staff - they are doing a great job.

Room Tip: Bungalow near the shopping centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank 2dalamatians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Guest
First of all we would like to thank you for being our guests and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
As Palm Wings Beach Resort Didim family we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the nearest future.
Kind Regards
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I came to the palm wings because it was rated the second best hotel and looked like it exceeded my expectations. However from the minute me and my family stepped off the coach it was he'll. we booked into a bungalow however we was giving a disgusting hotel room which was right at the top of the hill away from all the facilities. The hotel manager rifat had appalling attitude and didn't deal with us the way you would expect a hotel at such high standard to deal with there customers. The rooms was discusting and we had to clean the air con out our self in the showers because it wasn't working properly. The food is bland and very much the same every day. I was then told if I was to contact a mobile from my hotel room it would be a lire a minute however this was false information. The day I came to check out the bill was a whopping £162 lire I new from this bill I hadn't been on the phone for 162 minutes. So this was a mistake. Then the receptionist told me that it wasn't a lire a minute that I was giving the wrong information as u can understand how angry I was but luckily the reps sorted it out for me. The only thing that made this holiday a little bit of enjoyment was knowing we was given such helpful and nice reps Clair and Craig with out them this would of been a whole lot worse they had good customer service and was there whenever we had a problem. Whatever you do don't come to this hotel it's not what it seems to be

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucienneashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Guest
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Palm Wings Beach Resort Didim for your holiday and for taking your valuable time to comment on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to know that your stay did not exactly meet your expectations.We would like to share with you that our first priorty is to make no compromises in terms of our quality service understanding and therefore your reviews are valuable for us. They will be forwarded to the relevant departments to make the necessary corrections and improvements.
It would be our pleasure to be able to host you in our hotel once again in the future.

Greetings from Palm Wings Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for 14 nights July 2014 party of 6,booked at thomsons shop as my disabled son and grandson was going we took option of booking into hotel rather than bungalow as thought it would b more central for my disabled son. Pictures of hotel block looked good online but wasnt until we got there realised pictures werent same as showed online fake pictures, hotel block is out way of complex at top of Hill at back of complex there is area at entrance of hotel were u can gt drinks bt rarely any body there and only serves soft drinks also water cooler tht gives u hot water.when we booked we requested sea view pool view with balcony when we gt to put rooms 1326 &1328 my room 1326 had a large tree covering over complete window and there wasnt any balcony jst sliding glass door, i asked craig Thomson rep iv i could gt room with view apart from tree covering complete window and with balcony as i requested,craig phoned reception and asked if u could gt room with balcony and one without tree against my window (ser pict)bt was told not possible and they couldnt do anything about tree and Joked do u wnt me to pull it down.We unpacked realising. We werent getting other room ,next day went for dinner and sat at pool bar area till 12.30am , we returned out room 1326 and settled down for night my wife pulled sheet up to gt into bed and was shocked as there was 1000s ants crawling over beds and carpet, i Walked down to reception and reported it was told someone would come to room and spray and clean it, after about a hour 1.30 am Lady came and sprayed sheets and carpet with insecticide and sayed wait ten mins and left.We waited a hour thinking she would come back and clean floor and replace sheets as ants were still moving about as spray only worked on some, i went back to reception and asked iv someone was coming to Clean bedding etc he phoned Lady tht came to room and she sayed thts all she can do,i asked were are we going to sleep 2nite he said in ur bed i told him we werent going to sleep in room until cleaned properly and would sleep on chairs in out other room 1328 and would b down first thing in morning to speak to mánager.I went back into room incase somebody had cleaned but was still same, i opened sliding window and looked either side of walls and noticed building had big cracks and was crumbling away (see picts) and tree at window had 1000s ants running about it must hav gt into room threw cracks in building. I went to reception and spoke to mánager and told him about my problems and showed him photos he came up to room and told us to pack up stuff and apologised for way this had been dealt with,he said we would gt room swap later on in day and would cost us £5 per person per night as this us classed as upgrade to bungalow. Mánager contacted us when new rooms were ready and said as goodwill gesture there would b no charge and moved us to bungalows 1579-1580 which were fab and we could enjoy rest of holiday complex is excellent apart from hotel block food Also good kids club great and would recomend to anyone but make sure u book into bungalows.

Room Tip: Bungalows to avoid disapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are doing every thing for our guests to have a lovely holiday. It has been an honor to meet you and your family.
We will be happy to see you as guest for the next year.
Respectfully
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here last week with our 7 year old daughter and 5 (almost 6) year old son.

The Rooms:
We had booked a bungalow as most of the negative reviews seemed to be about the main hotel, and I am glad we did. The complex is huge, and the main hotel seemed miles away from everything, right at the back of the resort. Our bungalow was only a couple of minutes from the pool and entertainment, and I think we dropped lucky as some were much further away. The decor was not as nice as the rooms shown on the Thomson website, but it was certainly inoffensive, and we didn't spend much time in there anyway. It was cleaned every day to a good standard, and a fresh bottle of water was left each day. The shower was a bit temperamental, but we coped. There was no bath, which may be an issue if you were travelling with a baby, but not an issue for us.

Daytime Entertainment:
Please note that the pool does not have a shallow end - it is 1.5m deep all the way round. This is something I did not realise when I booked (what pool doesn't have a shallow end?) This meant that my kids had to swim or tread water the entire time as they could not touch the bottom, and they are way too big for the toddler pool. Their swimming skills improved greatly, but they were exhausted! As such, the pool is perhaps better for older children than little ones. The slides were good fun though, and we all had a lot of fun on those. As others have said, the floor was very slippy around the pool and we saw lots of people slipping and falling, so take care.

There were regular activities taking place around the pool, mostly aimed at adults. It would have been nice if there had been a few more activities that kids could have joined in, but the animation team just said that there was a kids club for that. We didn't use the kids club, as my children would have been in separate sessions (one is for 3-5 year olds and one is for 6-8 year olds) Because my son is almost 6, he wanted to do the older club, but couldn't, and it didn't seem fair to only let our daughter go, so we just kept them both entertained ourselves instead (which is why more family activities around the pool would have been nice).

The beach is very small and crowded. We only went once as we aren't really beach people - it seemed that most of the British tourists stayed around the pool when we were there, and the foreigners seemed to be using the beach. The sand was shingly and won't win any best beach awards any time soon, but it made a change for an hour as it is only a short walk past the restaurant.

There was never any problem getting sun beds around the pool during our week. You could still get decent spots near to the water at 9.30 - 10am (I have been at hotels where these have all been snapped up by 6am!). I noticed towards the end of the holiday that there were more loungers being reserved earlier as the hotel got a bit busier, but it was still not a problem.

The towel desk opens at 9am and there was no problem with swapping your wet towel for a dry one as often as you needed to.

Nighttime Entertainment:
This got better as the week went on and the hotel got busier. As others have said, the amphitheatre is quite treacherous for kids, and I wasn't happy with it from a H&S perspective, and it seems like an accident waiting to happen! Entertainment was usual AI fare - kids disco, some sort of other show for the family (African acrobats, tribute act, some that involved audience participation that we avoided), or a guy on a keyboard at the pool bar. Not the best, but what AI is? You can walk into town if you want a change of scene.

Food & Drink:
Breakfast was a bit suspect, so we tended to wait until late morning and get pancakes from the snack bar, which were lovely. I ate my own body weight in them I think!

There was always plenty of choice of food, and it was for the most part very tasty. My main problem was that it was never quite hot enough, but perhaps that's me.

At peak times, there could be long queues for some items, and the Russians were so greedy that they would just pile their plates high and leave nothing for anyone else, which irritated me.

We didn't bother with the A la Carte restaurants.

The desserts were yummy, but beware of the hidden peanuts if you have an allergy, as we unfortunately had an incident with our little boy and what looked like a chocolate shortbread biscuit!

Other:
The hotel seems to be on a headland, and there was a constant strong breeze, which made it often seem quite cool, especially when you first got out of the pool or on an evening. I wasn't expecting this in Turkey in July, and could've done with a jacket or card on an evening a couple of times!

Bar staff were lovely and friendly, and remembered your drinks orders. Staff in the restaurant were not so friendly or helpful, and often would ignore you.

All in all, it was a nice break. It wasn't the best hotel or holiday I've ever had, but it certainly wasn't the worst. Everything was good, but there wasn't anything that made it stand out for me. I probably won't go again, mainly because its a big world out there and in terms of perfect holidays, I don't believe that I have found "the one" that I want to keep repeating yet. That said, I wouldn't not recommend it if someone asked.

Room Tip: Bungalows in the grounds are far better for proximity to the entertainment etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank nikkikelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Guest

As hotel management, we are happy to read our guests had a good time in our hotel. We are trying to do our best for all of our guests to have a wonderfull holiday. And we will try and work harder for it. Thank you for choosing us and hoping to see you and your family in our hotel again.

Respectfully.
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Didim hotels
2.0 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Aurum Didyma Spa & Beach Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Aurum Exclusive Club
0.1 mi away
Buyuk Anadolu Didim Resort
0.3 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#3 of 30 in Altinkum
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Wings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Wings Beach Resort

Address: Altinkum Mah. Mehtap Cad. 94. Sok. No:21, Didim 09270, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Didim
#4 Family Hotel in Didim
#6 Luxury Hotel in Didim
#6 Spa Hotel in Didim
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Didim
Price Range: £56 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Wings Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday is nice...Having a holiday in Palm Wings Beach Resort is something excellent...Crystal clear sea of the Aegean, very hot sunlight and green nature invite you to the holiday you are dreaming of.We promise that you will have the best moments of your life in Didim, which is one of the unique gifts that sea and the nature togetherness has presented to the Aegean Region...Didim is 150 km far from Izmir Adnan Menderes Airport, 80 km far from Bodrum Airport and 3 km from Didim Coach Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Wings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Wings Beach Hotel Didim
Palm Wings Beach Didim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing