We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spring Valley

Front Terrace Overlooking Mistra Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Terrace Overlooking Mistra Valley
Dining Alfrosco Veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Front Terrace Overlooking Mistra Valley
Dining Alfrosco
Veranda
Mood bed in veranda
Heated Spa
DOUBLE BEDROOM
DOUBLE BEDROOM
TWIN BEDS
DINE SPA
FRONT TERRACE MOONBED
Bedroom Overlooking Back Terrace.
view at the back terrace
Bedroom Overlooking Front Terrace
Back Terrace view
Front Terrace - Alfresco Dining overlooking Mistra Valley.
KITCHEN
Kitchen
kitchen view
LIVING
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Xemxija, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sunny_Day...
Waterloo, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We've just returned from a great family holiday in Malta and were so pleased that we booked this apartment. It's spacious, impeccably clean, comfortable and very well equipped (down to plug adaptors, hairdryer, beach towels.... everything!). There were 3 spacious double rooms each with a door to either front or back balcony. The big front terrace, with table & chairs, sunbeds and hot-tub, is where we had our sundown aperitif every evening, overlooking the countryside (heritage walk area) the perfect place to reflect on the day's adventures.The back terrace is smaller and sunny in the morning, with a view onto the castle and a glimpse of blue sea (currently this view is blocked by a big crane). This didn't bother us because we had more space out front anyway, but we used it to dry our laundry - being next to the washing machine area. Fortunately the air conditioning in the bedrooms worked well and enabled us to sleep despite the intense heat outside. No air conditioning in the living room, but there's a fan to help cool those inside. Outside on the terrace is a big canopy which can be opened or closed depending on the intensity of the sun. We didn't use the hot-tub because we found the chlorine smell rather off-putting. The main bathroom was spacious enough for the 2 couples who used it, with sufficient hot water for showers etc. We had the smallest en-suite I've ever in our (master) bedroom, but it was fine, although the shower might be a bit of a squeeze for some.
Originally we thought about staying nearer Valetta but we were so glad we decided to stay in Xemxija instead because the traffic from Valetta and the North of the island was a bit of a nightmare, and staying here meant we were nearer the lovely Northern beaches and the ferry port to Gozo. Although the beaches were very busy, we found a lovely beach club (Baia Beach) which was totally lovely (but call first to check they are open!).
The apartment is in a quiet,residential area, up a VERY steep hill, so I wouldn't recommend walking to St Paul's Bay - especially not in the July heat - so a hire car is essential. Although there was a crane next door, we weren't bothered by construction noise at any time during our stay. We had no problem with the wifi.
We would definitely recommend this apartment as the perfect base for exploring the beautiful island of Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness, 3 spacious double bedrooms, view, big balcony, quiet environment
Liked least: Small en-suite bathroom, chlorine smell in hot-tub, crane blocking rear view of castle.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally Delivered from Sunrise to Sunset”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just got home from our first trip to Malta, we stayed 5 nights at Spring Valley over the Easter Weekend. Perfectly situated less than half an hour from the airport with superb countryside and sea views from the two balconies. Ancient history literally on your doorstep with caves and Roman relics 1 minute walk away ( The apartment is on Prehistoric Street...that's a clue!) and within 15 minutes in a car you have supermarkets, beautiful bays, restaurants and amazing Maltese forts, temples and churches. The property has everything you'll need being very well equipped, it was especially great having two bathrooms, a dishwasher and WiFi. The area is really quiet with no late night noises and you can walk to a local shop in 5 minutes. (Slipway Shop on the Main Street near the harbour wall)
The hot tub was brilliant and we were lucky to get maybe the first Spring sunshine so spent some evenings lounging in the tub watching the sunset.
Things to be aware of....if you like deep baths you will struggle, the hot water tank here is not designed for that...hot water is really hot but the tank is not that big! Also the bed in the master bedroom was a little firm for our taste, but that's a personal preference thing.

If you love the countryside and have young people that love to explore then this place will be perfect for you. If you are like us and first time Malta visitors then Spring Valley is a great place to start- it felt like a really authentic Malta experience.

Highlights for us during our short stay were Mdina, Mosta, Valletta and the countryside around the property. We will definitely come back to Malta after this trip.

Thanks for a great holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggieand...
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Penthouse with wonderful terrace.”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This apartment is extremely well-equipped and comfortable. There is a huge terrace with a hot tub and another balcony at the rear, both affording far-reaching views and both very private. The delightful owners are more than happy to provide help and advice if required and made some excellent restaurant recommendations. There is plenty of parking and it is easy to drive the short distance to St Pauls Bay. (Just a couple of outside steps then there is a lift to the top). We had a great time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura c
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We recently enjoyed a lovely relaxing week at Spring Valley.
The apartment is very well equipped, spotlessly clean and the hot tub on the large balcony is a real plus.
Andy was incredibly helpful and informative when we first arrived and was happy to let us stay longer on the day we were due to check out as we had a late flight.
It's essential to have a car, there aren't many places to easily walk to but there was no problem with parking outside the apartment at any time.
I would happily recommend Spring Valley to anyone visiting Malta!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: no shops or cafes in easy walking distance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ju M
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent place, in a gorgeous location. Will definetely go back!”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had stayed in Xemxija before and knew it was a lovely and calm spot - but since this would be our first holiday with a 6 month old baby we decided to go for an apartment that would be comfortable in case we didn't feel like going anywhere: best decision ever!!

The property is everything that you see in the pics - ample, clean and very comfortable. A travel cot and high chair were already set up on our arrival. The view from both balconies are stunning. The property sleeps up to 6 people, but since we were just 3 of us (well, more like 2 and a half!) we had so much space!! Unfortunately we didn't end up having as many meals outside/balcony as we hoped but mainly the weather is to blame: it was quite windy!

The property is on top of a hill (that is very steep but quite funny to walk up specially if you pushing a pram!) but as mentioned in the property details you might want to hire a car.

Andy was extremely helpful (he gave us a map and suggestions of where to go and even where to eat in different bigger cities in Malta) and also very patient - my husband was ill on the first day and we were nearly 6 hours late to arrive but he worked around us and was very flexible.

Highly recommend it ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1...
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful Apartment”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from short stay in the wonderful apartment, with my son
and friend. Brilliant facilities, very spacious with excellent access and
parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you for choosing our Property. You are welcome for your next holiday in Malta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDacombe
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway in lovely quiet setting”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Well maintained and clean. Great friendly welcome and very informative of attractions, restaurants etc we hired a car and parking was always very easy and actually found the entire experience very enjoyable and felt safe driving any where. Purple bistro 2 mins walk and Chinese 10 minutes were both very good and reasonably priced. We cooked our own dinners on a few night and all facilities were available and sufficient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 balconies
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing