We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for cycling the Alps”
Review of Le Velo Jaune

Le Velo Jaune
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Velo Jaune
Ranked #2 of 2 Auris B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I stayed as part of a group of 7 cyclists on a 5 night stay, half board. The rooms are simple but very clean and the en-suite shower and loo in our room was of a good standard. Our room had 2 single beds. The 3 course evening meals are home cooked and very tasty (and gluten free for my wife). Breakfasts were continental with the addition of porridge. There was a fridge containing drinks at very reasonable prices and the upstairs room was open to guests in the evening.

The B&B is situated about 4km outside Bourg D'Oissens in a small hamlet with a bar that will open in the evening if you want a drink. The ride into town is pan flat where there are many bars and restaurants. Alan and Lynne have a wealth of knowledge about cycling the local area and were particularly useful in planning a route to go and watch stage 13 of the 2014 tdf. Bikes are stored in a secure garage.

Highly recommended for cycling the Alps.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Le Velo Jaune
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent two nights at le Velo Jaune and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Lynne and Alan are very friendly and helpful and have a wealth of knowledge about cycling routes in the area. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet and the breakfasts provided were fabulous, even catering to my slightly odd food intolerances.

We enjoyed a home cooked dinner one night, which was very reasonably priced, delicious and definitely very filling. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests, but if you prefer to keep to yourself, you can easily do so.

The location was perfect - only a few km from Bourg d'Oisans, with parking provided and lock up facilities for bikes as well. We would definitely recommend le Velo Jaune for visitors to the area, whether cyclists or not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at Le Velo Jaune for 4 nights in May 2014. It is the perfect place to stay for a cycling holiday in this region of the French Alps. Alan and Lynne are a wealth of information when it comes to choosing a range of cycling routes to cover during your stay. Good clean rooms, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, good food with dinner also an option. It is a small distance out of Bourg and is therefore very quiet and secure. A great experience all up. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and would recommend it to single travellers or groups.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank BenHarcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Le Velo Jaune is ideally situated for cycling many of the TDF Alpine routes. Alan and Lynne are good company and extend a warm welcome to their guests. They provide comfortable and spotlessly clean accommodation, serve marvellous evening meals at a very reasonable price. In addition they offer a wealth of knowledge about the area which enables guest to make the most of their stay. What more could you wish for?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Velo Jaune in July 2013. My husband is an avid cyclist/triathlete and I do not cycle. We live in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.This vacation was a birthday present to my husband. We were somewhat skeptical about the experience we were embarking upon, as my husband was a lone cyclist and not part of a group. This was also our first time visiting France. I have a French background, my husband doesn't. The minute we came to Le Velo Jaune, we felt we were at home- away from home. We were welcomed with open arms by Alan and Lynn. The surroundings are breathtaking as they are nestled in the Alps and the B&B is very clean and well maintained. Alan and Lynn have many years of cycling experience and their knowledge of the area is impeccable. They are better than having a GPS!!
They really helped to make our stay enjoyable and even though I didn't cycle, I was able to follow along in our team support car. Lynn & Alan gave us many suggestions of places we could go and see, so my husband and I could experience the Alps and he could get the most out of his cycling at the same time. Evening meals and breakfasts were absolutely amazing and delicious! It was nice to have the fridge outside our room that was fully stalked with beer, pop, water and goodies! (for a small fee). We really enjoyed friendly conversations after a full day with other cyclists from different countries-especially with Jade and her fiancé.The storage bike/mechanic area was also an added bonus. We highly recommend Le Velo Jaune. This is the place to stay if you want to enjoy the ultimate cycling experience. You won't regret it!! Chris and Glenn

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runnungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

9 of us from Scotland stayed at La Velo Jaune for an organised week of cycling the big Cols in the area. La Velo Jaune was new to all of us but provided the ideal location for our cycling itinerary. The owners - Lynn and Alan - are very friendly and have a vast knowledge of the area which we found really useful. The food was superb - exactly what we needed at the start and end of a hard day's cycling - and the rooms were all very clean and comfortable. Throw in a massive garage set up for cycles plus tools, etc. and you've got the perfect place to choose for a cycling holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GordyGadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have just come back from a magnificent 10 days cycling in the Alps, and the general concensus is it's been one of the best holidays ever, helped in no small amount by the wonderful Alan and Lyn at Le Velo Jaune.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, they both made us feel so welcome, it was a delight to stay in their lovely home. The rooms are clean and well furnished, certainly adequate for resting ones head after a hard day tackling the cols of the Tour de France. There is an excellent en suite shower, and twin beds. The room is darkened by shutters and a good nights sleep was had each evening when we were there.

Cast aside your inhibitions and join in with the conversation with all nationalities around the communal dining table in the evening as delicious home cooked meals are produced, and the conversation flowed along with the wine. There's a beautiful sun terrace which is a lovely place to while away a warm evening with a cold beer reminiscing over the days achievements.

Alan and Lyn are serious cyclists and shared a couple of "hidden gem" routes with us (the memorable descent from Bons will stay in my mind for a long time!), and are happy to share their knowledge with you. There is a secure bike storage shed, as well as a track pump. The honesty fridge in the hallway with beer and soft drinks is a nice touch. There's no need to worry about sweaty cycling kit, as for a small charge it can be washed for you.

The accomodation is about 5km from the bottom of the climb to Alpe d'Huez, and is on the valley floor so, as the website, you are guaranteed a flat or downhill ride to get back.

This is a fantastic place to stay, run by two considerate and generous hosts. If you're cycling, stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToscatheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auris
2.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 1 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
86 reviews
2.9 mi away
Camping a la Rencontre du Soleil
Camping a la Rencontre du Soleil
#1 of 9 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
101 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camping Le Colporteur
Camping Le Colporteur
#4 of 9 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
La Marmotte de la Meije
#6 of 9 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
9 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Beau Site
Hotel le Beau Site
#1 of 3 in Auris
69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auberge de la Foret
Auberge de la Foret
#2 of 3 in Auris
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Velo Jaune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Velo Jaune

Address: le Clapier | Auris en Oisans, 38142 Auris, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Auris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auris
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing