We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep Driving”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Keep Driving”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Don't be fooled by the flowers and pretty sign. Found the room to be disappointing. No "flat screen, horrible bed and linens and and TINY old bathroom. No air conditioner, the fan was not enough when temperatures are high! Yes, they have a wood floor which was dirty as was the wooden deck outside. We had noisy neighbors who were fighting and using the barbecue (outside their door) at 1:30 in the morning. No phones in room, never saw the owner after checkin.

PS Be aware that the "beach" is rocks and mud - not able to sit or go in water (which also looked muddy due to tide)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsagal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedleyhouseinnkeeper, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
We sincerely apologize for the problems with the barbecue and arguing that was close to your room , and understand that ruined your stay at Headley House, We have since moved the barbecue to the English gardens and posted signs in rooms that quite time is at 11:00 pm, We simply had not ran into that issue before and wish you would of been kind enough to lets us know , we would of also refunded your night,

Joanne Leblanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    42
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Wood floors in the cabins and small decks overlooking the cove (and then the Bay of Fundy) are very pleasant. Breakfast in the main house offers even better views. As a bonus, the hosts are fine musicians and you might catch a song or two if you are lucky (as I was).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REFVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax, nova scotia
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2009

It's me again! I was the production coordinator on the Discovery Channel show that used Hedley House as our home base. I loved the place so much that I went back a week later with my girlfriend. We had a nice romantic weekend and we went to Upper Clements Park two days in a row. That place is a lot of fun!

Hedley House was a great place for us to get away, enjoy the stars and each other's company, and the private decks are a much welcome luxury. My better half and I will definitely be making this a yearly trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedleylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grosse coques
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

was just passin thru and saw the nice flowers on the grounds and right on the beach, stopped for the night had a deck with my room overlooking the digby basin, what a nice spot

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertlamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

I stayed at Hedley House for one night while attending a wedding in a nearby town. I was very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations.

The accommodations were not new, but appeared to be very well maintained. I thought the hardwood floors were a very nice touch. The room had a small kitchenette, with an interesting fridge/stove combination unit. Our room had a good sized balcony that overlooked the water, complete with chairs and citronella candles. There was also beach access on the property. My only complaint was that the bathroom was a bit tiny - a stand up shower, not a bathtub.

All in all, a very nice stay in a quaint motel.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leenNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We have stayed at Hedley House twice, once in 2002 and once in 2005. There are not all that many places in NS where you can stay within a few feet of the water, but you can here. It was perfect for us--the completely relaxing vacation. The owners were very friendly, and you could not beat the view or the fascinating tides. In 2005 we ate in the dining room, and the meals were delicious--authentic Acadian (French) cooking. Hedley House accommodations are not fancy, which means you can bring your sandy feet inside, and your rock collection.

Digby is a modest town, with all the necessities: a Wal-Mart, a yarn and fabric shop, sensational Digby scallops. This is the place to come if you want to sit and read, watch the water and the weather, and not have a care in the world.

By the way, Nova Scotia has fascinating geological features, and this is a wonderful jumping off place if you want to see them: the tidal power station in Annapolis Royal, Joggins fossil cliffs, the agates and amethysts in the Bay, the Tidal Bore in Truro, where the force of the tide pushes the water in a river backwards! It's quite amazing.

Carolyn McPherson

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank Horn-Coral-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2006

Best to avoid this motel. There was nothing even satisfactory about this accommodation. But it is advertised on the internet. The person who checked us in appeared to be intoxicated.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedleyhouseinnkeeper, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
We would simply like to let you know this place has been under new managment for 2 years , and can assure you this would never happen now,

Joanne Leblanc ( new manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith's Cove
3.1 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
12.9 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#7 of 7 in Digby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seawinds Motel
Seawinds Motel
#3 of 7 in Digby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 375 Rr #1, Smith's Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby > Smith's Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith's Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hedley House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private ocean decks, sandy tidal beach, cable TV, internet, barbecues, kitchenettes, beautiful sunsets, great for wind surfing, nearby whale watching, upper Clements Park, golfing, 5 minutes from Digby ferry and world famous Digby Scallops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel Smiths Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing