We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We booked this hotel as it appeared to offer a relatively quiet location but with plenty of amenities and good transport links - we were not disappointed.
The Hotel bedrooms are perhaps a little dated and there are certainly more modern and luxurious 5 star places to choose from but the Corinthia proved to be a big hit with us.
The Corinthian Room (main restaurant) provided beautifully presented and excellent quality food although there are other restaurants available to choose from which provided plenty of variety.
We had interconnecting rooms (a double and a twin) that were fine. If we had any criticism, it would be that whilst our bed was exceptionally comfortable, the children’s beds seemed to dip in the middle but they were not too bad and the kids slept well.

The Corinthia Palace has many great features; the wonderful pool, the lovely cocktail lounge, the spacious rooms and the great food. However, perhaps the single most impressive thing that we noticed was the attitude of the staff.
Before we arrived, we had discussions with Curran Buhagiar who courteously and efficiently arranged airport transport for us. Throughout our stay he and his colleagues were incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive. The restaurant staff, the servers around the pool, the maids and everyone just wanted to make our stay memorable – and they succeeded.
We used the cocktail lounge most evenings prior to our meal and one of the Staff, Stephanie was just so happy and friendly that you couldn’t help but enjoy your evening.
My wife used the Spa for a massage and was a little disappointed with the ‘lack of ambiance’ in the treatment room which was very light– but the actual treatment was fine.
Overall, we all had a great time and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.
Thanks to all the staff at the Corinthia Palace.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    371
    106
    31
    10
See reviews for
213
816
52
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was our first time staying at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.
We found the staff very helpful indeed and were willing to help with any request we had. Martin was exceptionally helpful and willing to give advice.

Our room looked out over the front of the hotel and afforded us an opportunity to see fireworks going off every night as there was a local Festa on during our stay.

The hotel is away inland but is actually only about 15 minutes from Valletta. The courtesy bus was able to bring us in and out of Valletta. The bed in our room was massive with everything we needed, tidy and cleaned daily. The pool area is quite big with two levels and also there is an indoor pool also. The pool side restaurant serves food from 12:30 onwards and the food is decent enough. The Pizza Pasta restaurant is a nice place to eat in the evening time. We went there when we arrived on the first night of our stay.

If you fancy something oriental then try the Rickshaw Far Eastern Restaurant

Buying water at the hotel was expensive enough (€4.50 for 75cl). The local beer is not as dear as the imported brands and, to be honest, the Cisk larger is quite nice to drink.

One gripe is that there is no free wi-fi in the hotel which was most odd considering it is a 5 Star Hotel. However, you can buy Internet time if you wish.

Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicalmayoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We decided on this hotel based on the info supplied by Secret Escapes.

After arriving on time we found that the hotel had lost our booking and asked us if we were sure we had the right hotel until we produced the booking form and full payment slip.
After 30 mins wait we were told that they had found the booking and a room was ready;no apology. On arriving at the room we found it clean and comfortable; we had to go back to reception 20 mins later to ask for a in-room safe key and remind reception that our luggage still hadn't been sent to the room; it was still in the doorway of the hotel.

The safe in the room will fit your passports, cash and phones. Nothing else!

The pool, azure and pizza restaurants are very good and the the young staff are very efficient and polite.

My wife and I booked two separate massages in the the spa which looked very nice. On completing my massage the masseuse informed me she had not given me the massage I had booked, lucky for me I don't have any allergies or skin conditions.

36 hours ago we put some items in the laundry service and guess what they can't find them; hopefully tomorrow.

We had dinner tonight in the corinthia 5 star restaurant; food was ok but 3 waiters trying to serve 25 guests was somewhat like faulty towers. The ambience was set by a middle aged gentleman playing the piano, unfortunately he only new 8 song and repeated them 3 times while we had dinner..

We were hoping to enjoy this break as it was our 9th wedding anniversary, what should have been 7 very relaxing days has had a number of issues that should never had arisen.

I travel approximately 200k a year for business and lucky enough to stay in some lovely 5 star hotels around the world.

The Corinthia Palace is not 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Very nice old style hotel. Comfortable rooms. Breakfast could do with a bit more variety - same fare for seven days. Not in a central location but this is not a problem as the public transport is efficient.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day stay at Corinthian Palace Hotel. We had a pleasant stay. Our only disappointment was the service in the Corinthia Restaurant on our last night. We had been there an hour and a half and hadn't received our main course, other tables seemed to be waiting forever too. We didnt stay for dessert. We expressed our disappointment to the restaurant manager who kindly adjusted the bill but there was a degree of disorganisation it seemed. However we went to relax and soak up some sun in Malta in pleasant surroundings, and that we definitely got!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I've recently returned from a 4 day visit to this hotel with my mother and 21 year old daughter. It fitted the bill for all of us - great, very courteous and helpful staff throughout the hotel, super gym, nice areas and restaurants around the hotel to eat/drink. We hired a car, but to be honest didn't really need to as we took advantage of the hotel courtesy mini-bus running to Valleta and St George's (daytime and evening). We had a triple room which was super - plenty of room, lovely balcony, just very slightly dated but as other reports state - this just adds to the whole charm of the hotel. Extremely comfortable beds including the third which was a 'proper' bed! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and cannot speak highly enough of the staff, location of hotel (away from the hassles of the larger towns, but easily accessible). Will certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Can only be positive about this hotel. Double room was big and bright, with nice balcony. Stayed for two weeks, and wish it could have been longer! Staff were lovely throughout. Apart from breakfast, which was very good - lots of fresh fruit for me, and very good hot breakfast for my husband (who also indulged in the sparkling wine for an occasional mimosa!) we ate only once in the hotel, in the Rickshaw restaurant, and the food there was excellent, as was the service. The hotel is brilliantly located; we hired a car and were within easy distance of everywhere on the island. Pool area is gorgeous, with plenty of comfortable sun loungers, although the ones which have their own shade would have been better, given that it was really warm and very sunny. We had a great holiday, and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 134 gets sun on the balcony in the morning, and has no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing