We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in the Digby area.”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Only 12-15 minutes from the ferry. Joanne was a wonderful hostess. She offered to cook for us. We did not take her up on it this time but we will the next time Lovely view from a private deck. Easy access to Digby town and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bestdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hospitality was over and beyond our expectations! We felt right at home, just like family. She makes fantastic seafood chowder. Hopefully she will sing for you when you visit. We had a great time. Next time we will spend more days there, three days wasn't enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pattiandjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Yes, the views of the estuary are pleasant. Yes, the grounds are pleasant and the steps down to the sandy/muddy beach are easily accessible.
However, the mattress and pillows were worn out and need to be replaced. Also, noise from adjacent rooms is disturbing. The result is a very poor nights sleep. The shower is small and delivery of water is inadequate. The breakfasts are very meagre, with or without the much heralded muffins. Overall, the hospitality is very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruneler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedleyhouseinnkeeper, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

thank you for the review, we are sorry the people in the room adjacent to you kept you up, if you had come to the front desk we would of dealt with the situation, this is certainly not usual as you can see by the many quest reviews, as for muddy beach we have a tidal beach , Bay of Fundy tides are known world wide for how low and high they get ! Keep in mind people being loud in adjacent room happens in 5 stars resorts, and most quest don't evaluate them as 1 star, they simply do a complaint to management so the issues can be resolved

manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Well, we declined eating at the motel but I think we should have. The rooms are nice (showers are small if you're a large person) and clean and the wee kitchenette was very sufficient, which we didn't expect as it was a "basic room". The beach is not "sandy" as claimed. It's sandy and mostly rocky, but walkable. We went into town to eat and 2 out of 4 restaurants were out of lobster and we didn't ask the other 2. Upon eating breakfast in the house, we realized we missed out on a great evening of food, entertainment, and lots of fun. Should have ate in. Will do next time. The location of this hotel is not walking distance to Digby, but it's a great place and just a minute drive to town, really. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenaM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hedley House is not fancy, but if you love warm charm, amazing service, historical lodgings and the best views possible of the Bay of Fundy, you can't go wrong! Hedley House is an old time road "Motel/Inn" that is 60 years old. It is lovingly maintained with a beautiful central house that also serves amazing meals to guests only. The rooms are not fancy at all (so if you are expecting the Ritz, you should take a pass).....but if you love old historical lodgings, a private beach, no crowds and fabulous service you can't go wrong. I cannot say enough good things about our stay there, and the wonderful service by the staff, particularly the lovely manager Joanne.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoahmorrisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Hedley House Inn for 3 days. Joanne, who we met at the reception desk, was so helpful and outgoing. Our stay there was very relaxing. Our room was clean, the bed was uber comfortable and the private deck you get with each unit was a very nice touch!! We felt at home there, the staff was friendly and helpful as well as Joanne's cat, Blacky, meeting me every morning by the goldfish pond gave the experience a "I'm home" feeling. The scallops Joanne made for dinner were to die for as well as the freshly picked salad from the garden. Fresh cranberry's with a taste that are out of this world .
The staff are real people, the food is real food. This is a beautiful place to stay for real people., non-pretentious. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Steve and Diane Martin
Love you guys and thanks for making our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedleyhouseinnkeeper, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

thanks for your great review, Hope to see you in the futre

manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife, 18 mos old son and I stayed here on our driving tour of the Maritimes. It's a great little place. Our room had a small kitchennette facility which was nice as we had the baby with us. The greatest thing about this place is that our room had a balcony out the back that looked over this little inlet where you could really see the impact the worlds biggest tides make. When we checked in the inlet was full of water and late that night it was empty and you could have walked across it. Joanne was a hoot as well. It was a bit hot at night but it was piping out during the day so that was to be expected. We really enjoyed this little motel and it was an easy drive from there to the ferry to NB. - I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PegLeg-and-SherBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith's Cove
3.1 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
12.9 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
117 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#6 of 7 in Digby
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Basinview Motel
Basinview Motel
#2 of 2 in Smith's Cove
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seawinds Motel
Seawinds Motel
#4 of 7 in Digby
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 375 Rr #1, Smith's Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby > Smith's Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Price Range: £77 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hedley House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private ocean decks, sandy tidal beach, cable TV, internet, barbecues, kitchenettes, beautiful sunsets, great for wind surfing, nearby whale watching, upper Clements Park, golfing, 5 minutes from Digby ferry and world famous Digby Scallops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel Smiths Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing