We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Beach Villas

Beach Villas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Villas
Ranked #19 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Didim
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Read some negative reviews before we went so felt apprehensive. We were pleased on arrival the villa was lovely. The local beach is slightly neglected but the was lovely. The water was clear, warm and shallow. There were free sunbeds and parasols. We initially relied on the shuttle bus to get to Altinkum (too far to walk). The restaurents in Altinkum are reasonable and very friendly and many will collect and drop you back to the villas at no extra cost. We never needed to get a taxi which cost approx £10-£15 each way. We got lifts from Cafe Le Mar, The Verandah, Paradise and Romeos. Romeos was partcularly nice and made us feel very welcome with excellent food.
We booked a trip to the local Aquapark through the rep but would recommend booking a taxi direct. The aquapark was brilliant, no queues and great rides.
A couple of power cuts but didn't bother us.
First time in Turkey and really enjoyed it !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Louise1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

the villas are lovely really spacious and clean. the 2 main pools were a bit dirty with some wierd bug things swimming with you the slide pool was very clean and had a shallow pool at the side for little ones.the beach was very close in a lovely cove with a little beach bar (recommended) but nothing else is nearby. Altinkum was 10 mins away by courtesy bus which only runs twice a day so you can feel a little stranded if you want an active holiday. the roads are unsafe for walking they are really dirt tracks. Altinkum had lots of atmosphere and the turkish people are very friendly and helpful we travelled with a 3 children aged 1, 7 and 13 and we got a lift home from the staff in the restaurants which was fantastic as the taxis were expensive. apart from the isolated situation of the villas the holiday was very good and i highly recommend the Didim aquapark and a boat trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The villa was lovely, not 5 Star though. We had 2 short power cuts in the 2 weeks were there so that wasn't a big problem for us. Air conditioning worked well and we had it on nearly all the time.
The location is remote though, which we liked however the downside was that the taxi fare into Altinkum town or supermarket was about £13 each way.
Our villa was overlooking the pool (which was good) and we had slightly noisy neighbours on one side but not a real problem. The little shop on site was handy for bread and drinks although slightly expensive. Outside the villa complex did look like a building site but after a few trips we realised that everywhere looked like this. The beach itself wasn't spotless but that was outweighed by the amazing sea which was crystal clear and we could walk out a long way, very safe.
We went to some excellent restaurants who were happy to come and pick us up and drop off for free. Asik Restaurant opposite the Temple of Apollo - excellent.
The Artemis rep wasn't very good and the trips we booked with him with Mansion Tours were disorganised, so not recommended. Although do recommend the boat trip, we had a great day for only £10 each.
Overall we really enjoyed our holiday, we are easy going so coped with all the niggley things, Turkish people are so friendly. Glad we didn't stay in Altinkum itslef as far too busy and touristy for us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enjoylifetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

First time in turkey and my kids loved it. I had hired car from the airport and drove to the villas. Complex is fine , people were helpful and friendly.
It's a great place if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle as it's out of the way.
Great place but you need a car

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zjamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

It is said that good advice is worth its weight in gold. If you believe in this, read on.
We stayed at the Beach Villas for two weeks during August 2010. The villas are self catering, spacious and on three floors. Very little facilities are provided. During our stay water and electricity stopped on at least 6 occasions.

The location is basically in the middle of nowhere, with the nearest town being approximately a 30 minute car journey, some of it through unmarked roads. There is a free bus to Altinkum which leaves at 9:30 am returning at 6:30 pm. As it turned out this service is mainly provided by town's restaurants to attract business. Apart from a small bar there is no other entertainment provided. The pool is small and extremely crowded. You will be lucky to find a sun bed.

On the positive side the beach is within walking distance but the sea is shallow up to a distance of about 1km. Apart from a few crowded bars and restaurants at the sea front, Altinkum has nothing else to offer.

The villas are advertised as 4/5 star. Taking account of the above, my rating would be 3* at the most.

Although the holiday operator representative tried his best to be helpful, had I been aware of what I would be getting, I would have definitely given the Beach Villas a miss.
Having said this, I see that this destination has received a number of good reviews which I can not explain. In case you are still in doubt, please ask all of the obvious questions from the travel agency and make a note of them before you make a commitment. I wish I had!.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Firstly, the accomodation was generally very good with air con in each bedroom and the lounge/kitchen, which is needed in July. It is very spacious, with plenty of hot water although the kitchen was a little sparsely stocked. The satellite TV was pointing at an arabic satellite so was fairly useless apart from BBC world service and the DVD player didn't work.
Artemis Travel who manage this resort for the Brits are fairly weak to get anything done and they didn't help us with any of our issues.
Artemis Travel are only interested in selling you trips to get commission and will avoid you if you have issues.
The main problem with this place is that its about 2 miles outside Altinkum (which is a good thing as Altinkum is horrible) but there is nothing there. No shop to speak of and no restaurants. So we arrived late at night and in the morning had no way of getting any breakfast. In the end we had to sneak into an all inclusive deal which the Turkish holiday makers have. It wasn't pleasant and we weren't impressed with our welcome to Beach Villas.
There is one shuttle bus to town in the morning and one in the evening and the taxi drivers rip you off to get back. Took us 3-4 days to find a decent supermarket but it was a real struggle. Might be an in idea to get a car but beware the roads are terrible.
Due to Beach Villas location the surrounding area is just wasteland which isn't very pretty.
Over half the 100 houses were rented out cheaply to the Turks as an all inclusive holiday and they seemed to feel they owned the place. They weren't friendly people at all.
Also beware the daily power cuts!
There is sporadic internet access in the Bar area. Altough it wasn't really a Bar as it was only setup for the all inclusive and didn't seem to have anything other than orange squash. It wasn't setup to take money!
To end on a high note the beach is a few minutes walk and was empty when compared to Altinkum main beach and the water was amazingly warm and shallow for about 100m - this beach is the best for young children.
Needless to say if spend your holidays doing nothing in the house/poolol/beach and don't eat or drink anything and don't speak to anyone, they you'll have a fine time ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

we would not recomend these villas to any one it was the worst holliday of our twenty years of traveing empty swiming pools no shop no barr we had to hire a car just to fetch water the golden beach consisted of rotting food dirty nappies our three year old granson even picked up a packet of asprin. we had power and water cuts for up tp eleven hours a day we booked with hoeseasons via the co.op dont take this as sour grapes we hav been to turkey seven times and know its short comings but this place is a disaster feel free to contact me if you need to know anything

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank william005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Didim hotels
2.1 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#3 of 30 in Altinkum
481 reviews
4.2 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Altinersan Hotel
Altinersan Hotel
#7 of 30 in Altinkum
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Sunset Village Apartments
Sunset Village Apartments
#11 of 30 in Altinkum
200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aurum Didyma Spa & Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Villas

Address: Efeler Mah Imbat Sitesi, Didim, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Didim
Price Range: £45 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Villas Hotel Didim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing