We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Friendly, and unbeatable views!”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Wonderful destination to relax and comb the beach at low tide.

Coffee was great, and enjoying it on the private deck as the tide changes was even better.

Joanne always makes sure we're happy and well taken care of. She goes above all expectations!

My favorite destination to relax and enjoy the quality of life the scenery provides.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarefootBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Hedley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Joann and Albert were really nice and helpful. Watching the high and low tide in Smith's Cove was amazing and the grounds well kept. Joann made us breakfast to order and helped us reserve a whale watching trip. The only downsize was I wished the bathroom was a little bit larger but other wise a great stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank gloriapoznanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

stayed 2 days here, meals are available if requested in advance, joanne the hostess made the best seafood chowder ive ever tasted, she also sang and played piano during the meal, what makes this place is the the beautiful beach and lovely grounds and well as the hospitality, the rooms are rustic but nice, bathroom could be bigger , but other then that would certainly recommend to anyone

Room Tip: had room 10 loved it
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The motel has a great location overlooking the water. The grounds are pretty nice as well. Our room was really dated. The beds had what seemed to be older matresses and pillows. The rooms have no A/C and telephones. We were lucky to encounter a somewhat cool night along with a ceiling fan that made the stay bearable. If it were warmer, this would be a hot place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CincyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedleyhouseinnkeeper, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thanks for the Review

were currently updating motel and replacing beds , we are installing AC in some rooms but as for must guest they find the ocean breeze from the front deck even in the month of august very refreshing and have had no complaints

sincerely

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Warning: amazing things may happen to you at the Hedley House if you are not careful! The room was beautiful and the view, lovely. The flowers around the house were gorgeous. We ate supper there and everything was perfect. We had such a good time with Joann and Albert. What great folks. Watching the high and low tide in Smith's Cove from our room was mind-boggling. The Digby area is lovely. All in all, it was a transformational experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopefulinnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedleyhouseinnkeeper, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay

cheers

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our stay was so nice. The host and owner was so friendly and entertaining. We jammed in the morning at breakfast with a tune or 2. I'm a guitarist and she is a very good pianist and vocalist. We had a fun time in Digby too walking around town and eating thier famous scallops. The tides were amazing to watch right off the deck and grounds. Continental breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loonybinguitfiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Only 12-15 minutes from the ferry. Joanne was a wonderful hostess. She offered to cook for us. We did not take her up on it this time but we will the next time Lovely view from a private deck. Easy access to Digby town and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bestdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith's Cove
3.1 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
12.9 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
113 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#7 of 7 in Digby
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
336 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 375 Rr #1, Smith's Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby > Smith's Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Price Range: £77 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hedley House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private ocean decks, sandy tidal beach, cable TV, internet, barbecues, kitchenettes, beautiful sunsets, great for wind surfing, nearby whale watching, upper Clements Park, golfing, 5 minutes from Digby ferry and world famous Digby Scallops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel Smiths Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing