We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Motel Worth Missing”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Motel Worth Missing”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Old, tired and run down in the best way to describe Hedley House. After all of the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we were a bit surprised at how poorly this accommodation measured up, especially in comparison with the other lovely Nova Scotia accommodations we had the pleasure to stay in during our week here.

The one redeeming quality of Hedley House is Joanne, the manager, who was extremely warm and welcoming and did her best to make us feel comfortable, including sharing her love of music with us. The location on the Bay of Fundy, including the beautiful sunsets, is also noteworthy.

The accommodation itself, however, seems like it has seen better days. The floors are wood and appear dirty. The mattresses are lumpy, with little support, the bedding (more specifically, the duvet cover) does not lend itself well to best hygiene practices as it is a dark colour and therefore, can neither be bleached nor washed in hot water to kill germs. The electric baseboards in the room we stayed in made a constant humming noise that varied in intensity from bearable to annoying, the bathroom is pretty tiny too but functional. There was also no air conditioning in the room we stayed in and unfortunately, the door to the deck lacked a screen that would have allowed for a cross breeze.

I usually rely pretty heavily on other travellers' accommodation reviews to help make our family's travel experiences as positive as they can be but in this case, we found the extremely positive TripAdvisor reviews/rating just did not align with the reality of Hedley House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MascoG_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    45
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had two nights great hosts .!! Rooms very clean with sitting area , cooking and frig. Shower a little tight but heaps pressure .
Would stay again ( but we are from Australia and not likely to pass is way again .)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I travelled to Annapolis Royal, NS. We wanted something on the beach and with an efficiency unit. Hedley House by the Sea is a small motel with wonderful private decks facing the beach and Minas Basin on the Bay of Fundy. It was off season so we had the place to ourselves.
The manager JoAnne is a wonderful hostess and takes great pride in her beautiful grounds with many beautiful flowers, rose bushes and rhododendrons.
Breakfast was included each morning at the main house, a big old farm house with gathering rooms and a nice dining room overlooking the gardens and Bay.
It is a 5 - 10 minute drive to Digby and the ferry to Saint John, NB and about 20 minutes into historic Annapolis Royal.
It is a seasonal property and it could use some updating but it had everything we needed.

Room Tip: Great swimming and walking beach and close to lots of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

It was great to be back at Hedley House again. The property looks amazing, the gardens and grounds have never looked better. I thought it was as good as it could get last year but I was wrong it is even better this year .
We were warmly greeted again by Joanne who had taken the time to put some wild flowers in our room. The service was outstanding!
The room was very clean, the barbeque cleaned and ready for our steak and all the items we needed for our dinner were stocked in our kitchen.
This is such a wonderful place to sit back and relax, there is no question that we will return again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annapolisnovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were four friends on a two-week Canada/Maine vacation. The Hedley House was our 3rd night on the road. What a charming place with wonderful hosts! Joanne serenaded us during breakfast, then sat down with us to inquire of our trip and add suggestions for sightseeing. We all would love to visit again for an extended stay in Digby and at the Hedley House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Hedley House and found Joanne and Albert to be helpful and hospitable. They are both musicians, but we only got to hear Joanne sing on her guitar and piano on our last morning with them. This was a most unusual and 'down home' type of inn with comfort and friendliness. The continental breakfast was ample and presented well.....and lots of eat! Our room had an awesome view of the Bay of Fundy, cool breeze and absolute peace and quiet. The garden filled to the brim with flowers is the sight you first see and reminded me of another place and time. If I were to give the downside of the Hedley house, it would be the very confining shower stall, but that is mostly noticed when we are all accustomed to a full bath at home. If I were to summarized our stay here, I would still consider it a blessing with a surprise of singing from the heart and voice of a woman who cares about her guests. Very well done!!!

Room Tip: I believe they were basically the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fronie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Heldey House by the Sea on 9/7 and 9/8/12. Joanne, the manager was the most welcoming host and made us feel like family. My husband had a problem with his car remote and Joanne insisted on using her phone to make calls to find a place that would be able to help us. The setting is beautiful, right on the Fundy tidal basin and we spent hours enjoying the view from our private deck. Joanne and Angela truly take pride in keeping the rooms and the property with the gardens and many flowers in wonderful shape. When Joanne found out that we were taking the late afternoon ferry from Digby she told us to take our time checking out so we had even more time with the beautiful view. Joanne also recommended excellent restaurants. Our time at Hedley House was part of a 14 day road trip in Maritime Canada. Joanne epitomizes the warm hospitality we encountered all along the way. We enjoyed meals at the Shoreline and Fundy Dockside restaurants in Digby. If you take the scenic drive down Digby Neck be sure to stop at Laverna's just before the ferry to Brier Island for some excellent chowder.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a private deck with a beautiful view so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaystateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith's Cove
3.1 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
12.9 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
104 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#7 of 7 in Digby
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
313 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 375 Rr #1, Smith's Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby > Smith's Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hedley House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private ocean decks, sandy tidal beach, cable TV, internet, barbecues, kitchenettes, beautiful sunsets, great for wind surfing, nearby whale watching, upper Clements Park, golfing, 5 minutes from Digby ferry and world famous Digby Scallops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel Smiths Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing