We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How refreshing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“How refreshing!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

How refreshing it is to find a hotel where the star rating is accurate!

It is an older type of hotel, and all the better for it. The rooms are (apart from the suites) all the same size and inter-room noise is non-existent, probably helped by the fitted carpets. The bedroom and bathroom are smaller than we have been used to in more modern hotels - but everything is there that needs to be there, including tea and coffee making facilities.

The staff are superb - and everyone (with one exception) seem genuinely to enjoy their jobs, and this is reflected in their attitude towards the guests.

And how wonderful it is to be able to relax in the by a lovely pool, on comfortable loungers, without unwanted music for 6 hours a day, as seems to be normal for most hotel pools nowadays.

Dining is a pleasure be it breakfast, snacks or dinner - and the dining areas are magnificent. It has been very many years since the main course at dinner was presented by the removal of a bell cloche! I have been disappointed that other 5 star dining rooms in other hotels have allowed a slack dress code to creep in - even to the extent of having guests turn up for dinner in little more than swimming shorts - this DOES NOT happen here.

It it not, perhaps, the best hotel for children but it is, in my opinion, very well suited for a genteel type of client who seeks a calm, quiet atmosphere with a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    406
    115
    31
    11
See reviews for
237
890
57
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a very pleasant hotel situated away from the buzz of Sliema/Paceville (thankfully), unfortunately it does not measure up to the standard of other five star hotels we have stayed at (not on Malta).
Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable but not luxurious - some features now dated - the main restaurant has a elegant charm to it and the 'happy hour' cocktails are highly recommended.
The pool area is very crowded, there are plenty of plastic sun loungers, but these are packed in - we expect more personal space around the pool in a five star hotel. We only booked for 2 nights and had hoped for some spa treatments - the earliest appointment was not for 4 days despite enquiring at soon as we had checked in, so no spa treatments!
We booked this as a package through Groupon and was excellent value but the package should have included fruit and a bottle of wine. We were not really bothered about these, but when we enquired we were told the hotel had had a change of policy - a bit like booking and paying for bed and breakfast only to be told breakfast was no longer included due to 'a change in hotel policy'!
We did enjoy our brief stay, but this is not a five star establishment. if you expect the full five star treatment look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleytravelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We sincerely regret to note that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and do please accept our sincere apologies for these shortcomings.

Guest’s feedback is an excellent gauge for us to get a true feel of customer experience and I would like to call you personally to get further details in order to enable us to focus on specific areas in need of attention.

We would greatly appreciate it if you would kindly send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com with a contact telephone number on which I can reach you and inform me of the day time that would be the most convenient for you.

Sincerely

David Woodward – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay in Malta to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. We chose the Corinthia as it was in a quiet location with a good looking pool area and we were looking for a relaxing break.

The hotel was very comfortable, and the staff were very polite and helpful. Our room was very large and our balcony, overlooking the garden (first floor) was large and quite private. Bed huge and comfortable. Bathroom good. Plenty of storage.

We were B&B basis. The breakfast was lovely. Great choice. Husband found cooked breakfast one of the best he has had anywhere. We ate by the pool one lunchtime and I was not impressed with the choice. Service good. We ate twice in the Hotel's "Pizza, Pasta" outdoor restaurant. This restaurant has a beautiful setting. Tables around a fountain, surrounded by trees with lights; really quite magical. Busy with both residents and locals. One night there was a local family party of around 20 of all ages which gave a great atmosphere. Food all cooked in sight of tables by very smart looking chefs in spotless kitchen. Very good choice, good service, large portions. Difficult to read the menu when it got dark!

We only found one restaurant within walking distance (the Melita, next to the Botanical Gardens. This was fine for a change; less smart than the hotel. Open all day. See separate review!). There is very little in the immediate vicinity of the Corinthia apart from the Botanical Gardens which were pleasant for a stroll round. Bus stops close to Hotel, very good service. Chemist shop 15 mins walk into Balzan.

We would happily stay at the Corinthia again. We had only a couple of small niggles; one was the very tiny wall safe, hidden behind the curtains it was awkward to reach. Not electronic, key from reception. It was only large enough for passports and cash. Also, on arrival at first look around room we could not see "tea and coffee making" which is very important to us! Found tray in wardrobe; Not quite 5 star welcome with tray ready set out and we would have appreciated the usual biscuits.

Our main problem (not with the hotel) was that Malta was having a plague of mosquitoes that week. We did not find the plug-in repeller in our room until the morning we left (in desk drawer) and we had not taken our own. OK, we did not ask at reception, but it would have been good if they had mentioned it; apparently it is listed in your "Hotel Guide" but we did not read it. As the Corinthia has gardens, lovely fountains, trees etc., it is mosquito heaven. We took repellant with us but also did not know that Malta now has Asian Tiger Mosquitos; these bite in the day so you need repellant on all the time.

All in all, a lovely hotel, great garden location; would visit again. On a longer break we would probably have hired a car, but this hotel is quite adequate to just stop in and chill out!

Room Tip: We had 132. First floor. Large room, huge bed, good bathroom. Balcony overlooked rear garden, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellGarlinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Excellent hotel situated in a quiet area, close to local bus stops with a regular service to Valletta
Lovely friendly staff, all areas of hotel immaculate. Our bedroom on third floor was excellent and the best bed I have ever slept on in a hotel any where in the world. The pool area is very good, with plenty of shade for people who find the sun a bit overpowering. We will always stay at this hotel when visiting Malta an island with so much history, and the Maltese people are very welcoming. The hotel runs a shuttle bus into Valletta three times a day, best to pre book. Taxi price is usually between 16 to 20 euros and bus fare 2:60 euros for the day anywhere. The round Malta hop on hop off bus is 15euros per person. Breakfast is very good with plenty to choose from, the Rickshaw restaurant is good also but only order one portion of items, we had the set menu each and when it came there was enough to feed a small army, simply impossible to eat it all. In the Caprice bar cocktails were 8 euros, beer and spirits same price as uk, except if having a Gin and tonic you an excellent measure of gin, not like here in uk where you can hardly see it. No complaints with this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Did not use spa but it looked really good, and hotel offers money off vouchers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our holiday in Malta.
4 course meals every evening which we were unable to fault. The staff were polite, friendly and seemed genuinely interested in you, without being overbearing.
The pool, gym, sauna and spa were fantastic.
Well worth a visit, but without the kids!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

Clearly this was a fantastic seventies hotel but it is now seriously dated and in need of refurbishment. I was in suite 201 which was a great size with a separate lounge and large balcony. The bathroom was, however, tiny and certainly not the standard expected of a suite. It was also very very tired. The Corinthian restaurant was rather beautiful and the food good although the sweet trolley was another blast from the seventies. Hotel shop had an excellent selection of local products at a reasonable price. Staff helpful. As usual watch out for the taxi's they are still a massive rip off and let Malta down badly. If you find a decent one (and they do exist) get their number and stick with them.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We sincerely regret to note that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and do please accept our sincere apologies for these shortcomings.

Guest’s feedback is an excellent gauge for us to get a true feel of customer experience and I would like to call you personally to get further details in order to enable us to focus on specific areas in need of attention.

We would greatly appreciate it if you would kindly send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com with a contact telephone number on which I can reach you and inform me of the day time that would be the most convenient for you.

Sincerely

David Woodward – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I had stayed at the hotel many years ago and was pleased to return to find the hotel offering its warm welcome and pleasant surroundings.

The hotel as mentioned is about half way from Valetta and Mdina and adjoins the Presidential Palace and lovely St Antons Gardens. The hotel has an excellent outdoor swimming pool with an abundance of loungers all close to the pool and the cafe bar. The staff at the pool are helpful and happily bring drinks or food to you. The food itself is acceptable, look for the specials and also as the portions are large two can share!

The rooms are good with plenty of room for clothes. The beds were very comfortable. We also had a huge balcony which was lovely to sit out. The breakfast buffet is excellent and with long opening times and a wide choice of hot and cold dishes as well as fresh pastries, bread and fresh fruit.

We tried two of the three restaurants, the Corinthia Room and Rickshaw. The Corinthia room has a lovely oldie world atmosphere with a resident pianist. 5 course dinners or a la carte is available with a good choice. The hotel has let the dress code slip which is a shame. The food was good but it is worth finding the restaurants in Valetta for a change. Rickshaw is an oriental restaurant where though it lacked ambiance though the food was surprisingly good.

There is a separate Spa which is also a health club for local people. The Spa is looking tired and unloved which is a great shame as it previously had a wonderful calm feeling and atmosphere. The tennis court is in very poor condition.

The staff are excellent and very obliging and as a place to chill for a few days and then explore, the hotel is perfect.

Aviva now run the buses on the island and are efficient and cheap. There are 5 buses with stops near the hotel to go into Valetta and Mdina & Rabat. The cost is 2.7 Euros for the day to go anywhere on the island. Great value. If you are happy to explore and use the buses you certainly do not need to hire a car. It saves a lot and does away with the worry of driving. Also look for the X3 which runs from the Airport past the hotel. The last bus from Valetta is 10:50 so lots of time for dinner! Try out one of the restaurants on the Waterfront by the cruise ship port in Valetta, good views and lots of choice.

In addition the hotel run a service to St Julians which returns at 11:00PM. check the time is reception.

Try to visit the three cities too as well as Valetta.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalmoFitandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,422 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,226 reviews
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,958 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing