We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment veranda
Speed boat to Ile aux Aigrettes Pointe desny beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Apartment veranda
Speed boat to Ile aux Aigrettes
Pointe desny beach
Garden from the terrace
Seating area side patio
Jonash Bungalow
Shower/ toilet
Veranda from inside
Veranda
Sunrise at Pointe desny
Market at Mahebourg
Front veranda
View from veranda
Sea view from apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pointe d'Esny

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea B
Heikendorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little paradise”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a wonderful holiday in paradise! a large apartment, very nice and clean with a covered terrace. Direct beach access, crystal clear water, very suitable for snorkeling, great coral and lots of colorful fish. the owner are very friendly and helpful and we look forward to our next visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All, the People, the House
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darren610
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a little peace of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in February 2013

great location to base yourself from, local shops, restaurants, beaches all within walking distance or a short drive away. the hotel at blue bay had a great scuba diving instruction and the marine park you can dive is out of this world! we did a dive for about an hour and they even videoed some of it! the apartment is really nice and backs on to the main beach house it is very spacious and comfortable has all you need for short or long breaks and has a nice terraced balcony for eating on which myself and my girlfriend did every morning. you can snorkel right where your staying on the beach as well as just relaxing on the golden sands. the owners (jon and asha) were really helpful even helped with hiring us a car, and even helped us out with a ride to the airport! couldn't wish to meet nicer people and really made us feel welcome. exploring the island is easy as roads are pretty good on the most part and there are some beautiful place to discover, from the bamboo mountains,the botanical gardens with giant tortoises the extinct volcanos and hindu temples where yo can feed the monkey's which run wild. port louis the capital is very interesting and has a great food market very traditional and undercover. there is a lot of history to learn about and you will discover why the famous dodo birds became extinct. the food is some of the best i have had anywhere and great value, as well as the drinks. there are excursions on sailing boats and catamarans to isle au serf which is pure paridise!!! and worth a day trip to this tiny island just off the coast. this island is a fantastic place to visit weather you just want to relax and eat good food or explore the coast lines and the interior and discover the turbulent history.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners were so helpful, it made the holiday much easier with information
Liked least: sometimes you get beach sellers trying to sell you things you just don't need but this is the same in many countries.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We feel like at home”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice apartment on the first floor, very clean, with all amenities you need to feel comfortable.
Terrace with a view on the lagoon, private access to Pointe d'Esny beach, possibility to use the owner's canoes and to go straight snorkelling from the room.
Owners are very friendly and helpfull and we really enjoy this quiet place away from the busy and close to Mahébourg and Blue Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lagoon
Liked least: the weather...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“The perfect place to be”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We found Jonash Villas by chance during our holiday on beautiful Mauritius. Close to Blue Bay with its wonderful beach and the nice village of Mahebourg we found the perfect place to be. Our room downstairs was spacious, very clean, the small kitchenette has a fridge, a kettle and everything you could ask for, the bathroom is equipped with a perfect hot or cold shower. Jonash Villas is located directly at the sea. At high tide there is no beach, but with a beautiful coral reef just in front of the house, we snorkelled at lot. We even got a canoo from our most helpful hosts, John and Asha, so we paddled to the shipwreck at the coral reef. Everybody who loves the sea, the corals and a brilliant place directly at the water will love this place, for sure. We will come back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy C
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what it seemed from their website”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to pay the extra for this apartment as it had this massive balcony overlooking the ocean. When we got there it turned out that the apartment we thought we were getting belongs to the owners and that our balcony was at the back of the building, with a slight view of the sea if you craned your neck. I suppose it doesn't explicitly say you have the apartment pictured on the website, but phrases like "Balcony with superb sea view" and "The apartment’s greatest asset is its spacious balcony area... there is always a beautiful view of the sea on offer." certainly make you think you're getting the fabulous balcony on the photo.

The apartment was nice enough, though the furniture was all a bit past its best but it just wasn't what we'd expected. There are other apartments in the area that are half the price but we paid the extra for the location and view so it was really very disappointing and definitely not worth the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. We are very pleased and welcoming of our first review on Trip Advisor and we would like to address some of the points you have raised.
Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise if you were mistaken as to the situation of the balcony. It is most certainly not our intention to mislead. The idea of the photograph on that website shows the property in its entirety to give a good idea of the private beach and spacious lower balcony, both of which are available to our guests.
There are pictures of the apartment balcony including the view from it on the website from which you booked. Despite this never having happened before, we are taking steps to modify the website to ensure that this is the first (time in 12 years) and last time that this may happen. To suggest that it offers only a slight view of the sea is unnecessarily unkind. You merely need to be seated on a chair facing seaward. We maintain that there is a beautiful view to be enjoyed seaward also well maintained garden in the other direction.
With regards to the pricing, we are a little confused that you indicate that you felt that you paid a premium to stay in our accommodation. As far as we know we are the lowest cost beachside apartment to rent in Pointe d'esny, we are certainly at time of writing the cheapest on this site.
We are sad that you felt that our furniture is a little past its best ( it is a mixture of antique and new ) We feel a big part of staying in independently rented accommodation is the opportunity to gain a real taste of Mauritius. The decor is meant to reflect that.
We absolutely welcome feedback and reviews of any kind. We created a page to this effect on our Jonashapartment website which is open for our clients to leave feedback/comments, all of which so far have been very positive. So naturally we are a little disheartened that our first review on here should seem so negative.
It is perhaps a shame that you did insist on visiting during our annual vacation, you would not have had the full experience Jonash experience. We absolutely pride ourselves on being very attentive whilst remaining unobtrusive to our guests and we feel our helpfulness has been a big positive in much of our feedback in the past.
We are pleased that you have recognised at least some of the positive aspects by all of the sub-ratings attaining a 3 or 4 out of 5 which is all the more curious as to why you would go on to give an overall rating of 2 out of 5.
Still, we take the positive of having our first review on Trip Advisor. We have taken on board any points raised and we will encourage any other clients to post here as we are confident the balance will soon be redressed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing