We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly plush yet relaxed - an absolute gem...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We had a very relaxing 4-day stay there between Xmas and New Year and can't say enough good things about this gorgeous hotel. The staff were all extra helpful, and went out of their way a few times to make sure we were happy. A few things stood out:

1. Exceptional breakfast - excellent choice, great quality ingredients, eggs made to order, all in a marvellously grand ballroom - great start to the day!

2. Great facilities - everything you could ask for, including an excellent gym and spa (I didn't have any of the treatments though, just used the steam room so I can't vouch for those).

3. Little touches - things like a free bus to and from Valletta and Sliema every day made a big difference to our stay.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Corinthia Spa - I'm even thinking about making another trip there this year...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TallulahBelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

My wife and myself have recently returned from an 11 day stay at this stunning hotel over Christmas.Where do I begin ? Here goes . Staff - from the General Manager through to the maintenance guys they were all incredible,nothing was too much trouble for any of them they couldn't do enough to help and they never failed to say hello with a smile. My wife who, suffers with fairly serious mobility problems was looked after like the crown jewels. Two waiters in particular Joseph and Louis even came out of the dining room to take her arm and assist her to our table and they made sure she had a suitable chair. We ate in The Rickshaw restaurant on two occasions which was down three flights of stairs. One of the young waitresses (Sophie) even made the return trip back upstairs much easier for us by taking us up in the staff lift .The Operations manager Charlot did everything he could do to make our stay memorable even arranging complimentary wine on our wedding anniversary.On our arrival late at night we met a very friendly amenable young barman (Matthew) who welcomed us with open arms. The following day we met the main barman of the Caprice Lounge (Lizio) who was a super guy. Again nothing was too much trouble. Bedrooms - We had what was classed as a Standard Room it was fabulous with a seven foot wide bed, the furniture was top quality and all the facilities were A1. My wife says the bed is the only hotel bed she has ever slept in which has never caused her back pain. This shows the quality. The towels were changed daily as was the bedding if you required it. It was up to us when we requested a change of bed linen. The tea and coffee making supplies were renewed daily. There was no charge for the TV remote - lots of channels to choose from including English news not just BBC World so we were able to keep up to date with the snow and ice at home while we were enjoying the mild, sunny weather (24deg on Christmas Day !)

The public rooms ie The Caprice Lounge, The Orangery and the Reception Area were all striking in their own way- the furniture and fixtures and fittings were beautiful.
The Corinthia Room is the main restaurant - words can hardly do it justice when trying to describe it ,it has to be seen to be believed .
The San Anton Room is the breakfast dining room and is a bright light lovely room .The Rickshaw Chinese Restaurant is a very chic room with wonderful decor.

We were on a half board basis plus we paid for Christmas Eve Gala dinner and the Christmas Day Buffet Lunch.I can only say that you didn't just have a meal in the Corinthia Room it was a total experience ,the surroundings, the service and the food all made it very memorable. The quality of the food was exceptional and it was obvious that great care was taken over the presentation of the imaginative menu. Main courses were brought to the table covered in silver domes which were removed with a flourish by the friendly, professional waiters. On Christmas Eve, two ladies arrived at our room to turn down our bed (we hadn't paid for this service) and left us mince pies.

The Spa and indoor pool (The Athanaeum) were an added bonus. Fresh towels were given every time you used the pool at no charge to residents.

The location of the hotel is excellent - opposite the San Anton botanical gardens which are part of the presidential palace and open to the public. A lovely stroll on a sunny day.
A return to this magnificent hotel is a must and my wife and myself will do eveything possible to do so.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikePlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

The biggest bed I have ever slept in. Four nights and I still hadn't used all the surface area! This hotel is comfortable with all the luxuries of five star. And the room smelt good too. No nasty lingering smoke odour. So important for a good ambience. It's fine for a lone traveller. Friendly and unpretentious. Good food, great breakfasts. It is in a really quiet area so no traffic noise and the gardens and pool area are stunning. Spa was a bit disappointing. The pool not big enough to swim in if you are a serious swimmer and the steam room was tatty. It's easy to travel all over the island from the hotel as the bus stops are in walking distance and everyone is happy to help if you are not sure which bus goes where. All the staff were ever helpful too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janechaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed for a week on room only basis.
Good size room and very clean.
Air con did sometimes blow smoke into room even though we had a non smoking room.
Hotel is situated in a fairly quiet residential area although there is a road around two sides of the hotel so there is traffic noise.
Hotel restaurants were not all open when we stayed and those that were were formal requring jacket and or tie.
Room service was good value although there were only about 4 dishes available.
Opposite the hotel there is a cafe/bar/pizzeria which suited us better but there is nothing else in the vacinity of the hotel.
Swimming pool inside is only available to children from 8 till 1030 in the morning. Pool is a good size and when we were there was mainly used by ladies over 60 who just walked up and down in it. Outside pool seemed too cold to use.
We hired a car - there is a free car park opposite hotel but only about 5 spaces within the hotel grounds. The hotel provides a free coach that runs about 4 times a day to the capital but taxis are expensive (was told is a bout 20 Euros to Valletta). Normal bus drops off near hotel (about 0.5 Euro from Valletta) and there is a hop on hop off sightseeing bus that also stops by the hotel so you could use this. Is about 15 Euros for adults and is about 3 hours. If you have children car is probably worth it even if not for every day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qwerty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The hotel itself is beautiful, especially the Corinthia room where breakfast is served, and the reception area. The room itself was nice but nothing extraordinary, housekeeping was to a very high standard though. Buffet breakfast was really nice with a large choice, and friendly staff on hand with tea and coffee. Choice of food was limited in the evening and expensive, but the Melita restaurant just across the road was really nice and not too expensive. The pool area was relaxing with plenty of loungers. The courtesy bus was very useful with a friendly helpful driver. The Caprice lounge was superb in the evenings with a relaxed atmosphere, large choice of drinks and live piano. Only downside was the attitude of the receptionist on our arrival as we had booked through a 'bargain' website and didn't have credit card details for the booking. We were treated rather frostily, unnecessarily, as we paid all extras by cash and this did not cause a problem (would attitude have been the same if we booked through a top 5 travel agency??)!
All in all an excellent holiday.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank darkivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Lovely looking hotel online but a closer look outside shows that it is a little shabbier than you might expect. Lovely foyer, very clean, nice big rooms, huge bed and good shower (although bathroom tiny). Food was very expensive and in general not that great, unless you ate in the Corinthia restaurant, which is fine for a special occasion but could be a little heavy every night. Outdoor pool lovely but the poolside restaurant was ridiculously overpriced and the food was no better then mediocre. Very nice gym, lovely spa and nice staff - in short a hotel that has many of the amenities you'd expect from a 5 star and that has many positives but a few things really let it down.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViajeraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We're a couple in our early thirties and stayed at Corinthia Palace for a week in July. The hotel was very clean, service was friendly and everything was made to meet any request we had. Only downside was the location. There is not too much around San Anton and public transport was not always convenient, although the Hotel Courtesy van alleviated that problem somewhat. Would happily recommend the hotel but we do not think that it quite measures up to a five-star. A reasonbly four-star is our view. /Happy couple, London.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,974 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,347 reviews
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,414 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel

Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range: £87 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the island of Malta, adjacent to the Presidential Palace and public San Anton botanical gardens, the 147-room five-star Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa exudes authentic grace and classical charm. The Villa Corinthia, a century-old restored residential villa, is the main restaurant and social event venue, where warmth, personal attention and traditional elegance abound. Guests can also enjoy The Summer Kitchen, our seasonal al fresco brasserie or a cocktail at the Caprice Lounge prior to dining at the exclusive Far Eastern restaurant Rickshaw, where Asian tastes are passionately served. The Athenaeum Spa provides its guests with an extensive range of wellness facilities, complete with a wide selection of revitalising treatments where precision is the call of the day, a fitness centre, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing