We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings about this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
2 reviews
“Mixed Feelings about this one!”
Reviewed 9 October 2008

First impressions in the public/reception areas were great and the staff very professional, friendly and helpful. Pool lovely but let down by shabby sunbeds, umbrellas and towels. Bedrooms well equipped but, again, decor and furnishings very 'tired'. We moved rooms after 1 night due to the noisy equipment on the roof above us, spent the next night in a makeshift room. Our 3rd (and final) room was refurbished and in much better order.

So, by day 3 we were settled in. We ate twice in the hotel and enjoyed the meals, however, we prefer eating out in Mdina and Valletta restaurants which are varied and serve wonderful food. The Corinthia's location is in between the 2 towns (residential suburb) and probably suits people who just want to stay at the hotel and use the pool/spa/restaurants/etc. We didn't so we would stay in Valletta if we visit Malta again.

  • Liked — Professional, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Having 3 rooms in first 3 nights.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skibunnysunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    399
    111
    31
    11
See reviews for
228
869
53
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Being very fussy,and having spent enormous time making sure
the Hotel was above average;it CERTAINLY was!
Contary to its own opinion,its not a 5star,but a very good 4star,its not a 3star according to this site.
1st of all,Malta is a most beautiful Country,totally uncommercialised,anywhere within 5miles of the two biggest Cities Valetta and St.Julians is soooo peaceful and soo relaxing,soo clean and soo crime free;complimented by really nice people;totally to the contary of my opinion of Malta growing up,fabulous spot for romantic,and quiet get aways;even the Big cities are'nt bustling,yet just nicely busy and very comfortable to walk and browse around.
The Hotel...fabulous service,very experienced staff,large hotel,so lots of room to sit quietly and do what ever.
The rooms,Mmmm...make sure you ask for a newly refurbished room,otherwise you won't feel the comfort,despite this,its still a very good 4star.(I asked for a better room & got it...Thank You Italico!!)
The pool area,very well supervised,waiter service,very clean and quite beautiful,with an eatery on campus,which is really nice and lovely to sit and enjoy the ambience.
Mr Italico Rota,the GM,a very fine Gentleman,and knows the true meaning of Service and making you feel Welcome and appreciated;he's such an old pro,talk to him if something really bothers you,and he'll correct it in minutes! His attitude is very impressive,signs on he's such a long time in the Business!
Food: The main dining room...just good;the Pool side eatery...very good; the Pizza and Pasta alfresco Restaurant...Excellent and fabulous ambience,inexpensive at 25euro per person incl.a Caraffe of house wine.The Chineese restaurant...lovely room,superb service,but we had a very bad meal;while others said they had the oppisite;not expensive at about 30euro incl.wine.
Food all over Malta is really good,for fine dining on average,35euro incl.bottle of Vino.
My only complaint and disapointment would be....The front facade of the hotel,which is of beautiful old stone,needs cleaning,and from the entrance to the hall doors,needs a major Weeding job!! I love attention to such detail!

Very convenient to local Cities and villages,on average 15mins by Local Bus at a price of 42cent per journey per person to
most places;St.Julians is just another short Bus journey.Taxi back after 9pm is on average 17euro,But but but,I found a guy whom I retained for the week,for 12euro;speak slowly to him and ask him to do it for 12euro and he will...ring [--];he works for a cab company in Valetta,but will do it on the QT! (can't make out his writting of his name..sorry)
Do the Gozo excursion,well worth it,and the Malta experience..brilliant! Don't do the trip of the Harbour...not worth it and not a good quality excursion!

Highly recommend the Corinthia Palace (for value especially)
and Malta is sooo relaxing and very beautiful!

  • Liked — very comfortable and above average
  • Disliked — untill we got upgrade
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualitygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

The hotel is very old!!!!
It looks like they are making fun of you saying it is a 5 star!!!
Maximum 3 star. I think Malta tourist authorities should exercise more supervision over their hotels.
Everything is very old and fast broken.
The only thing reasonably good was mattresses.
Breakfast also was acceptable, though not a 5 star.
Bathroom was the worst part of it.
Unfortunately I could not photograph towels in the room (there were holes in them) and spoons at the breakfast (there were stains). But I have made enough photos of other things, please have a look before staying.

  • Liked — mattrass, breakfast
  • Disliked — room and bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wander5r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I have just come back from a business trip to Malta. The weather was very very hot. However I was never uncomfortable in the hotel. It was cool and not freezing like you get in some air-conditioned fridges. The breakfasts were fine, catering for everything from the healthy (fruit and yoghurt) to the cholesterol-rich fried varieties you want for that diminuendo English regime, much-loved by Brits abroad.

The hotel pool is within easy reach and you can choose your sun-bed in the shade or in the full glare of the sun. My room was clean; had a balcony and was cleaned every day by nice, polite, eager-to-please staff. English-speaking satellite TV with all the news channels was also available. I recommend it!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Spinoza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2008

We have just returned from a ten-day stay at the Corinthia Palace which fulfilled all we had hoped for. The location is great, as it is so central, and the San Anton gardens are a delight.

We had booked half-board and enjoyed both the extensive breakfasts and dinner in the Corinthia Room, which was very good, apart from over the weekend, when we were disappointed in the quality of the food which seemed well below the usual high standard. The staff were attentive and service was good.

We started off in an unrefurbished room which was clean and absolutely fine, if somewhat tired. Unfortunately the air conditioning didn't work, but when my husbad raised the issue we were moved to a refurbished room, which had admittedly some teething problems e.g. no minibar, but we could order what we required through room service. Tony and Martin , the concierges, were really helpful.

  • Liked — calm and relaxed with good service
  • Disliked — still being refurbished
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We had a most enjoyable week at The Corinthia Palace, returning after a two year interval. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, good choice of restaurants and first rate service. Senior management is very visible, and minor problems were sorted extremely quickly.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0bbritt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, U.K
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Myself and boyfriend visited Malta this Easter break. The hotel is nice and quiet but a bit run down. Rooms are big but bare, carpets are very old, not well kept or hoovered but generally clean rooms and have mini bar. There is wi-fi throughout the hotel but you need to buy a voucher. However, they have 2 computers near reception, where you can surf for free.

Breakfast is fantastic, though we had to pay 16Euro per head as we were on a B&B basis only.

Spa is nothing too special; a chill-out pool and a jacuzzi, not very clean though, so I was only in there for a few seconds.

Staff are very friendly, and we found this also throughout the island. We did use the tennis court which we found it to be a good facility. Ideal place if all you want is to be away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist towns and night life. Hotel runs a courtesy bus but we took the local buses, good fun but they stop running around 9.30pm.
Overall, great value, quiet place, friendly staff and with great breakfast.

  • Liked — It was quiet and far away from the tourism.
  • Disliked — carpet and spa
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank londoneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,353 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,155 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,833 reviews
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing