We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hedley House ... possibly the best place ever!”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If only every place I stayed was like this. Beautiful property. Gardens of all gardens. Very clean. The rooms have their own balconys overlooking a beautiful beach and you can see digby as well. The sunset was gorgeous. The rooms also have a kitchenette,,, stove, tea kettle, coffee maker, microwave, toaster?, fridge, sink...etc... There are steps going down to the beach. The free breakfast was awsome, the wonderful host will sing to you, play her guitar and pinao... overall it was wonderful and we DEFINITELY will be back!!!! Service, prices and quality were absolutely amazing. YOU need to stay here :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 and loved every second of it :)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luckysyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Hedley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

An amazing place to stay. perfect for kids. Beautiful gardens, play area for children, wonderful hosts who will serenade you with a song. Rooms are clean and private balconies are great for watching the tide come and go. Steps lead down to the beach for walking or shell-hunting. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retired2004_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

If only all accommodations were like this, we wouldn't need to research them. Our room was immaculate, the bed was comfortable, with quiet surroundings and a rustic atmosphere. We had a microwave, frig, stove and coffee maker (with coffee and filters provided) as well as a hair blow dryer. After daytripping we would sit on our private deck overlooking the tidal basin and watch the hummingbirds feed from the many flowers that were in front of our deck. There was a gas barbeque close by, allowing us to have a steak dinner one night. Joanne made us a delicious breakfast as well as a lunch to take on our whale watching cruise. We asked Joanne to sing for us and were blessed with hearing her voice. If we aren't family by now, we should be. Thank you Joanne and Albert. We will go out of my way to stay here when we visit again next year,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Easy to find, Both of the owners are musicians during the non tourist season. Pleasant room with stove, refrigerator/freezer. Very Clean. Small private porch to sit and be able to see the Bay creep in or out. There are grills available and different sitting areas on the grounds and a stairway to the water- not for swimming. The owners went out of their way when we discussed wanting to try Rappie Pie and suggested and called a restaraunt - Red Cap- 3 hours a way- on our route- to save 2 pieces as it sells out fast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2gmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This motel was great value for the money. Great service, conveniently located minutes from Digby. The view of the bay was fantastic and was easily admired from the private deck attached to each room. The room was big, bed was comfortable, I had the best sleep I have had in a long time. If you're lucky, the owner may sing you a song. Everything was great, would not change a thing. Definitely will be staying there next time I travel through Digby.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaitlyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This diamond in the rough has something for everybody. When you first arrive, you will be in awe of the picturesque setting including; beautiful flower beds, Adirondack chairs surrounding the pond, private English Garden for afternoon tea or a few cold ones, and several BBQs for your own private parties.This place exudes the quaint charm and familiarity of a bed and breakfast, with the peace and solitude of a motel setting. You can be as social, or as private as your heart desires. For those that enjoy meeting and making new friends, you can gather in the historic main house for the continental breakfast, or sit quietly at a table for two and have a nice cup of tea. For people who enjoy their alone time, your very private balcony with the view of the tidal waters and amazing beach will be ideal for you. The setting sun, views of the famous Pines Resort and the town of Digby, will be with you in your memories long after you have taken leave of this little piece of paradise. The rooms are clean, carpet free, and have all the amenities of a self contained home. I was pleasantly pleased when I opened the door to our eclectic, inviting, comfortable home away from home. Joanne and Albert made our stay one I will remember forever. They treated us like royalty, adorned us with food and hospitality, serenaded us with beautiful, original songs and music and made us feel like we had known them forever. We came as guests, and left as family. If you are looking for ambience, look no further. Thanks again guys!

Room Tip: There were several types of rooms. One has two rooms with 2 bathrooms, some of the showers are small...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed here during the Wharf Rat Rally weekend in 2011. We were very pleased with Hedley House. It is a quaint little motel in Smith's Cove (about a 10 minute drive from Digby) The rooms were very clean, very comfortable and just what we were looking for. The bathrooms are very small and cramped, but that is the only negative about the accommodations. Joanne (the caretaker) as other reviews have stated goes above and beyond to make your stay a happy one. (We did not have the pleasure of meeting Albert) She even offered her own apartment to a couple who arrived late at night and had no where to stay. She slept on the couch.

The property is absolutely beautiful and the private decks offer a very beautiful view. We had some drinks on the front veranda. We were not loud and neither were any of the other guests who were enjoying their stay. But it wasn't a place where you would be "shushed" either. We were extremely happy with our stay and would recommend staying here to anyone. It is a very down-to-earth establishment, and we are already booked in for next year's rally.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSHilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith's Cove
3.1 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
12.9 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
113 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#7 of 7 in Digby
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
334 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 375 Rr #1, Smith's Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby > Smith's Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hedley House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private ocean decks, sandy tidal beach, cable TV, internet, barbecues, kitchenettes, beautiful sunsets, great for wind surfing, nearby whale watching, upper Clements Park, golfing, 5 minutes from Digby ferry and world famous Digby Scallops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel Smiths Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing