We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 18 April 2008

We have just returned from a ten-day stay at the Corinthia Palace which fulfilled all we had hoped for. The location is great, as it is so central, and the San Anton gardens are a delight.

We had booked half-board and enjoyed both the extensive breakfasts and dinner in the Corinthia Room, which was very good, apart from over the weekend, when we were disappointed in the quality of the food which seemed well below the usual high standard. The staff were attentive and service was good.

We started off in an unrefurbished room which was clean and absolutely fine, if somewhat tired. Unfortunately the air conditioning didn't work, but when my husbad raised the issue we were moved to a refurbished room, which had admittedly some teething problems e.g. no minibar, but we could order what we required through room service. Tony and Martin , the concierges, were really helpful.

  • Liked — calm and relaxed with good service
  • Disliked — still being refurbished
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    403
    112
    31
    12
See reviews for
235
881
55
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We had a most enjoyable week at The Corinthia Palace, returning after a two year interval. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, good choice of restaurants and first rate service. Senior management is very visible, and minor problems were sorted extremely quickly.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0bbritt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, U.K
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Myself and boyfriend visited Malta this Easter break. The hotel is nice and quiet but a bit run down. Rooms are big but bare, carpets are very old, not well kept or hoovered but generally clean rooms and have mini bar. There is wi-fi throughout the hotel but you need to buy a voucher. However, they have 2 computers near reception, where you can surf for free.

Breakfast is fantastic, though we had to pay 16Euro per head as we were on a B&B basis only.

Spa is nothing too special; a chill-out pool and a jacuzzi, not very clean though, so I was only in there for a few seconds.

Staff are very friendly, and we found this also throughout the island. We did use the tennis court which we found it to be a good facility. Ideal place if all you want is to be away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist towns and night life. Hotel runs a courtesy bus but we took the local buses, good fun but they stop running around 9.30pm.
Overall, great value, quiet place, friendly staff and with great breakfast.

  • Liked — It was quiet and far away from the tourism.
  • Disliked — carpet and spa
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank londoneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We stayed here between March 8th-15th. It is a lovely hotel, agree with some that it is slightly jaded and perhaps not what you would expect from a 5* Hotel elsewhere, but the friendly and helpful staff more than made up for this and half the hotel was under going renovation which looked good.

The Spa area is a really nice addition, especially if you have gone for a chill out. The hotel is well placed to access Valetta, M'dina and Dinghli etc with bus stops only a few hundred yards away and also the complementary shuttle service from the hotel.

The room was a really good size and cleaned really well everday with really friendly staff. Concierge could not have been more helpful.

The Rickshaw restaurant was really good, not cheap, but we were not dissapointed and again the service was excellent. The Corinthia Room looked lovely, slightly out of our price range, but we did have the breakfast in here which had a fantastic selection and set you up for the day. The Caprice Lounge is also nice and not too pricey. The Melita Gardens Restuarant/Bar/Cafe across from the hotel is brilliant, we we enjoyed really good food here at a very good price.

Overall if you can get a good deal, as we did, this hotel is an excellent place to base yourself for exploring Malta.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and their service
  • Disliked — Was very quiet but it was out of season
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MINNIHAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Corinthia Palace Hotel for a week from 08.02.08 to 15.02.08. We had a great time even though my friend sprained her ankle after a day there. The staff were very helpful and provided ice when we needed it and offered us assistance in the form of a wheelchair which we declined. They also contacted a Doctor for us so that we could seek advice re the injury. We were on B&B tarrif but ate in the hotel at night due to my friends injury. We found the Corinthia Restaurant food excellent and good value for money. We ate in the Rickshaw restaurant twice. The first time the food was quite salty but the second time it was a set menu and was lovely.

The hotel is well placed in the centre of the Island of Malta and the bus service is good. Very close to Mndina and about 20 minutes from Valletta.

The spa at the hotel is wonderful and a joy to use. Clean and well run. I recommend having a massage and using the pool.
The some of the hotel bedrooms are being renovated at the moment with new bathroom suites, carpets surtains and furnishings. Should look good when its done. It is being done when the hotel is not full so it may take time to get all the rooms renovated.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel for its staff, food and ambience.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and size of room
  • Disliked — Background aircraft noise
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easylacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

Stay here if you want a real experience of Malta instead of the touristy seaside resorts. Attard is a quiet town in the centre of the island, and we loved travelling around on the cheap local buses (which are ancient, vintage UK vehicles miraculously kept running by their owner-drivers - great fun, but don't stand behind one without holding your breath!). The hotel lays on various courtesy buses too, but the times weren't convenient for us.

The hotel itself is well-kept with friendly, helpful service (like much of Malta in our experience). The spa facilities are excellent, and the breakfast is good, though avoid the fruit salads, which looked and tasted as if they'd seen much better days - perhaps in high season that's wouldn't be the case.

There are several restaurants to choose from. We only tried "Rickshaw", an oriental restaurant where the food didn't live up to the ambience, and was a little overpriced (though bear in mind that we love our Chinese food and are somewhat picky!). The Corinthia Room restaurant looks stunning and is one of the top venues in Malta, though it was too pricey for us.

There's only really one place to eat in Attard besides the hotel, but fortunately it's fantastic. "Melita Gardens" is the other side of the road, next to the San Antonio Gardens and the presidential palace. It was recommended to us by Maltese friends in Valletta, and it includes a restaurant, cafe, wine-bar and outdoor seating area. They serve several Maltese specialities, including drinks, and it's much better value than the hotel's eateries.

We got a superb deal for the Corinthia Palace through travelrepublic.co.uk, though the standard rates look a bit high. All in all a great base for exploring Malta.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Our first visit to Malta, stayed at Corinthia Palace for 6 nights over New Year.
Staff were very friendly & accommodating - probably the best I've met in 25 years of travelling in over 30 Countries.
General Manager took time to greet guests at Breakfast (which was very good as well).
Double room was very nice with a 6 foot bed.
Indoor Swimming Pool, Gym & Sauna free of charge.
Ideally placed to drive yourself around the Island - main sights like Valletta, Mdina, Mosta are all less than 20 minutes away, and there is plenty of free car parking around the hotel.
Rickshaw Oriental Restaurant is fantastic choice & quality, and great vale for money : GBP45 for 2 including full bottle wine.
Only disappointments :
1. Cable TV was playing up and it took 2 days & 3 complaints before anyone came to look at it (and yet fixed it in minutes).
2. Whilst there are 4 restaurants, one wasn't open at all out of season, another closed at 7pm, and the excellent Rickshaw wasn't open Sun & Mon.
Would go back again and try it in Summer.

  • Liked — Friendly & accommodating staff
  • Disliked — Lack of choice of places to eat
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapple999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,903 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing