We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel was perfect. The location, the staff and the atmosphere.

From the moment we checked in I felt looked after and relaxed.

We spent 6 days there and I thoroughly each one of them; be it lying by the pool or touring about the island.
The bar was a great place to relax in the warm summer evenings and the staff here made the evening even more relaxed with their attentive but not overbearing service.
The room was huge, lovely bed and a great terrace to sit in the evenings or catch some midday shade.
The promptness of the taxi service was also excellent.

Breakfast had a selection to suit everyone, there was always plenty no matter what time you ate.
The breakfast rooms were both lovely and again the staff here were very helpful and attentive.

My only issue would be the price of the food my the swimming pool - a little expensive for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn_078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    381
    106
    31
    10
See reviews for
218
833
52
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent a week in this lovely hotel.The staff soooo helpful and the rooms very opulent.We opted for two single beds and were very pleased.They have courtesy buses to get you into the towns as it is a little way out but very nice and quiet.There is a shop 10 mins away where you can buy snacky things,The restaurants are great though in the hotel itself and well worth a visit.Rickshaw in particular was good value for money.Superb.Excellent breakfast the best i have had anywhere in the world and i have travelled extensively.There was nothing they didnt havre and the manager made a point of introducing himself to each and every guest.NICE

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden and was great.Just above the foyer with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne255109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have judged this hotel by it's 5 star claim. It may have been once and parts of it are still very nice indeed. The position adjacent to San Anton gardens in the centre of the island and away from to tourist hotspots is delightful. The hotel gardens, the foyer are great. The staff come across as a bunch of loyal old retainers. But it is dated and shabby. Breakfast was very nice although the breakfast room is jaded. We only ate one other meal and that was dinner in their highly rated Corinthia room - a big disappointment, We waited half an hour before we were asked to order, and the food was OK but not good value. The staff seemed very tense and rushed around, it was not a graceful experience. Our bed had hollows in it - totally unacceptable for a hotel of this type.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We sincerely regret to note that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and do please accept our sincere apologies for these shortcomings.

Guest’s feedback is an excellent gauge for us to get a true feel of customer experience and I would like to call you personally to get further details in order to enable us to focus on specific areas in need of attention.

We would greatly appreciate it if you would kindly send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com with a contact telephone number on which I can reach you and inform me of the day time that would be the most convenient for you.

Sincerely

David Woodward – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a lovely few days here at the Corinthia. The hotel is made all the more special by the absolutely lovely staff; all pleasant and professional, but (thankfully) not overwhelming. The rooms are nice and clean, if a little 'dated'. However, the air conditioning is great, and the beds very comfortable. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard, and bed linen very superior. Breakfast was okay, but nothing special. We often had to wait to be seated, but not for too long. The pool area is tranquil, but most sun lounges are in a shaded area. We ate a coupe of times at the pool restaurant, and both times it was delicious. There is a gorgeous park/gardens opposite the hotel (San Anton Gardens) to go for a stroll. One thing that did irk is the additional cost of wifi. I cannot understand why hotels still charge for this service - it is a blatant attempt to get more money from the clients. It's like charging more for a bathroom, or tv, etc. All in all though, very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurrahholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mellieha
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a holiday period so hotel was quite busy with locals. Cannot complain about room or hotel in general though it does need a bit of modernisation as it is now quite an old hotel.
The dilemma was the restaurant and the Spa. Ate at Rickshaw and this was fantastic. But dinner at The Villa was a very bad experience wherein we were presented with a buffet which included almost nothing for vegiterians, and when we asked for a salmon which was part of the buffet table but had finished without being replanished, we were served with a tastless portion which I am sure got microwave defrosted and cooked (and very badly at that).
As regards to the Spa, on arrival we were offered a voucher for a discount at the Spa which however was a joke as, as informed by the Spa receptionist herself, there was only one beauty therapist available and therefore no slots to book during the whole stay which was unacceptable considering the volume of residents.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed two nights here and can't deny that this is a very attractive hotel. I would however state that this is supposed to be a 5 star. This hotel falls short of that mark in lots of ways. I have stayed in better 4 star hotels. The rooms are very basic, way below what you would expect from a 5 star. The pool needs a good scrub and is quite shaded. The pool bar is a complete rip off. For example: As I lay on my sun lounger, the pool waiter walked around with a tray of plastic cups filled with fruit salad. "Yes please thank you". I was not expecting a billl for €4.50. The pasta/pizza place is good and we missed the barbeque as it was booked out so can't comment there. We eat in the middle restaurant (can''t think of the name, Orange Tree or something) and were the only ones in it. Ordered a pasta and a burger which took 70 mins. No joke. It was nice though. The Rickshaw oriental restaurant looks ok but not what I came to Malta to eat. The staff were very helpful, in particular the two middle aged men who took our bags. What I found a bit frustrating was that there was little else around to rival this place. It is located in what looked like quite a prosperous but residential area and there is practically nothing else within walking distance. Quite an elderly clientele aswell.
I could go into greater detail but you get the message. If you want 5 star treatment, go elsewhere. If you want expensive 4 star, feel free to book away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CianDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a very belated review, as we stayed here in June 2011! I'm on here looking at reviews of our hotel for next week, so thought I'd put a little update.

Staying at this hotel feels just like yesterday, which is surely a good thing.

The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, opposite the Presidential Palace. It takes about 30-45 minutes to get there by taxi from the airport.
Once at the hotel we were greeted at reception by some Bucksfizz. This was much appreciated (and needed) after our flight from the UK.
We were not taken to our room, but I feel uncomfortable when you are. The room was on the third floor, with a view over the front of the hotel.
The room was great. Mini fridge, nice bathroom, good aircon, and a balcony to boot.

The pool area was great. I remember the hotel mentioning something about five pools, but this isn't really true! There's two pools. One appears to be a kids pool, with the other an adult pool.
Sunbeds are first come first serve, but we never had a problem getting one. Some are in the shade, some in the sun, and of course you have a parasol to move if/when you want.
You can get food and drinks by the pool between "lunch hours" and they are nice. Drinks are good, but from what I remember the lunch menu was a bit limited.

The best bit about the hotel was the cats. :-) There are obviously a number of stray cats who choose to make the hotel their own. No one appears to mind, and people regularly feed them. Even at dinner one evening, the cats would approach the tables to get food, and no one minded. One day, we even went to a market in Marsaxlokk to get some cat biscuits. I think the cats liked them.

The food here is great. We ate here most evenings (apart from one) as the food was great and a good variety. They do themed nights, so there will be steak nights, BBQ nights, seafood nights. It's advisable to book in advance, but they're really well planned. The only thing we didn't cater for is "dressing up" for dinner. Although they didn't turn us away when I turned up in shorts. We even had room service on two nights which was lovely. It can with its own table which meant you could use the two chairs to sit on, and not eat off your lap.

There are two bus tours of the island. A north one, and a south one. The bus stop for one of them is just round the corner, and is very easy to get to. The island is so small, and it's a great way to see it all.

The fishing village of Marsaxlokk is great. Nice market along the "harbour", plenty of shops and restaurants, and lovely scenery. I was a bit disappointed with Valetta. When the tour bus went through it, it didn't look that nice so we didn't get off.

I think that's it for now. :) I would DEFINITELY recommend it again. Although the price seems to have risen somewhat. We paid £1000 for flights and hotel for a week last year, but I don't think that would cover your hotel price this year!

If there was one teeny weeny let down by the the hotel, it was that in our reservation we got free minibar and a "spa voucher". They tried to charge us for our minibar, and we didn't get a spa voucher. But this was probably just an administrative error. It was all put right in the end.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I imagine we got a cheap room due to the deal we got, but even that was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing