We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixth time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have just come back from our sixth visit to Corinthia Palace. We love the place for it's quietness (except when the fireworks go off), friendliness and seeing other friends who also return.. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and if something has been overlooked it is soon put right. They really do do everything to make your stay enjoyable. This is one place I would recommend if you are a lady travelling alone - I would feel really safe and the staff make it extra special.
See you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missionmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel whilst in Malta for our sons wedding. We chose this hotel after reading reviews on this site, and what a great choice we made! The location is just perfect if you want a quiter, away from it all location. On arrival at the hotel (in a taxi arranged by them) we were given a glass of orange juice and our holiday started. We had a suite overlooking the garden, you do get some road noise when the terrace doors are open, but certainly no cats or flight path noise as mentioned in previous reviews.

We have never stayed in such a peaceful hotel. We did not hear any noise from other guests, as in our area there were thick carpets to cushion any noise.

The terrace was huge, with chairs and loungers, perfect for evening relaxation after a trip to the Caprice lounge for cocktails, especially happy hour!

We only had breakfast and room service a couple of times, but they were fine. The coffee shops across the road are fine and offer good value for money.

The staff are attentive and the concierge knowledgeable.

This is an excellent hotel, maybe in other countries may not warant 5 star (a little tired in places) but for us it was JUST PERFECT !

Room Tip: Maybe a garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGrumpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed here for a week from 1st to 7th June as we were getting married in Malta, although not at the hotel. Upon our arrival we were given welcome drinks and the check in process was quick and easy. We were taken to our room and were greeted by a bottle of chilled sparkling rose and a beautiful mini dessert platter, presumably as a special welcome prior to our wedding! Our bags were quick to follow, brought to us by the eternally helpful concierge, Martin.

We were part of a large family group and everybody appeared to have been given great service. The room was classically decorated, clean and had everything we needed. The view over the gardens from our balcony was spectacular. The spa facilities were second to none, with beautiful indoor and outdoor pools, a jaccuzzi, sauna, steam room, excellent & fully equipped gym and also an array of treatments available. You do need to book treatments well in advance though, as the hotel Spa is used by hotel guests and locals alike. I had my wedding hair done at the hairdressers by a girl who's name I sadly can't remember in full, though she said it was 'Terri' for short. She did the hair of all 3 bridesmaids and my Mother too and we were all so impressed- really nice modern styles.

We ate at the Rickshaw oriental restaurant and enjoyed cocktails in the Caprice lounge- the strawberry daquiri being the resounding favourite! The food was excellent with a large variety of Chinese, Japanese and Thai food to choose from. The service at both the Rickshaw and Caprice lounge were brilliant - the staff were very helpful and had good knowledge of all the food & drinks available.

I was surprised to read a negative review criticising the cleanliness and quality of food- that simply does not sound like the same hotel to me. During our stay the food, service and cleanliness were all if the highest quality and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Corinthia Palace to anyone visiting Malta. The central location also makes it perfect for visiting anywhere in Malta. We hired a car & it took us 10 minutes to drive to Sliema, 20-25 mins to Valletta and and about the same to get to Mellieha in the north. It's about 25 mins from the hotel to the Gozo ferries too. Hiring a car was useful running errands or going off sightseeing around the island- it is fairly easy to navigate from one town to the next. Usefully, the Corinthia provide a free bus service to Valletta and also St. Julians, which we took advantage of. The bus to St. Julian's drops off & picks up by the sister hotel, which is the other side of the bay to the main strip of restaurants. It's crucial to bear in mind that it's a bit of a walk between the 2 areas so leave plenty of time to get back to the bus after dinner/drinks if you do intend to catch the free bus back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleDrag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Located away from the tourist infested coastal resorts in the middle of Malta, it has lovely gardens and pool area and is close to the superb San Anton Botanical Gardens. It is a calm, serene sort of place with a touch of the Poirot about it. The hotel was clean and well run and we had a 22 month old boisterous toddler with us who put quite a few things to the test. The free shuttle service was excellent and the drivers very helpful. The concierge and staff were great and Immanuel especially helpful. Our one major concern was the quality of the coffee at breakfast - and we had to rely on the very competent Jennifer in the Orange Grove Cafe in the foyer for quality coffee. Overall, a delightful 5 star experience. To be recommended to visitors who have the style and class to appreciate it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeW96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel and we will definately never return. Minutes before check in time we recieved a call asking us to transfer our stay as they had a request to sell our room at a higher rate....obviously we could not accommodate this request since we were already on our way to the hotel. Upon arrival we were given our room which was well furnished but the bathroom and the apertures leading to the balcony are in desperate need of refurbishment as they let the room down. In the evening whilst waiting for room service to arrive we noticed cockroaches running around the room and after reporting this to reception a receptionist arrived quickly to spray them and told us to keep the bottle as they had many reportings of cockroaches at the time...i wanted to leave immediately but decided to give the hotel some more chance. Our pizza arrived and it was one of the worst pizzas i have ever tasted. Both breakfasts were very poor and bland...definately not a 5 star breakfast. The entire hotel needs a decent clean...dust everywhere and dirty curtains. The pool area is the only positive side of this hotel as it is very quiet and spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaltaOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinthia_Hotels, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thank you for your comments which we have picked up through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel in September 2010.

I was indeed very surprised to read your comments ten months after your visit, especially since for the last two consecutive years, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa was voted by travel and tourism professionals worldwide, as Malta's Leading Hotel.

Furthermore, I regularly receive letters from guests, praising our services as well as the professionalism of our personnel and we have a high Repeat Guest turnover. On a daily basis, I make it a point to personally go round all tables in the restaurants during breakfast, lunch and dinner service in order to get client feedback and ensure that all is right.

It is a pity that you did not bring the points you mentioned to my attention or to my Management team as we would have immediately done our utmost to remedy the situation. We are always willing to provide complete guest satisfaction, yet, it is unfortunate when such remarks are received after the departure of the guest, when it is too late to rectify any problems.

Please be assured that we are most responsive to comments and suggestions received from our clients as it is only through evaluations of guests like yourself that we are able to focus on specific areas in need of attention.

We sincerely hope that you will allow us to redeem our reputation and should you return to the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa in the near future, I will personally meet up with you to ensure that all arrangements are to your entire satisfaction. I would sincerely appreciate it if you would forward your contact details to me personally on my email address: italico.rota@corinthia.com.

In the meantime, thank you once again.
Italico Rota - Genearl Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We spent four days at the Corinthia Palace Hotel in January. Our booking was via Travel Republic and was a very good deal. We found the hotel to be very comfortable with excellent leisure facilities. Everything was open except the outside pool because of the time of year. The bedrooms were large. Our bed was a very generous 6’ wide and very comfortable. Breakfast choice was wide and the 1st floor breakfast room had a good ambience. We had evening meals in both the Corinthia Room and Rickshaw restaurants and enjoyed them both. The latter seemed better value for money. The only downside to our stay was the disturbing noise of cats at night. A group of 6 or more had made the pool area their home. If you have the choice we would recommend a room at the front of the hotel and not above the pool at the back.
We found the location to be great for getting around (in a hire car) with easy access to Ndina (10 mins) and Valletta (15 mins)
Other recommendations are the Melita Restaurant/ Pizzeria/ Coffee House just across the road next to the Botanical Gardens – and the Gardens themselves.

Room Tip: Rear rooms may suffer from noisy cats at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gordonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Very nice hotel in in pleasant residential area - however in the flight path of Malta airport - so quite noisy around the pool - hotel would need renovation and various facilities (gym, SPA, pool) are not up to standard any more - service in the restaurants at times not up to standard

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uhkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,822 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,313 reviews
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,104 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range: £90 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing