We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to say I agree with everyone else here”
Review of Beach Villas

Beach Villas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Villas
Ranked #19 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Didim
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Like most people, I read the TripAdvisor reviews for 2009 and was sufficiently impressed to book our two week holiday at Golden Beach Villas. We didn't have such a bad experience as some - our villa was reasonably clean and well equipped, although I'd call it basic rather than 'luxurious' and we did have to boil wash the towels! As most people say, the TV and DVD don't work and the power cuts were really frustrating as you lost both air conditioning and water, sometimes for hours on end. Incredibly, the power company turned up one day and actually cut through the cables because the villa owners had not been paying their electricity bills - the travel company did manage to sort this out though and we were reconnected a few hours later.The complex is far more remote than the brochures lead you to believe - apart from Ali's cafe, which is great, there are no facilities within walking distance. The track that leads there is lined by derelict villas that have been built, but never sold, and the surrounding scrubland is covered in litter - we even saw trucks pull up and just dump litter on the land across from Golden Beach Villas. We found the Turkish staff astonishingly rude and unhelpful - except for one day when they went around the pool shaking everyone's hands and inviting them to take part in the evening barbeque (30TL per head). The rep, Bryan, was also pretty unhelpful, particularly the day we booked a boat trip and a knackered old banger (think Only Fools and Horses and you wouldn't be far wrong) with battered seats and no seatbelts(it turns out no-one with a decent car/minibus/coach would dream of taking the potholed track to Golden Beach) turned up an hour late to transport us to the harbour. When we refused to go in it, Bryan told us in no uncertain terms we couldn't have a refund and we ended up getting the shuttle bus (which was also running late) and making our own way there, then paying an extra 20 lira for a taxi back. The next day, we tried to go to the Aqua Park, which relies on the Shuttle bus to get you part way there to meet a connecting bus. The Shuttle bus was an hour late and the driver was told to take us all the way to the Aqua Park - he was furious and drove like he had a death-wish the whole way there. As others have said, the £15 welcome pack is anything but welcoming. On other holidays, we've arrived to a basket of fruit, salad, eggs, bread, milk, etc. This was a packet of biscuits and a couple of teabags. When you arrive late with hungry children it's the last thing you need - we ended up forking out about £20 for some bread, cheese and milk in the outrageously overpriced site shop and that was dinner on the first night. The shuttle bus is extremely unreliable and we quickly realised we were not going to be able to enjoy our holiday without a car as there are no facilities and you are in the hands of the driver, whenever he decides to turn up. I have to say, the second week with a car was a hugely different experience - don't go to Golden Beach Villas without one. Despite all of this, we did manage to enjoy ourselves, mainly because we got out and about and did our own thing and didn't spend too much time at the complex. Good things - if you get a car, go to the third beach, it's much nicer than the main beach in Altinkum or the little beach near the villas. Meandros restaurant is a nice evening out and so is Veranda. People try to put you off driving, but it was no problem at all. Petrol is pricey, but we easily found our way to Apollo at Didim, Priene, the market at Soke and Ephesus without incident and at a fraction of the price of an excursion. The children enjoyed the Aqua Park, though it is shabby compared to others I've been to. I have to say though, I was glad to get back to the UK - and I NEVER say that at the end of a holiday. Interestingly, I went to Turkey 22 years ago when it was quite a new tourist destination - it was cheap, the people were so friendly and you couldn't pass a shop without being invited in to share a glass of Turkish apple tea. Today, it is expensive, overly commercialised and it has lost the innocent friendliness that once made it so charming, yet the infrastructure remains primitive and lacks the polish of other holiday destinations. Would I recommend a holiday to Turkey? Sadly, based on this experience, probably not.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chorleymagsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

What has happened to the Golden Beach Villas? In previous years it has been idylic, so relaxing, and with friendly staff. Now there is no Mustapha no Ray the rep. both were extremely helpful. Gone was the relaxing atmosphere, instead we had loud music belting out 14 hours a day, put on by the bar staff for their own entertainment as the bar was empty a good part of the day. Our frequent requests to turn it down was answered with a smirk.
The lovely green areas were turned to dust as more and more tables and chairs were laid out for the all inclusive Turkish holidaymakers.
The pool area was very dirty, most of the umbrellas were broken and the cushions were torn and stained. On several occasions I saw Gizmo the puppy owned by one of the Turkish managers wee on the cushions. There was also a lot of dog poo around the complex, we had to continually complain about it as there were a lot of young children there. I really do hope something will be done to repair all the damage that this Turkish company who have taken over some of the villas have done, the reputation of the villas has been seriously damaged as so many people who have had a bad experience
this year wont return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunlover201070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We arrived at Beach Villas at around midnight & were met by the security man who doesn't speak any English, we were given our keys & went straight to bed. We had expected a complimentary food pack (as advertised by Hoseasons) this consisted of a packet of biscuits, milk, water, 2 tea bags & 2 coffee sachets......so with 2 children we thought we'd use the courtesy bus & go food shopping, we waited over an hour for the bus to arrive but it didn't so we got a taxi into Altinkum at a cost of 30 Turkish Lira each way (the security man & reception staff we unable to advise us why the bus wasn't there although did ring us a taxi). We didn't see a rep at all on our first day although when we did finally meet him on our 3rd day he did reimburse our taxi fares & booked us a meal at a local restuarant that would pick us up & bring us back free of charge...there are quite a few restuarants that provide this service which is good as Beach Villas is in a very remote location and without car hire you could spend a fortune on taxis. We also booked a boat trip through the rep which was excellent and great value however if you book direct with the boat owners you can get even better deals.
The roads leading to the appartments are bumpy dirt tracks & are unsuitable to walk into Altinkum especially in the summer heat . The courtesy bus is provided by a local restuarant & could do with modernising although the driver was always friendly & helpful.
The local beach is lovely & the water is very shallow, this suited us & we ate in the little cafe which was very reasonably priced. The onsite shop & bar are pricey & we felt they made their prices up as they went along. We used the courtesy bus for our supermarket shopping but ate out most evenings.
We used the pool most days & luckily made some great friends staying in the villas, this helped make our holiday more enjoyable & made us feel less issolated.
The villas themselves were comfortable but not 5 star, the area suffers from power cuts & we experienced about 5 powercuts during our 2 week holiday, usually lasting for approx 1 hour, unfortunately this also affects the water supply too. We had satellite TV but only managed to find 1 channel with English speaking programmes.
We enjoyed our holiday in Turkey but I doubt we would ever return to Beach Villas as it was too remote for us, we prefer to be within walking distance to the beach, restuarants & public transport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Arrived 08/08/10 after a 2 hour PLUS Grand Tour of Turkey Trip, from Bodrum airport.
Wondered where the hell we were as did the other people on our bus who had all booked into different accommodation not in the middle of a desert and within reach of civilisation.
At this point I will say that we have been to Turkey before and appreciate the Turkish way of life and that standards might be slightly below those at home.
Had we not met 3 or 4 very nice families (you know who you are) on this holiday it really would have been a 'Fortnight Of Hell'
Our main gripes were that this complex was in the middle of nowhere and although we don't mind a walk to restaurants/towns etc there was nowhere to walk to!
There were two roads to G.B.Villas. Both winding, rock strewn tracks which were unlit and even a chap who gave us a lift home from a restaurant one night said he had never driven his car along the worst track before. Donkey hire might be a good idea for this accommodation.
For our sins we had villa 13. (Unlucky for some!! Certainly for us)
A lot of the points I will make seem picky but when you have paid so much and have been promised a certain standard of accommodation, then you expect things to be right.
The rep we had, peaked in his performance on day 1. We had a washing machine and ironing board but no iron. He got us one. Hoorah!
For our 'well equipped kitchen' he never got round to getting a bread knife, bottle opener or can opener. (We borrowed a cheese grater from the people across!). Neither did he ever get round to adding to the three coat hangers that came with the villa.
He did spend quite a lot of time recommending certain restaurants and trips and we discovered he was considered 'the seller' of these by someone else from his company.

We were told our villa was 3 years old. Perhaps a map of where it was for the cleaning staff and complex handymen would have been useful. (Or is 13 a bad luck number for Turks as well?) (It was even Friday the 13th while we were there. Double trouble.)
We were promised a DVD player/widescreen TV & digital channels. We got a DVD without a handset that would not play English or Turkish DVD's. We had 200 digi channels ALL in Turkish and the 2 terrestrial channels were both the same Turkish shopping channel. Needless to say it wasn't a widescreen TV either. I kept trying to get it to work but in the last few days discovered that SINYAL YOK is Turkish for no signal!
All our 3 terraces faced the morning sun and by 9 am we could have fried eggs on the tiles outside. Solution? Have breakfast in our lounge/dining kitchen area. Problem? No table or chairs. I suppose we could have had breakfast about 5a.m. My wife kept asking and asking and asking etc etc and about day 8, a table and four scratty chairs arrived. They looked to have come from the local tip! Some people we met had tables and chairs that matched the kitchen in their villa and they taunted us by letting their children play table tennis on it as well as using them for family meals.
We had our sheets/towels changed once in our stay. On arrival some of the towels were stained and we had to wash them.
We had two double beds which for 9 days (until the linen change) were partially covered with what can only be described as a dirty dust sheet which didn't even cover the matress!
Very briefly now, because I am starting to morph into Victor Meldrew!; shower hoses that didn't reach the wall mounts so you had to hold the shower head while you bathed, a hole punched in a door (probably by a previous holiday maker frustrated by the standard of the villa!), cheap, dirty lounge furniture, cheap dirty patio furniture, wardrobe and bedside table lights that we weren't sure were connected to what, but had wires sticking out of them. In one bathroom there was a leak in a pipe leading to a boiler. It spayed water for the whole time we were there and it was spraying water right next to a wall mounted electrical fuse. (Perhaps I should have used that as my shower?) We also had (or didn't have) ceining light fittings with no bulbs or shades.
My wife mentioned these points to the rep but as I say he had already peaked with the iron! The nice Turkish man just never got round to doing anything about it and in the end we gave up.
I saw the bugs in the pool but only one or two. Not enough sun shades around the bottom pool and at least half of those there were broken. (Perhaps there would have been some on the tip where our dining table/chairs came from). The pools did have chemicals put in every night and regularly had litter cleared & bins emptied. (Perhaps they got busy with this which is why they never got to our villa)
Good points, were that the staff in the little shop and bar were pleasant, friendly and polite. Jimmy who drove the courtesy bus and owned a local restaurant was a star and apart from the Penguin Restaurant we did not have a bad meal. We didn't go on the reps boat trip but booked our own. Paid £45 all inclusive and had a great time.
Local water park (didn't go)was searching people going in for food/drinks. If they found any they looked after it & returned it when you left. While you were in there you had to buy their stuff at inflated prices.
Wife works in travel and no will she recommend this place to her clients.
Must go now as we are in the middle of booking for 2011 to Portugal with a villa that will have a dining table & chairs.(if it hasn't then there is an IKEA only 5 minutes away!)
Ta ra!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank micky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

we finally arrived @ 5am shattered ! after fetching cases off and a quick turn of my head i thought oh my word weve booked the middle of no where !
anyway given keys to the villa ,opened the door wow ,brill looks great 3 floors plenty of space each room own bathroom.very clean (how ever cleaners never returned) and fully air condition throughout ! .now time to get heads down for a few hours!

i woke before all, as i had to explore as i was a little concerned, being a party of 6 inc 4 young boys was a little concerned we may go stir crazy !
2 swimmiing pool areas ,sunbeds i have to say apart from the odd day you could get them still @ 9am .apart from a certain chelsea fan who seemed to bag them @ very early .com Ruth and paul you know who you are !
theres a bar and restuarant and small shop (we didnt really use these much to be honest)
lovely beach 2 min walk down the hill superb! so safe for kids you can wade out at least what seem like mile or so .beach snack shack quite good really
But I still was concern about getting about !
now with everybody awake i was showing them round the site ,when we bumped into STUNTMAN BRYAN (rep) ! he informed us the basics we needed to know.
BINGO! coutersey bus picks up at 930ish , drops back from altinkum @ 2pm , pick up at 7pm
10 minish journey your will get used to the tracks lol
there is also a supermarket pick up at 230 and they wait while you get all u want .
things were now falling into place.
the guys that run the FREE bus also run a restuarant called adanas go to the turkish night ,good fun ,foods great ! (i dare you to volunteer for the knive throwing) get to know the waiters .they would pick us up us drop back no problem when we didnt have dinner there ,i would just slip them a few lira great guys!

but you dont need them all the time 95% of restuarants will pick you up and drop you back !! they will let you have a walkaround after youve finished dinner and just eturn to them and they will still drop you back .!
play the system make it work for you ! we did !

couple of restuarants to look out for THE GRAND in dolphin square, and FAMILY DOORS just up from nigels on sea front

Altinkulm beaches busy but nice, lively area at night.

ROUND UP:
villas great .except our cleaner didnt come back luckily we had a washing machine !
pool could be a little cleaner
local beach brill
getting about good once youve sussed it !

we had a great time met some lovely families out there !

would i go back yes defo in a couple of years !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyMartinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Read some negative reviews before we went so felt apprehensive. We were pleased on arrival the villa was lovely. The local beach is slightly neglected but the was lovely. The water was clear, warm and shallow. There were free sunbeds and parasols. We initially relied on the shuttle bus to get to Altinkum (too far to walk). The restaurents in Altinkum are reasonable and very friendly and many will collect and drop you back to the villas at no extra cost. We never needed to get a taxi which cost approx £10-£15 each way. We got lifts from Cafe Le Mar, The Verandah, Paradise and Romeos. Romeos was partcularly nice and made us feel very welcome with excellent food.
We booked a trip to the local Aquapark through the rep but would recommend booking a taxi direct. The aquapark was brilliant, no queues and great rides.
A couple of power cuts but didn't bother us.
First time in Turkey and really enjoyed it !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Louise1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

the villas are lovely really spacious and clean. the 2 main pools were a bit dirty with some wierd bug things swimming with you the slide pool was very clean and had a shallow pool at the side for little ones.the beach was very close in a lovely cove with a little beach bar (recommended) but nothing else is nearby. Altinkum was 10 mins away by courtesy bus which only runs twice a day so you can feel a little stranded if you want an active holiday. the roads are unsafe for walking they are really dirt tracks. Altinkum had lots of atmosphere and the turkish people are very friendly and helpful we travelled with a 3 children aged 1, 7 and 13 and we got a lift home from the staff in the restaurants which was fantastic as the taxis were expensive. apart from the isolated situation of the villas the holiday was very good and i highly recommend the Didim aquapark and a boat trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Didim hotels
2.1 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#4 of 30 in Altinkum
482 reviews
2 mi away
Aquasis De Luxe Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Didim Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Aurum Didyma Spa & Beach Resort Hotel
1.5 mi away
Altinersan Hotel
Altinersan Hotel
#8 of 30 in Altinkum
129 reviews
2 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Villas

Address: Efeler Mah Imbat Sitesi, Didim, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Didim
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Villas Hotel Didim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing