We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another memorable visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another memorable visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Visited the hotel once again in August,we are well into double figures since 2002,and each time is an absolute pleasure.New features this year include the pizza pasta being moved to the side of the lower pool,still vey nice with the pool lights on and the food as good as ever.The old area is now for worship to the sun god,this we found very good, at times we were the only ones there.Quiet and with plenty of shade if required,which it was and a shallow dip in the fountain pool as well.The service and food quality in all restaurants is still as good as ever,with breakfast being a delight to the days start.The Rickshaw has consistently been one of our favourites in Malta and with Memely and her attentive staff the standards never drop.If you can't get a good nights sleep in the double or should is say treble bed you never will,so very comfortable.The staff are too numerous to mention who aim to please and be of service suffice to say,Raymond and all San Anton room staff,The Caprice lads,Martin Manny and Matthew in concierge and Curran Anna and Ivan on the front desk deserve a special mention,and yes the pool boys who always were willing to help and assist each dayIf you want value for your money,good food and service together with the quiet and ambience of a quality hotel this is the place to stay,mix with the locals in the nearby villages and sample real life in Malta.Cant wait till next Easter.

Room Tip: The third floor has a little bit more to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa last month.
It is a particularly warming experience to receive comments such as yours, and gratifying to know that you were pleased with our efforts to provide superior service and exceptional food.
We believe that the loyalty of guests who take the time to post such feedback is our greatest asset in maintaining quality and hence I have taken the liberty of placing a copy of your review on our staff noticeboard to be enjoyed by every member of our team.
Meantime, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Corinthia Palace Hotel, your home in Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    372
    106
    31
    10
See reviews for
213
817
52
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent few lovely days in Malta and stayed at this hotel. Everything went well and the staff were very helpful. To get around we hired a car and there is a public free car park right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko_Polo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

My team and I are indeed delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and that we helped to make your stay with us a pleasant one.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and do send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com should you require any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have stayed at the Corinthia Palace Hotel three times this year already and have just booked a fourth stay there for November. This hotel was a beautiful Maltese villa which has been very tastefully converted into an hotel retaining its beauty and elegance, the main dining room is quite amazing complete with minstrels gallery. The hotel grounds are well kept and the pools very clean, a beautiful place of tranquillity extremely relaxing.
All the hotel staff are exrtremely helpful and friendly, they all have the guests best interests at heart, nothing is too much trouble - my husband developed a sore throat on our last visit and Jennifer brought hot milk and honey to the room for him - amazing, helpful service.
The food in the Corinthia room (formal) and in the Rickshaw (oriental) is superb quality and very well presented. In Summer the pool bar restaurant services, pizza, pasta around the pool, a lovely atmosphere here in the warm evenings |(informal)
The Athenaeum is a place of tranquility with pool, sauna, steam room and various treatments available, again very pleasant staff. There is a large gym with plenty of equipment to suit all fitness requirements.
Can not recommend this hotel and its staff highly enough.

Room Tip: Third floor executive rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbadosGirlFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Allow me to thank you most sincerely for the complimentary comments you kindly posted on Trip Advisor following your third stay with us this year.
We are so happy to note that you find the atmosphere, our hotel facilities, grounds and most of all, the service given by all members of our team so impressive.
I have placed a copy of your feedback on our notice board for all to read as I find that it is always a good boost for all team members, including those at the back of house.
We are extremely happy to note that you will once again be returning in November and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Corinthia Palace Hotel, your home in Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and it is highly recommended.The staff are fabulous and the hotel grounds are the best I have ever seen absolute tranquility at night with fountains and exotic plants and trees.The reception staff couldn't do more for me especially Anna and indeed all of the staff were great that is what makes a 5 star hotel in my opinion and it was lovely to add that they spoke to you by 1st name terms in the restaurant- a nice touch and I have stayed in many 5 star hotels but didn't experience the first name bit .The hotel is well out of the way so peace and tranquility are achievable,public transport is close by and taxis are available from the hotel although they are a little costly so if you can hire a car that may be a good thing,I should add that they drive on the left so this suits all UK and Ireland guests.There is a free bus to Valletta daily and the swimming pool and spa are excellent.I will return here and I met a couple who are back for the 7th time so that lets you know that they must be good.I know that the bedroom furnishings are not in keeping with a 5 star establishment but I understand that this is being dealt with during a future period of planned maintenance where room upgrades will be done.The huge bed however was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in and I at first thought it was a waterbed.The quality of food in the restaurant was good and the breakfast was also fine although I would have expected to have had waiter service for breakfast in a 5 star establishment.I will definitely return to this hotel if I am back in Malta which I think will be the case.So in summary it is money well spent for a classy hospitality experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your complimentary comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your three night’s stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is indeed pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who have experienced our hotel and we are glad to note that the hotel’s location, ambience and service were to your satisfaction.

We do hope that you return visit will be in the near future and when you have decided on dates, please do email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Having stayed at this hotel several times in the last few years, I still have mixed feelings about the place.

It is a lovely old Maltese building set in the quiet heart of the island and surrounded by the most wonderful mature gardens.

The Corinthia Palace is faded elegance in a sea of marble, until you get into one of the tiny lifts and wonder if you are ever going to reach floor three. The rooms are comfortable with huge beds and the air conditioning is pleasant and not as fierce as in many places nowadays. However, the windows betray its age and the doors and decor are starting to look dated. The pool is one of my favourite in the world and I always enjoy a lunch in the excellent pool side restaurant. Unfortunately a superb pasta salad is let down by following it with tasteless ice cream smothered in ghastly synthetic 'cream' squirted on top. This echo of the 70s is unforgivable in a top notch hotel on an island which now has superb and delicious italian style ice cream readily available on every street corner. To give the staff their due, when my wife and I returned our ice cream, they did give us a complimentary liquor as a compensation.

The evening set meal for our party of 40 (which we have had there for the last 12 years on the same date) was something of a Curate's egg: 'good in parts' and four of the party returned their fish which was clearly 'off' and should not have been served. The staff seem to have lost their edge and became very slow at replenishing glasses.

Nevertheless, we will probably return next year, even if it is just to wallow in the glorious swimming pool and its ambience.

As the Corinthia group seems to be expanding around the world, I do feel that some investment in this, their first hotel, I believe, would be money well spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We have read your comments on Trip Advisor following your most recent stay at our Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

Whilst we are pleased to note that in general our facilities and services were up to your expectaions, however we also note your constructive feedback about our food, mainly in Pizza Pasta e Basta.

Would you kindly drop me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com as I would like to appreciate further details about the food, particularly at the pool Restaurant.

In the meantime, we thank you once again for taking the time to insert your post on Trip Advisor.

With best regards


David Woodward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalkara, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Got the money like to be pampered this is where you go.enjoy the service which is second to none,staff will go out of there way to make your stay a stay to remember this hotel does not have 5 stars for nothing

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenFormosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Mr Formosa

Thank you so much for your complimentary post on Trip Advisor pertaining to the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
David Woodward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Corinthia Palace and Spa in San Anton, Malta has proven, for us, to be the oasis of peace and tranquillity that we have always looked for. We have been returning to the Corinthia for the last few years, (seven including this visit); our latest saw our return only last week.

This year sees new management team and some changes; both positive and negative. On the negative side (sort of) is the Pizza, Pasta é Basta has changed names and moved; now re-named Pizza, Pasta and Co it has moved to the side of the (I mean the very side) of the main pool, this has removed some prime sunbathing spots and squashed up the remaining sun beds. The shame is that the restaurant doesn’t seem that busy during the day at the price of losing some of the nicest parts of the pool area. However, the food is very good!

The positives are that the standards of service (without exception) are first class. The staff are attentive, respectful and all pervade that Maltese charm and character. Not to mention all the staff by name but our favourites who are worth a mention are Mario (driver), Jennifer (Waitress), Martin and Matthew (concierges) together with Ivan and Anna (front desk) all of them go out of their way to chat, offer advice, tourist information and / or help as required. This year we had a minor problem with water pressure on the first couple of days but true to form our concerns were addressed promptly and we not only given and alternative room but also an upgrade.

There are some increases in prices this year, mostly these are acceptable but there appears to be the odd financial shortcut (loo roll is lower quality… LOL) and the gym is a bit tired (machines need an update and repair).

Over all, The Corinthia Palace and Spa is an excellent hotel for those who want a quiet holiday, in beautiful surroundings with high class unobtrusive service that never ceases. We have tried other hotels in Europe and the Med but we always end up a bit disappointed as they are not as good as the Corinthia! We are already looking forward to our next visit and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for B & B as the breakfast is excellent! All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_and_Tracy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to note that in general our facilities and services were to your satisfaction.

We note your comment regarding financial shortcuts and would appreciate it if you would email me on david.woodward@corinthia.com, to give me further information.

With regards to the Spa, new equipment is on order and should be up and running within six weeks.

I have taken the liberty of placing a copy of your comments on our staff noticeboard for all to see as we feel this is highly encouraging and on behal of my team we thank you for your compliments.

Meantime, we thank you for taking the time to upload your feelings about your recent vacation at our Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

David Woodward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing