We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Burak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burak
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Didim
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Burak hotel on Attaturk Boulivard, Altinkum for 2 weeks from 12th September 2013.We were quite pleasantly surprised after reading some reviews. The room was very reasonable except the bathroom. Our shower was not very good and the layout in the bathroom and workmanship could have been a lot better.
Brealfast was typically Turkish with no meat, which let it down somewhat. As they sold burgers etc I couldn't see any reason for no ham in the morning. However the bread and numerous jams were lovely.
The pool area was very good considering the money we paid for the holiday and you couldn't fault the location for convenience. Just minutes away from the seafront and shops and resturants yet still nice and quiet.
The staff where excellent and humorous.
Most people had stayed there before and one person had been going back for 12 years. It was almost like one big friendly family but not at all imposing.
If I wanted a budget holiday in Altinkum I would definatley use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor facing pool is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shootingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    81
    45
    19
    19
See reviews for
72
89
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I just spent two weeks at the Burak hotel fantastic, myself and grandaughter the best time ever, any one who says they had bad stray they have to be of the heads the owner were grate, and all the boys that work their work very hard to make your stay as nice as they can i love them all, i a m going back next year for three weeks i can't wait any one thinking of going to the burak you will have a great holiday.xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryWalsh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Frankly I am amazed at some of the negative reports about this hotel.

If people want a 24 hour porter service and a choice of fruit juice and serials for breakfast then stay at a 4 or 5 star hotel and pay the very considerable amount extra.

Having just returned from a two week stay we did not see any particular problems with the sun beds. In any event the main attraction of Altinkum are the beaches and why queue up in the stairwell early in the morning in order to select your sunbed when their is a lovely beach just a short distance away? Some of the bars will provide you with free cushions to take on the sand and there is usually the benefit of a cooling see breeze.

All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful to all in our party , the rooms were thoroughly cleaned every morning and the sheets and towels changed at least twice a week. The pool and surrounding area also appeared clean and well kept.

Several of the guests we spoke to came year after year to the Burak and if we return to Altinkum would not consider staying at any other hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAY55V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks stay at the Burak. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and as usual the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We arrived at approx 2.30 am after a very long transfer from Bodrum Airport and we were met by the staff who happily carried our cases into reception for us.
The hotel is basic but this is Turkey and for what you pay you cannot expect the ritz. We had our bedding and towels changed every other day, breakfast is Turkish breakfast which I have to admit after a few days is enough, we went out a couple of times just for a change.
You have to pay 2.5 lira for a mattress for the sunbeds although the beds are free, we didn't do to bad with getting a bed but it was September, I would guess it would be a bit of a nightmare in the school holidays when the hotel is full.
If you have a late flight home I would recommend paying the £6 to keep your room until 6.00pm, well worth it so you can have a shower.
All in all a good hotel in a central position

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from yet another stay at the burak had a fantastic holiday love the hotel would not want to stay anywhere else friendly helpful staff this for us makes your holiday had lots of
fun in the daytime with the staff round the pool and also at night in the bar. Just goes to show if you treat people with kindness and respect you will be treated the same. Wonderful to see them all again and it was so good to see Richard back from the army can't wait till next September when we go back . Tony &Pam

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pammy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an 11 night stay at this hotel after our 9th holiday in this resort which we love. We knew the location of the hotel and picked it because of it,s perfect central location. We arrived at 1am hot and tired and were dropped off lower down the street which meant we had to maul our luggage up the street and up a steep flight of steps into the hotel. We were expecting someone to come and help for the customary tip, but although there were staff available nobody came to assist us. Im disabled and my husband had a painful knee infection. On check in we were just handed keys and told our room was "down there" . We looked as to where he meant & were still baffled. We eventually found a dark unlit corridor and located our room. The room was basic as we expected and directly above the internet cafe in a side street. We were too tired to unpack & pretty much crashed out. The following morning I went in the bathroom and it was filthy. The underside of the sink was grimy, the mirror was dirty, the taps were dirty, the shower tray was minging and as for the toilet........... one of the first things to do was clean the bathroom. Please be aware when getting out of the shower that the floors are lethal and slippy. I did a pretty good impression of Todd Carty in Dancing on Ice and if the patio door had of been open I would have sailed straight through the room and off the balcony. Note to self was to put towels on the floor when showering. Regarding towels, the bedding and towels should be changed twice a week but were only changed once in 11 nights, and also if you stain the bedding and towels with henna or hair dye, you will be charged. So if you have recently dyed your hair it,s advisable to take your own towels and protect your pillow.
There are notices around the hotel telling you not to put towels on the loungers by the pool, but nobody takes any notice, so it,s advisable to get yours on early or you wont get a sun lounger. If you want a cushion on your lounger they charge you 2.5 lira per cushion but the loungers are free. All hotels welcome non residents to use the pool and frankly it,s not big enough for residents let alone outside guests. Both the children,s and adult pools are dirty with black grime. We went bed &
and breakfast and it was a basic Turkish buffet, a full English is available at 10 lira which is approx £3.00 depending on the exchange rate at the time, and orange juice has to be paid for. The food there is ok but I cant rave over it.
The 3rd day we had a free pick up to 3rd beach, just ask reception to ring Penguin resturaunt and you get picked up and dropped off free, but it is good manners to tip the driver. When we got back to the room we unfortunatly brought some of the beach back with us in our toes, nooks and crannies and although we tried to clean it up the best we could, some remained and was still there when we checked out which showed our room hadnt been cleaned. Also the patio doors were filthy with finger marks.
We hired a fridge at a cost of £1per night and it was beneficial. I would also advise on you paying for air con and a safe. I would also advise anybody with night flights to pay the extra £6 to keep your room until 6pm instead of the usual 12noon checkout.
If you cross over the road, you will find the Golf Bar where the meals are delicious and there is an extensive menu, the meals are huge though. They also show all the football games. Down the side street at the side of the Golf is an English fish and chip shop called Moby Dick,s and it,s wonderful. Please be sure to stroke Sheila the street dog, she,s really friendly. To the right of the hotel you will find Circus resturaunt which is English run and the food is excellent, but it,s worthwile booking as it,s very busy. If you like Chinese and Indian food be sure to go to Secret Spice. You leave the hotel and go to the left and round the corner by the taxi rank. Dont go as far as the main sea front. The food is excellent. All resturaunts will pick you up free from your hotel, and they love a celebration, so if you,ve a birthday, anniversary etc whilst there, the staff decorate your table and present you with a cake for the occasion.
Yesilkent beach is worth a visit, and domuses run regularly. It cost 2 lira per person but the beach and mountain backdrop are lovley. There is a resturaunt called Aldente and they will also pick you up and drop you back to your hotel free. Please be aware that if you ask for 10am pick up it maybe around 10.30 when the transport arrives due to other pick ups.
Some of the rooms have swarms of mossies, so please take plenty of repellant. We only saw 1 which my husband killed, but some of the guests were really badly bitten.

Room Tip: From what I gathered from other guests, there was no such room as a good room, although the pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CabhappyStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had 2 weeks at the Burak Hotel in August. This is a friendly hotel, nice staff, clean bedding and towels often.
The down side, overlooked by 3 other hotels when in pool. Pool small, having to queue for sunbeds.
Good area, short walk to beach and restaurants.
Don't think we would go again, prefer Gumbet.
Mr & Mrs B

Room Tip: 203 overlooking street was ok. Pool veiw would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Didim hotels
0.1 mi away
Mutlu Apartments
Mutlu Apartments
#6 of 29 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#8 of 29 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altinersan Hotel
Altinersan Hotel
#7 of 29 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emre Apartments
Emre Apartments
#26 of 75 in Didim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panormos Hotel
Panormos Hotel
#15 of 75 in Didim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#3 of 29 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burak

Property: Hotel Burak
Address: Altinkum Mah. Ataturk Bulv. 2. Sok. No:2, Didim 09270, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Didim
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burak 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Burak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burak Hotel Altinkum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing