We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel shop, hotel tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great hotel shop, hotel tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

Clearly this was a fantastic seventies hotel but it is now seriously dated and in need of refurbishment. I was in suite 201 which was a great size with a separate lounge and large balcony. The bathroom was, however, tiny and certainly not the standard expected of a suite. It was also very very tired. The Corinthian restaurant was rather beautiful and the food good although the sweet trolley was another blast from the seventies. Hotel shop had an excellent selection of local products at a reasonable price. Staff helpful. As usual watch out for the taxi's they are still a massive rip off and let Malta down badly. If you find a decent one (and they do exist) get their number and stick with them.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We sincerely regret to note that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and do please accept our sincere apologies for these shortcomings.

Guest’s feedback is an excellent gauge for us to get a true feel of customer experience and I would like to call you personally to get further details in order to enable us to focus on specific areas in need of attention.

We would greatly appreciate it if you would kindly send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com with a contact telephone number on which I can reach you and inform me of the day time that would be the most convenient for you.

Sincerely

David Woodward – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    372
    106
    31
    10
See reviews for
213
817
52
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I had stayed at the hotel many years ago and was pleased to return to find the hotel offering its warm welcome and pleasant surroundings.

The hotel as mentioned is about half way from Valetta and Mdina and adjoins the Presidential Palace and lovely St Antons Gardens. The hotel has an excellent outdoor swimming pool with an abundance of loungers all close to the pool and the cafe bar. The staff at the pool are helpful and happily bring drinks or food to you. The food itself is acceptable, look for the specials and also as the portions are large two can share!

The rooms are good with plenty of room for clothes. The beds were very comfortable. We also had a huge balcony which was lovely to sit out. The breakfast buffet is excellent and with long opening times and a wide choice of hot and cold dishes as well as fresh pastries, bread and fresh fruit.

We tried two of the three restaurants, the Corinthia Room and Rickshaw. The Corinthia room has a lovely oldie world atmosphere with a resident pianist. 5 course dinners or a la carte is available with a good choice. The hotel has let the dress code slip which is a shame. The food was good but it is worth finding the restaurants in Valetta for a change. Rickshaw is an oriental restaurant where though it lacked ambiance though the food was surprisingly good.

There is a separate Spa which is also a health club for local people. The Spa is looking tired and unloved which is a great shame as it previously had a wonderful calm feeling and atmosphere. The tennis court is in very poor condition.

The staff are excellent and very obliging and as a place to chill for a few days and then explore, the hotel is perfect.

Aviva now run the buses on the island and are efficient and cheap. There are 5 buses with stops near the hotel to go into Valetta and Mdina & Rabat. The cost is 2.7 Euros for the day to go anywhere on the island. Great value. If you are happy to explore and use the buses you certainly do not need to hire a car. It saves a lot and does away with the worry of driving. Also look for the X3 which runs from the Airport past the hotel. The last bus from Valetta is 10:50 so lots of time for dinner! Try out one of the restaurants on the Waterfront by the cruise ship port in Valetta, good views and lots of choice.

In addition the hotel run a service to St Julians which returns at 11:00PM. check the time is reception.

Try to visit the three cities too as well as Valetta.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalmoFitandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Overall I liked this hotel, it's in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of some of the larger resorts, but well connected by the hotel shuttle and the local bus services which run until late. The rooms are large with decent air-con and the outdoor pool area is a peaceful and relaxing. I think if you go expecting 5* standards similar to London or the USA you will be dissapointed, however I think this hotel is comparable to other 5* rated hotels I have stayed in in Spain and Greece. While the service is generally good there are a few areas that could do with a polish. For example the reception staff continually answer the phone while checking you in or out which I find irritating. Also the standard of housekeeping is variable and the little cards that you place on the bed seem to have no effect on whether or not the bed linen was changed. My only other gripe is the prices in some of the restaurants - I asked for an iced coffee and was given a large one, 50cl of iced coffee was 9 Euros!!! It was nice, but not that nice. Also, while the main bar does happy hour stating half price drinks between 6-7pm I was charged on a 2 for 1 basis which offered a much lesser discount. Would I stay again - yes, but I'd avoid the iced coffee!

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother paying extra for a pool view in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexy350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We sincerely regret to note that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and do please accept our sincere apologies for these shortcomings.

Guest’s feedback is an excellent gauge for us to get a true feel of customer experience and I would like to call you personally to get further details in order to enable us to focus on specific areas in need of attention.

We would greatly appreciate it if you would kindly send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com with a contact telephone number on which I can reach you and inform me of the day time that would be the most convenient for you.

Sincerely

David Woodward – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

In September, my family and I spent 4 incredible days in Malta, also thanks to the services and quality of Corinthia Palace. The day we arrived was a special one, due to one of our family member's birthday, which was also celebrated with a welcome surprise in our room.
Everything in the hotel can be concluded with 2 words - class and tradition. The service was perfect and the closeness to the Botanical Garden, as well as the hotel's garden itself, create a special, different atmosphere from the other good hotels in Malta.
I would specially like to note the presence and professionalism of Mrs Sandra Bayliss, the Housekeeping Manager, who is constantly available and will help with pleasure in any situation. Despite the fact that the hotel is not on the sea, this is one of the places I would come back to, since it creates a special and memorable trip to the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Standard rooms look quite old, upper class rooms (more expensive of course) look way better. The swiming pool is nice, you can skip the pool restaurant (food average, the tiramisu was just a shame).
I would share the opinion of other reviewers about the 3 stars rating instead of 5 (some reasons: 45 min to get a taxi from the hotel, the lift at the reception is located after few stairs, the air conditioning stops as soon as you leave the room, decoration with red velvet and carpets from the 80's).
Last word, if you're looking for a bit of fun and lively places you'll need a 15-20 min ride from the hotel.
Next time I'll try an hotel nearby Saint Julian's.
If you should stop there, the upper class room is strongly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pebredail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We sincerely regret to note that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and do please accept our sincere apologies for these shortcomings.

Guest’s feedback is an excellent gauge for us to get a true feel of customer experience and I would like to call you personally to get further details in order to enable us to focus on specific areas in need of attention.

We would greatly appreciate it if you would kindly send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com with a contact telephone number on which I can reach you and inform me of the day time that would be the most convenient for you.

Sincerely

David Woodward – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks on a bed and breakfast basis. I would recommend that anyone considering staying here should have the half board basis as there aren't many other places to eat out nearby. The staff are very helpful and friendly although we found a few to be less so in the Pizza, Pasta et Basta restaraunt. The pool and surrounding area is well maintained and very relaxing. There is a wide choice at breakfast time. The bedrooms are spacious and clean but some of the furnishings are a little dated but it adds to the general feel of the hotel. We had a couple of bad meals which surprised us as it is a 5* hotel and is renowned for its food when we complained the chef asked to see us the next day and was extremely apologetic and asked if he could make it up to us - so that evening he cooked us a special dinner that wasn't on the menu - it was fabulous - so we can't complain as even though we had a few niggles they were rectified. We would stay here again but probably not in August as the fireworks in the nearby villages for all the different festivals were quite annoying as they would start early in the morning and then stop for a few hours in the day before starting again in the evening and going on late into the night. We travelled the Island and had a very enjoyable stay - but wish we had gone half board as we mostly ate at the hotel anyway and it probably cost us twice as much doing it that way! The manager, concierge, reception staff, pool bar staff and the chef should be commended on their excellent attention to detail and customer service. There was a lovely family atmosphere about the place and we met a lot of wonderful people around the pool - so much so that it took over half an hour to say good bye to everyone as we left and the manager came down especially to say goodbye to our daughter. We will definitely return to this hotel again if we visit Malta again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy due to the fireworks in August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had booked a suite at the Corinthia Palace and when we arrived in it, there were beetles in the bath and on the bathroom floor. Not what is expected of a 5 star hotel suite. We later learned that there had been a terrible storm the night before we arrived and this may have accounted for it, but obviously the room had not been checked. We were given another suite on request, but it was definitely not the same quality as the first. Very bland furnishings, no safe, and we were not offered any reduction in price. However the bed was huge and very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. We booked a garden view and we had a bit of scrubby earth outside our two balconies, one of which had no seats on it and was not cleaned the whole fortnight. Having got that out of my system, the hotel had a lovely reception and foyer and very pleasant pool with plenty of sun loungers, although many were in the shade for much of the day. The staff were lovely and very helpful, The breakfasts were very good and the Rickshaw and Pizza restaurants were good, but the main hotel restaurant was expensive. We waited an hour before we got an appetizer and another twenty minutes before the starter. We tried it another night and it was better service, but we thought the dishes of the day were disappointing. We were glad to have a car, as there is very little around the hotel, i.e. one other restaurant, no shops very close. All a little tired, but the staff were brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We sincerely regret to note that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and do please accept our sincere apologies for these shortcomings.

Guest’s feedback is an excellent gauge for us to get a true feel of customer experience and I would like to call you personally to get further details in order to enable us to focus on specific areas in need of attention.

We would greatly appreciate it if you would kindly send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com with a contact telephone number on which I can reach you and inform me of the day time that would be the most convenient for you.

Sincerely

David Woodward – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing