We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another memorable visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another memorable visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Just returned after another stay here at our favourite Malta hotel,although it may be away from other peoples choices of say, a sea front hotel,we keep returning here for the peace and tranquility of every day life in the towns of Attard and Balzan.The hotel has most things you want in a good hotel,large comfortable rooms with good air con,excellent food choices,good pools and plenty comfortable sun beds,clean public areas including all toilets.The one thing though that stands out is the service and attention from all staff,the previous manager Mr Rota has moved to head office, but with the new man at the helm the standards will not alter.Outside of the hotel ,even in the non summer months numerous wine bars and restaurants are open,don't be mislead that there are no options away from the hotel,maybe you need to know where they are,but they are there.Over the road there are the lovely San Anton gardens where a nice stroll is in order,food and drink facilities are there too.The silent city of Mdina is 10 minutes by car or hotel taxi,or if you fancy a short bus journey where you can spend best part of the day,Valletta is approx the same distance,so are most places to visit,also the airport is a very short hike away so no long journey after a flight.If you fancy it shop around for a good deal or go direct with your own flights and book direct with the hotel like we always do and get a good rate from them,it's always worked out cheaper for us.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a few little extras,try to get a free upgrade or barter the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelSunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    370
    106
    31
    10
See reviews for
213
811
52
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Searching for a little late September sun brought us to Malta and the Corinthia Palace Hotel. Booked as a late season package we found it a very....very expensive week away.
The Hotel its self is a lovely building and has retained some elements of grandeur. We found the location too quiet, there was very little within walking distance, however the bus service was good and you were able to get around easily enough.

The room was a decent size with a large comfortable bed, the bathroom on the other hand was tiny. Breakfast was very good with just about everything you can imagine and plenty of it, they were also very keen to cater for my Gluten allergy although sometimes the offerings were inedible, but the thought was certainly there.

The outdoor pool was lovely and always plenty of beds up for grabs, a lot of the pool area was in shade most of the day but you could always find a sunny spot if that’s what you wanted.

A couple of things lacking, the fact there is no free Wi-Fi, only basic TV no movies or radio, no complimentary bottled water in the rooms (you can’t drink the tap water) and you couldn’t get a Mojito in the cocktail bar as they couldn’t get hold of mint!! Simple things you would expect from a 5 star hotel. On a positive note the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The best part of the holiday was our trip to Mdina which is a short bus ride from the hotel and Xlendi on the Island of Gozo.

Over all I thought the holiday was poor value for money and the hotel fell just a little short of being a 5*

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a great deal for four nights. Nice old colonial feel to the place. Staff very helpful, food generally Nice. Good bus routes to most of the island.
Spa and indoor pool area typical, but in good order. Outside pool well kept (beware mosquitoes). We paid about 60 GBP per night with breakfast. An absolute steal at that price. We would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My wife and I (with two friends) stayed at this charming 5 star hotel from 8th to 15th October 2012.

The hotel is "inland" in a really quiet setting next to the the beautiful St Anton Gardens but within easy reach of Valletta and the beautiful and old nearby towns of Mdina and Rabat.

Malta was extremely busy at this time of year with considerable traffic and crowded public transport.

However this hotel was very tranquil. The rooms were spacious enough with extra large double beds. The breakfasts were really first rate with a wide choice available. One big bonus was that the outdoor pools were still open.

Above all the staff were polite and helpful and were always on hand to give advice if required or arrange taxis.

A really pleasurable week in an old fine hotel and one I have no hesitation in recommending if you do want to get caught p in the hustle and bustle of other Maltese coastal resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The rooms were very large and comfortable, tidy and warm. Lots of utilities in the hotel and the breakfast was fantastic: two big tables with salt and sweet food and a little table with drink, there were so many kind of thes. I liked very much the welcome, with dried fruits, apple, orange and a drink.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We spent 6 nights in this lovely hotel, and we can honestly say that this is the finest hotel we have stayed in outside of Dubai! The staff from the General Manager down were simply the most polite, nicest of hotel staff we have ever encountered. Everyone spoke to us, even had conversations with some, especially the reception and waiting staff with many a laugh included! The food at breakfast time was delicious with a magnificent choice, probably the best 5* breakfast we have ever encountered. The restaurants were out of this world, especially the "Rickshaw" Chinese and Asian restaurant. Superb!! Room service was equally as good, with prompt delivery of delicious hot food.
The room was a very good size, with a huge and very comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. This hotel is not new by any means but is very well maintained, clean and above all very calm.
We also would recommend "Happy Hour" in the hotel bar, as once again exellent bar staff produced the most agreeable cocktails!! Special mention must go to Yu, the waiter in the Rickshaw and also in breakfast, for his first class service, wit and kindness. Also not forgeting Anna and Angela on reception who really went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable and happy as possible. Thank you.
We have never given a hotel 5 marks for everything before, but this hotel is definately the finest in Malta, and the Corinthia Hotel Group should be very proud of the establishment and every one of its staff.
So do not hesitate to go here, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMawby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We have stayed, with my friend, for 5 nights in this hotel.
I have booked it on a special deal and our expectations were not great as several friends were rather disappointed by their stays in Malta. I really wanted the hotel in St. Georges Bay and, thank God, I didn't get it. The St. Georges Bay one is a bit of a touristy, concrete nightmare.
This place, on the other hand, is quiet, slightly old-fashioned and rather luxurious. It is set in lovely gardens, has several gorgeous pools and our room, overlooking the gardens, was very large and had a pretty balcony with a table and chairs.

However, their best asset is their staff. Absolutely, without exception, all of them are smiling, friendly and no request seems too much trouble.
We arrived rather early and our room wasn't ready so we went to have a snack by the pool. We chatted with the lady serving there and talked about our deal. She then took it upon herself, unasked, to double check that we got our wine and fruit basket in the room.
Later, the pool waiter served me wine even though he has just shut his bar.
At breakfast, when I've only made it within 3 minutes to spare (not a morning person), the guy on hot food duty made me special pancakes.
The concierge (Emanuel) recommended some great restaurants and kept on top of our constantly changing plans by booking our shuttle bus trips (offered free by the hotel) when I forgot to do so.
The shuttle bus driver (Joseph) gave us great tips for visiting the sights and such clear directions that even a spatially challenged person like me could follow.

I am a bit of a travel junkie and don't normally revisit places - this might be the exception.

Room Tip: No idea what the other rooms are like but ours was 213.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannasinbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who frequently experience our facilities and services.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing