We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice -but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice in the past month for business. The setting is quiet, the staff and service are excellent but the décor is outdated and is not 5 star standard. I had room service one evening following late working and it didn't quite hit the spot. In the main restaurant the food and service were excellent but it was very quiet and lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tabletopeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your recent business trip at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is indeed pleasing to get positive feedback from guests who have experienced our hotel. With regards to your comments towards décor, we do tend to keep the charm of our rustic Corinthia throughout years, giving it updates constantly.

I hope that you return in the near future and when you have decided on dates, please do email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hi, this group of hotels are giving customers a very good service, good prices and yes a smile.
It is difficult to stay ahead on an island but this group indeed do try!
The Directors listen to the Staff and progress is and hopefully will continue.
Good locations and such a pleasure.
Dr Michael Perry.

Room Tip: Sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank michaelphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Dr Perry,

Thank you for your complimentary comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is indeed pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who have experienced our Corinthia Hotels Internationally.

I hope that you return in the near future and when you have decided on dates, please do email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spent 10 days at the Corinthia Palace hotel with my 3 girls (ages 12,8,6) and here are my views;
Lovely hotel that could definitely do with renovation/ modernisation. The staff overall are very nice and professional. Special mention to Elena the cleaner. Amazing lady. We would leave the room looking like a bomb site and come back to it looking calm and neat. The girls loved her and she was always happy to see them and that added to their wonderful experience of Malta. Only negative with regards to staff is the reception staff were always a hit and miss in terms of politeness and helpfulness!
With regards to the room, we had a suite. Needs modernising for sure and the bathroom for a suite was way too small. The extra beds are the most uncomfortable i have been on and I had to sleep on one as children refused to sleep on them.
Pools, tennis court, gym, sauna, relation area are all excellent facilities.
The Rickshaw restaurant is also nice and the staff are lovely. Only slight whinge is that it is very expensive but i guess its a case of paying for quality. (2 prawns, 3 fried rice and ribs) take away came to over 70 Euros. Expensive take away! :-)
Breakfast is really nice but sometimes had to queue but it was never a long time. we discovered on the last day that you could order pancakes. We had them and they were delicious! When we went to Sicily for the day, we had to leave at 5.15am and we had a small breakfast of boiled eggs and pastry delivered to us which was great
Shuttle buses to Valetta and the other Corinthia hotels was very useful but we later rented a car to get about a lot more.
There is a little shop in the hotel that books tours, organise car hire amongst other things. The ladies in there are fantastic and cant do enough to help you. 1 particular lady (Sorry i cant remember her name) is amazing. Thank you to her.
A nice hotel but please modernise the rooms and front of the hotel to make it even nicer.

Room Tip: Book the shuttle buses on time! Local buses are good so make use of them when there is not enough s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OATMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We have read your review on Trip Advisor following your recent 10 days visit to the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa and thank you most sincerely for your kind comments.

My team and I are indeed delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit in particular our facilities, found our courtesy bus useful and most importantly Staff especially Elena and Rickshaw to your satisfaction. Your feedback towards prices at Rickshaw have been noted.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and do send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com should you require any assistance.

Thank you once again.
David Woodward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We travelled with friends for a long weekend and all said how brilliant the hotel and staff were. We had executive rooms on the third floor which were really spacious and the beds were huge and so unbelievably comfy! We stayed on a b&b basis and there was lots of choice at breakfast with the lovely waiters ensuring there was always enough tea and coffee. I can't comment on the food overall as we never stayed in for dinner.

We were celebrating our friends birthday and when I asked the hotel to help make it special they were amazing. We arranged airport transfers with the hotel in a vintage car which I highly recommend. Very professional and friendly driver! Not only that but the hotel organised a very delicious birthday cake to be delivered to our friends room. She certainly had a memorable birthday and we can't thank the hotel enough.

The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to some of the main towns which is brilliant and convenient but make sure you remember to book in advance because places are limited. The concierge staff are brilliant and super friendly. They organised restaurant bookings for us, recommended places for us to visit and organised jeep hire for us to explore the island and Gozo! Excellent fun which I would recommend.

Finally, the hotel have two hour happy hour in the evening which is a great way to start the evening. We were there most nights and the staff were brilliant. The nibbles with the drinks is a nice touch so definitely start your evening in there!

Thank you again to all the staff for a brilliant stay. We will definitely be back and our friends are even planning their family holiday there for next year. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which we have picked up through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel.

It is always pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who have experienced our facilities and services, and we are delighted that we helped to make your stay with us comfortable and relaxing, and also a special one for your Friend.

I’m delighted to know that you found our beds comfortable, shuttle bus convenient and Concierge service to your entire satisfaction.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and in the meantime, thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me on david.woodward@corinthia.com should you wish to come back.

Thank you once again
David Woodward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a 10 day holiday at this wonderful hotel and we can truly say we completely relaxed and the staff ( each and every one ) did their best to ensure that any questions or queries were answered or actioned. No complaints regarding the executive rooms, complementary mini bar and a lovely view overlooking gardens.

We dined in all restaurants and enjoyed the happy hour in the Caprice bar.

So thank you every single member of staff for making our holiday so special and will return again soon.

Room Tip: Executive room 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your 10 days stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We are so happy to note that you had a holiday which was so relaxing and peaceful.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Should you be returning to our hotel, please email me on david.woodward@corinthia.com

Thank you once again

David Woodward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent a very relaxing week here in a quiet suburb 15 minutes from Valetta, the hotel staff were charming, facilities good, and near to local bus stops. Malta is a fabulous place for a holiday with climate and history ideal for a summer break, and the hotel is excellent, had a lovely meal in Rickshaw Restaurant, and a couple of good value meals in the Summer Kitchen. Also enjoyed a day at sister hotel in St. George's Bay so could swim in the sea. No quibbles really except some rooms are near main road and sometimes slow to get coffee refill at breakfast, we would love to return

Room Tip: Rooms 101-120 may be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Corinthia Palace Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor.

It is a particularly warming experience to receive comments such as yours, and gratifying to know that you were pleased with our efforts to provide superior service, and found our facilities to your satisfaction.

We are glad to have the opportunity of welcome you back in the near future. Please drop me an e-mail on david.woodward@corinthia.com should any assistance be required.

Thank you once again

David Woodward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

When we first arrived we were extremely disappointed with the view from our room which was of a large flat roof, not "a view of the hotel’s beautiful gardens" as we were promised. We complained and were moved the next day. Our new room overlooked the hotel bar and also a noisy road. The hotel also appeared to be on a flight path.

The rooms are generally in need of updating. They looked shabby and tired. In our room the bathroom door would not shut or lock, we had to wedge it shut with the bin. Towels were old and the drains smelt terribly.

Our biggest issue was with the number of unruly children at this hotel. We chose this hotel on the basis that it would be a "great relaxing spa break and Idyllic Maltese escape" and were extremely disappointed by the number of children running around, generally being disruptive, loud and whose parents didn't seem to care. At one point guests on the sun bed next to us changed their child's nappy on the sun bed and allowed their other two children to use their potties poolside. Not exactly what we had in mind for a 5* star tranquil break. We complained to management who explained that this was because the hotel was busy. I did however expect for him to monitor this is the future and suggest that staff ask guests to use appropriate changing facilities and generally ask their kids to be respectful of other guests. Out of the 7 days, we only experienced 1 quiet/peaceful day by the pool. To add to this, one evening when we returned to our room for a pre-dinner nap, the hotel was hosting a child's party. The music was incredibly loud as was the shrieking voice of the host. This is not what I would expect from a 5* hotel.

In addition, the poolside bar was mediocre, as was the food. We asked for a cocktail which was not on the menu and were told that we could not have it (even though we had it the night before in the hotel bar).

A huge disappointment. We will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your 1 week stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

We sincerely regret to note that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and do please accept our sincere apologies for these shortcomings.

I would greatly appreciate it if you would kindly send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com with a contact telephone number on which I can reach you and inform me of the day time that would be the most convenient for you.

Thank you once again
David Woodward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,880 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,353 reviews
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,158 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel

Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range: £92 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the island of Malta, adjacent to the Presidential Palace and public San Anton botanical gardens, the 147-room five-star Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa exudes authentic grace and classical charm. The Villa Corinthia, a century-old restored residential villa, is the main restaurant and social event venue, where warmth, personal attention and traditional elegance abound. Guests can also enjoy The Summer Kitchen, our seasonal al fresco brasserie or a cocktail at the Caprice Lounge prior to dining at the exclusive Far Eastern restaurant Rickshaw, where Asian tastes are passionately served. The Athenaeum Spa provides its guests with an extensive range of wellness facilities, complete with a wide selection of revitalising treatments where precision is the call of the day, a fitness centre, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing