We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday but they lacked attention to detail and health and safety!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Didim
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As a family of 4 we only returned a couple of days ago. The bungalows are lovely and the resort grounds are too. The main pool is clean and the slides great fun. As with all inclusives you do get tired of the food but the range is great and well temperature controlled. If you tip the waiters at the start of your holidays you will get a much better service. How ever in our 2 weeks stay we cut legs on sun beds, slides, fell down a man whole cover ( they are loose and not screwed in ) and my ten year old son took part in a pool games where he should have been looked after by a member of the animation team only for him to be trapped under water and it wasn't even noticed! Not even when he dragged himself from the pool with blood coming from his mouth! The English reps for the resort and kids club are Amazing and I can't thank Craig, Groovy Gary, Nik Nak and Crazy Kelly enough. You all did Thomson/First Choice proud. We did have a great holiday and I would recommend this hotel how ever I would advise everyone to watch their children if taking part in any pool activities with the animation team.

Room Tip: If you have children request a bungalow near to the shopping centre/pool as it is a big resort.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback.
It was a great pleasure to learn that we were able to create an enjoyable and convenient stay for you.
We look forward to hosting you again at Palm Wings Beach Resort in the future.

Warm regards
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,133)
There are newer reviews for Palm Wings Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just returned from Palm Wings Beach Resort & I have to say it was one of, if not the best holiday we've ever had. We were greeted at reception with a non alcoholic cocktail before we were taken to our bungalow on a golf buggy. The complex is quite large although you could walk from reception to the beach in about 5 minutes. The room was quite spacious with a nice sized balcony which was quiet & peaceful. The pool area is fantastic & there are plenty of beds to chose from until about 09.00 then it begins to get a little busier after most guests have had breakfast. From 10.00 the fun begins with the fantastic animation team starting the day off with a dance on the edge of the pool. Shady, Justin, Tarzan & especially Niño worked hard throughout the day to keep you entertained. There was plenty of choice when you ate whether it was in the main restaurant or the snack bars. The beach area with the relaxing jetty is beautiful & you can get a bed down there whatever time of day. The lads working behind & around the pool bar were friendly especially the ever smiling Memet. I would also recommend the spa which offer a range of treatments....just ask for Jamill the spa manager & you won't go wrong. All in all my family & I could not fault a thing on this holiday, we met a lot of new friends & will definately be returning.

Room Tip: When you book be sure to ask for a bungalow
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are doing every thing for our guests to have a lovely holiday. It has been an honor to meet you and your family.
We will be happy to see you as guest for the next year.
Respectfully
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked this all inclusive holiday through First Choice. We are a family of six (2+4). We booked two twin rooms. We were disappointed to find that our rooms were located some distance apart (six other rooms between us). When we raised the issue we were told that there were no inter connecting rooms and if we had booked earlier we could have had them closer (we had booked 12 months prior!). We subsequently spoke to other guests who confirmed that there were interconnecting doors between some rooms. The resort had a large proportion of Turkish guests as it was the end of Ramadan. It was noticeable that staff gave priority to Turkish guests. On one occasion my wife who was at the front of a queue was overlooked for the Turkish man who was behind her. Overall the staff were rude and abrupt. We were made to feel guilty asking for drinks etc. The drinks at the poolside bars were served in very small plastic cups and were often placed on the counter with such force that half the contents were spilled. The waiter service at the restaurant was almost nonexistent if you were not Turkish. The ‘juice’ dispensers in the restaurant and at the poolside were often empty and when there were drinks present it was either very weak diluted squash/cordial or it was virtually undiluted. The areas around the pool were extremely slippery when wet. The three slides present can hardly be described as a ‘water park’ as described in the brochure. There were two ‘life guards’ on the rota for the slides. When the male was on duty he did not enforce any of the rules that were posted on the notice and the kids had a great time despite some obvious risks. When the female was on duty the opposite applied. Most of the family suffered diarrhoea from midway through the holiday and for a few days following our return. We were impressed with the beachside aspect to the resort and the Thompson run kids club was excellent. However overall we were pretty disappointed.

Room Tip: Specify an apartment/bungalow. We were very envious as we were in the hotel which was very drab and...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GordonT750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and our sincere apologies that you were less than happy. We are truly sorry our setting and experiences were unable to complement your mood and expectations. It will be our great pleasure to welcome you here again.

Kind regards,
Palm Wings Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

What a fantastic holiday we had at the Palm Wings resort. We arrived home yesterday and we all agree it was one of the best holidays we've had.

The resort is beautifully maintained. Lots of gardens, a lovely large pool with slides, a spa, a couple of shops and a childrens play area.

The staff were very friendly and there is a great animation team to help you get the best out of your holidays. Activities included French boules, darts, air rifle shooting, water polo, volleyball (in the pool and on dry land), football, tennis, aqua aerobics, table tennis.... Or you can lay around the pool all day. They also did pool games intermittently, it was very entertaining watching the dads trying to skip on a surfboard...

Our bungalow was spotless, plenty of room too. A hairdryer in the bathroom and great aircon. In a bungalow you also get a balcony/patio area.

The food was great, lots of it and all fresh and tasty. It did get a little repetitive towards the end but hey, I wasn't cooking so it was a delight! You can also eat in the a la carte restaurant once a week, we chose the seafood restaurant. The food was good but the restaurant location was the real draw, overlooking the sea whilst watching the sunset was one of the highlights. Completely different ambience to the main restaurant.

We were there during peak season but always managed to get a lounger, as long as you reserve them by 9am you seemed to be ok. There is also a small beach area with a long 'pier' with tonnes of loungers on, this was never full so plenty of space there. Lots of fish to see too. Watersports were also available, jet ski, donuts, the big banana etc.

The pool is 1.7meters all the way around with only one very small shallow area but, there is a toddler pool too. I did see a few older guests struggling to get into the pool as there are no 'walk in' parts, only metal ladders into the pool so maybe consider this if you have mobility issues.

We also did a Thomson day trip to dalyan for a visit to mud baths and turtle bay, that really was a fantastic day out. It was quite expensive (£113 for 2 adults 1 child) with a long journey but it was beautiful to see and a very different experience to out resort. The boat trip was highly memorable.

There was free wifi in the rooms and at the pool however, it gave you a connection but beyond that didn't seem to work...

I wouldn't hesitate recommending this holiday to you, be sure to book a bungalow though!

Room Tip: Book the bungalows!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Lenamcgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest

As hotel management, we are happy to read our guests had a good time in our hotel. We are trying to do our best for all of our guests to have a wonderfull holiday. And we will try and work harder for it. Thank you for choosing us and hoping to see you and your family in our hotel again.

Respectfully.
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The staff were fantastic but the animation team were amazing they worked so hard and we made some good friends in nino, tarzan, shady and justin they made the holiday for us and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nathbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback.
It was a great pleasure to learn that we were able to create an enjoyable and convenient stay for you.
We look forward to hosting you again at Palm Wings Beach Resort in the future.

Warm regards
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Fantastic resort and setting everyone very friendly except some arrogant pool bar staff who seem so miserable,just returned on 12th aug, we all suffered upset stomachs, in the second week, but on the whole nice resort

Room Tip: unless your very tired, on site disco on the beach booms on till 3 am might keep you awake
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback.
It was a great pleasure to learn that we were able to create an enjoyable and convenient stay for you.
We look forward to hosting you again at Palm Wings Beach Resort in the future.

Warm regards
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is the second year we have been to this hotel now and both times it has been outstanding. I couldn't fault it. The service, location, cleanliness and food are all amazing and me and my family have had the perfect holiday both times at the Palm Wings. All staff are very friendly and lovely. Every single day in the two week period, i returned with clean bed sheets and new towels. The Thompson reps were absolutely great, we was placed in the hotel for the first night, after booking the bungalows, and after being in the bungalows the previous year, but visiting the hotel we knew that the bungalows were a lot more spacious and overall nicer than the hotel rooms. While we were in the hotel for our first night, we got stuck in a lift and the call bell wouldn't work. The following day, we told the Thompson Rep, Craig Larkin, and he sorted us out with compensation and wouldn't stop fighting our case for us. He couldn't have been any more helpful. You can also book days out with the Thompson Reps, for example the water park, Aqua Fantasy in Kusadasi, which I went to during my stay and it was fabulous, there is something to do there for everyone, including a swim up bar with a DJ. The Palm Wings complex is very big so a buggie service is available that you can just get on if they are around the shopping centre and they will take you to your room. We also went on a boat trip during our stay which was a very nice day out. The location is perfect, just a 10 minute walk into Altinkum with amazing views, night life and is great for shopping. The entertainment is very good with plenty to do in the hotel for all the family, the animation team are excellent and do a lot of activities including darts, water polo, kids club, volley ball and much more. The animation team really did make my holiday with Tarzan, Justin, Nino and Shady being particularly friendly and they are all very good at their job. It is long hours for the animation team, however they constantly stay lively and upbeat. Members of the animation team go above and beyond to make your holiday one to remember for all the family. At night time, there is a games room open and at the amphitheater there are shows ranging from Mr and Mrs to dancing shows, which are very good. After the pool bar entertainment is finished there is a disco on near the beach from 12-2am. As i have mentioned, the food is excellent, even for fussier eaters, with pasta and chips available at every evening meal. For breakfast, fresh omelettes, pancakes, fried eggs, or cakes are available, and at lunch time, there are 3 places to choose from, the ''snack bar'' by the pool, which serves kebab meat, pasta, chips, pizza and loads more also there is the ''snack bar'' over looking the sea, which does similar foods, or the restaurant, which does a variety of other things. There are theme nights for the food, including Chinese, Turkish, and Italian. Once a week there is a Turkish night with the food and entertainment for the night a Turkish theme. After the entertainment at the amphitheater there are bands and music playing at the pool bar, where drinks are available until mid night and after that a bar near the shopping centre is open until 10 o'clock in the morning. Drinks are available 24/7. During the holiday, I went to the Galaxy Bar is Altinkum, which is a very good nightclub to go to. I also met a lot of friends while I was at the hotel and this really did make my holiday. The Palm Wings is perfect for any type of families- ones with little kids, teenagers or even a romantic holiday. One thing is for sure, you won't find yourself a nicer hotel than this. I would honestly recommend it to anyone. It has been the best holiday I have ever been on. A totally unforgettable trip!

Room Tip: Bungalows are certainly the best option when booking the hotel, being most spacious and overall bett...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMWINGSDIDIM, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palm Wings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest

As hotel management, we are happy to read our guests had a good time in our hotel. We are trying to do our best for all of our guests to have a wonderfull holiday. And we will try and work harder for it. Thank you for choosing us and hoping to see you and your family in our hotel again.

Respectfully.
Palm Wings Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Didim hotels
2.0 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Aurum Didyma Spa & Beach Resort Hotel
7.7 mi away
Aurum Exclusive Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
0.1 mi away
Buyuk Anadolu Didim Resort
0.3 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#2 of 30 in Altinkum
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Wings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Wings Beach Resort

Address: Altinkum Mah. Mehtap Cad. 94. Sok. No:21, Didim 09270, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Didim
#4 Family Hotel in Didim
#6 Luxury Hotel in Didim
#6 Spa Hotel in Didim
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Didim
Price Range: £63 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Wings Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday is nice...Having a holiday in Palm Wings Beach Resort is something excellent...Crystal clear sea of the Aegean, very hot sunlight and green nature invite you to the holiday you are dreaming of.We promise that you will have the best moments of your life in Didim, which is one of the unique gifts that sea and the nature togetherness has presented to the Aegean Region...Didim is 150 km far from Izmir Adnan Menderes Airport, 80 km far from Bodrum Airport and 3 km from Didim Coach Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Wings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Wings Beach Hotel Didim
Palm Wings Beach Didim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing