We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet oasis away from hectic Chaweng - good for couples and families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“quiet oasis away from hectic Chaweng - good for couples and families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

PLUSES: attentive and responsive STAFF. In particular, Two individuals at the front desk, Golf and Apple (yes, that IS their names!). The RESORT is very quiet/tranquil, maybe 20-25 minutes from airport, and away from the mayhem of Chaweng yet near jumping off point for trip to Full Moon Island if that is your thing. Resort is also very close to the one 18 hole golf course on the island. I found room service menu and FOOD to be good. Breakfast buffet had good variety and also an egg/omelette station made to order. ROOMS are huge with kitchen area, dining room, Couch/TV area, large bedroom, etc Very comfortable for couples, probably even more useful for families of 4. Pool view rooms have nice view of lush landscape on horizon. Regular FREE transport from resort to Chaweng (and return) every 4 hours or so. One convenient thing is that they drop you at their sister property at one end of Chaweng, and you can charge food and drinks there to your own room, too! From the drop point, you can walk the length of the beach to the more active end of beach. Probably a good 2 kilometer hike past all kinds of resorts and people enjoying the beach. Taxis also ply the path on the road behind the beach, helpful for tired feet and long days, but expect to pay $3-$7 even for the short trip along Chaweng depending on your negotiating skills.

MINUSES: be careful in the resort pool. A bit awkward getting in and out, and it has rough edges and tiling that can scrape you up if you are not careful. It did me!

TOSS UP: they do have private transport in vans available if you want to schedule other trips separate from the free shuttle to Chaweng. It's nice to have, and drivers are friendly and timely. But cost can run you $12-$17 per EACH way. Convenience and peace of mind vs cost. You choose.





Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    114
    37
    7
    13
See reviews for
83
150
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My friends and I got the 2 bedroom pool villa. There was ample space for us. Unlike some hotels who claim that they have pool villa but just to find out it is a small plunge pool. This pool can fit 2 air mattresses and still move around comfortably. The rooms and toilets (I'm very fussy with bathrooms and toilets) are really clean. Downside is that only one of the bathrooms has shower head while the other is a bathtub. I can't lift up the shower head in the bathtub to take a quick shower. So I had shower in another room. The service was splendid! We ordered Pizza Hut delivery. The hotel staffs removed the pizza from the boxes and arranged them nicely on plates then delivered to our villa with cutleries. We were unable to lock the gates and living room though so we had to lock our bedrooms at night. We also discovered an empty room next to the living room on the last day of our trip which has been left vacant for quite awhile it was really dusty and there was a dead lizard that made us feel a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanneissmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Having read all cheerful reviews decided to choose this hotel as an option for a long stay in Thailand. Upon check-in we were taken to a large room by a friendly receptionist. However, this was the end of our positive experience. The room was very untidy, traces of killed mosquitoes on the walls, old dirty curtains, somebody's hair in the bathroom, cigarette's end in the corner of the toilet, piles of dust under refrigerator and beds, spiders web on windows behind the curtains, rubbish on the floor of the balcony. The furniture was old, the shelves in wardrobes falling out of rails, instead of handles we found screws popping out...What was the worst thing was the old sofa with the traces of somebody's vomit (the last room on the ground floor in the building facing the pool). My wife ran out of the room crying and asking to leave immediately. The receptionist in a less friendly mood offered us to move to another room, which was a bit better, but still had traces of many people leading a very cheerful party life on walls and furniture. I thought that tipping of the cleaning personnel might change the situation, but that did not help in any way. My wife ended up cleaning the room on a daily basis, we had even had to go to the Tesco supermarket to buy Fairy and Scoopas. The carton boxes from the supermarket stayed outside the door of my room for 3 days until I moved them out to the swimming pool area.
The service was amazing. The smiles and even the very people were often disappearing when some problem arose. In order to get the name of the manager my wife had to go 3 (!) times to the Kirikayan hotel in Chaweng as the reception in both hotels was kicking her put in all possible directions. The spaghetti for my son took 45 minutes to cook. While we were waiting I asked for a pen and a piece of paper for him to draw, the reply in 10 minutes came that "sorry, we don't have any". I had to stand up and walk 20 meters away to the reception to get it. And this was just one case.
In two weeks we had to move out for the family reasons. But the hotel decided that they can keep all my remaining money for more than 30 days of my stay. The reply from a resident manager Mr.Bootarn came in a broken English in which he advised that they decided not to refund any money due to the "generally accepted norm of client satisfaction prior to departure".
I have made a short video of the shortfalls and advise anyone to STAY AWAY from this property.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGAv9hMuKf8

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I finally got to visit Koh Samui over Xmas 2013. A late booking through a local travel agent gave us the option of either Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa or the beach based Kirikayan Boutique Hotel. We opted for the more spacious Villas. It was a good choice.

The hotel is situated away from the beach in Mae Nam, but it's a nice stroll of around 10-15 minutes to the local beach and in late December the weather made this a pleasant stroll. The Villas are very spacious, decorated in dark wood design, somewhere between Balinese and Thai style. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was the smallest type of accommodation in the hotel, but ran to 100sqm so was very spacious. They hotel has larger private pool villas which I'm sure would also be a good stay.

Our stay included breakfast, which was taken in an open air restaurant which had a decent selection of Asian and Western options. The breakfast menu changed each day which so you weren't stuck with the same thing each morning. The usual egg station was on hand for eggs and omelets and you could order direct from the kitchen if you wished.

The pool was relatively small, but was used by guests who didn't have a private pool and was never busy. They also have a small outdoor gym beside the pool which was generally quiet and worth visiting if you wanted to keep fit during your stay. The heat and lack of aircon probably kept most guests out of the gym during their stay.

The hotel itself was a very pleasant stay. They have a regular shuttle bus to the sister hotel (Kirikayan Boutique Hotel) in the Chaweng beach area and also to Bophut if you wish to visit Fisherman's Village. A visit to Bophut is highly recommended on Friday as it hosts the weekly market with lots of hawker food, tourist souvenirs and cocktail stalls selling cocktails at around 70 baht a time.

The staff of the hotel take their job seriously and were very helpful and always ready with a smile and made our stay all the more enjoyable. If being beside the beach isn't your first priority, then Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa is well worth a look. I would certainly consider staying here again when I revisit Koh Samui.

Finally, the local restaurant just down the lane from the hotel is definitely worth checking out for lunch or dinner. They serve authentic local Thai food (or western options if you wish) at very good prices. Try it out if you visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesWHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Staff and Service here was 5* - they were more than happy to do book, research anything for you at the front desk (thanks to apple and mckie) the food was nice and again the service was great.

The rooms were amazing!! Our own kitchen and living room, they were better than suites that you would get in hotels around the world.

The only problem was that if you didn't want to eat at the hotel, the nearest restaurants were about a 15 mins walk. There is a free shuttle that goes to the sister hotel but you are then stuck to time schedules.

There is also a taxi service for the hotel which is 500 baht (£10) to wherever you want.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ness_956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Overall, we couldn't complain...pretty good for the price we paid.

Pros: good deal for the approx. 100 sqm suite, 2nd floor. Very spacious and nice mountain view from Dining and Living room. Sea view from the bedroom. Nice, friendly staff.

Cons: inconvenient to activities - Need either a car or scooter to get around. Dvd and/or DVD players did not work even though they say it's complimentary. Very few tv channels (which is probably why the free DVDs). Rooms were a bit in need of basic maintenance.

Overall, it was a good experience to relax and get away from everything; however, if you want to see any part of the island, you'll need to arrange transport or plan around the hotel shuttle.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jilojp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel itself is very picturesque, I can't say the same for the area that it is in but it means you look forward to getting back to your room. We paid for the upgrade for our private roof terrace and jacuzzi, it was definately worth it. The views are amazing. The pool is lovely and again has great views. The pool area music was lovely, perfect for the occasions. I even found out what the album was to download at home. The bed were huge so felt like luxury. You are given complimentary flip flops, beach bag and gown to use during your stay. The staff are lovely people, especially Apple who works in the restaurant and Golf who works in reception. There is a free car park which is watched by an attendant at all times. She was lovely, sadly didn't get her name. There were two dogs who roamed the car park but they did have collars so must belong to the staff. They were very friendly too, just watch out for them when your parking, they don't like to move out of the way. The food at breakfast was great, you must try the bah mee naam! We did attend the restaurant for dinner on the first night but there wasn't very much variety. The starters were wonderful but main meals lacked compared to them. It was a very romantic hotel that was very clean at all times. The only thing that might put you off is that sometimes you run out of hot water and it gives you dirty water from the bottom of the tank. We stayed here for six nights and this only happened to us once.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaz281188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
9.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
4.6 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa

Property: Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa
Address: Soi Maenam 1, Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#13 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas Hotel Mae Nam
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas And Spa
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Hotel
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing