We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but some points of attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Kirikayan luxury pool villas and spa, offers spacious rooms of 100 square metres, with a separate bedroom, kitchen and bathroom/Jacuzzi and toilet. The family rooms have the same surface, but have two smaller bedrooms instead of a large living room. They also have a Jacuzzi and a separate combined toilet/shower. We booked a family room for five days, but when we arrived, the family room turned out to be overbooked for the first day. We were offered two luxury rooms instead and a free transportation to the airport as compensation for the inconvenience.
The hotel is located about 700 metres from the main road on a quiet location. Twice a day (11:00 and 17:30) there is a free shuttle service to Chaweng, where a sister hotel is located. Kirikayan has a very nice 1.50 metres deep infinity pool, surrounded by coconut trees, situated in a well maintained lush tropical garden. The staff is very friendly and helpful, really doing their best to make your stay unforgettable. Breakfast is great and served in a very nice restaurant. There is even a turndown service in place. Prices are comparable with other hotels to Koh Samui standards, so considerably higher than hotels on the mainland.
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Nevertheless there are some points that can be improved and need attention. The towels and dustbins are a bit worn out, doors of the wardrobes are not closing properly and issues like a toilet (seat not properly mounted) that does not flush properly are fixed immediately; but I wonder if the solution provided is a temporary or permanent one. Shower mounted to close to the toilet, which will get wet when showering. The small shampoo bottles does not seemed to be new. We got the feeling that quality standards were once met, but gradually declined somewhat. This gives you mixed feelings about this hotel. Luxury on one side, but essential things missing on the other side. Small issues maybe, but taken together an important point of attention for the management to take care of. Many issues can be solved against low costs, and will make a stay much more agreeable. Moreover it does make a difference between a three/four and five star feeling and the latter one is what is aimed at.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am are quite disappointed & disgusted with our stay at Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas in Mae Nam. My husband and I had stayed here previously in February 2012 for our honeymoon. That is why we came back here as we thought it would be excellent. We were wrong.

We arrived at the hotel and we were greeted by the receptionist. We asked whether there could be an upgrade and what the cost would be. She replied that all rooms were booked out. We were happy to pay extra for the upgrade of the room if a room was available.

These are the issues that we faced:

*No Wifi
When I booked this hotel it stated that there was free Wifi. No Wifi. I spoke to front desk and the lady said that it's due to the weather. This is also why I booked this hotel thinking there was Wifi.

*Wardrobe
When we arrived the wardrobe door in our room was not in its right position so someone had to come in and fix this.

*Gaps in doors
We informed the front reception that we had problems with the doors as there are major gaps & that the doors don't close properly. The receptionist did say that there would be someone coming in to fix the doors but we were still waiting. She said that we should close the curtains when we were in the room. We don't think this is right. Another issue is security. This room is not safe. Anyone can jump onto our balcony into our room & steal our belongings.

We saw a lizard in our room as well. Due to the doors not closing properly I have mosquito bites all over my body. A man from the hotel came & sprayed with fly spray on a nightly basis.

*Loud air conditioner units outside neighbouring rooms.
We were having sleepless nights due to these loud units which are located outside of our room. These are unbearable. What type of holiday is this when you cannot sleep.

*Powerpoint on the ground in the living area with a hole.

Major safety issue when wearing shoes with heels

*Moulds on walls
Outside the toilet and shower there is moulds on walls. This is a concern.

*Toilet seat is not in its right position
The toilet is not straight. It was like that when we got here. There is limited toilet paper provided. There needs to ample toilet paper.

*Furniture is dirty
The sofa is very dirty. We both have hay fever due to the dust on the sofa. We were sneezing all morning and afternoon. It seemed like it's never been steam cleaned.

Buffet Breakfast
*During our stay it stated that we had breakfast buffet everyday but we got leftover a la carte during our stay. The food was not fresh & very limited. It was like they had microwaved the leftovers from all week and just gave it to us.

*Doona cover and pillowcases
These have not been changed since we have been here. The pillowcases have a bad odour.

We received a phone call from mgt 2 days before we were to leave for an upgrade. There was no point in moving rooms as we would have to pack up all our belongings. We could of got an upgrade from the start of our stay as we asked for it when we arrived.

I am quite upset with my stay here. I won't be coming back in a hurry. Do not be deceived by the photos.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank greco78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went to Koh Samui in January, 2014 and stayed at the hotel for 3 days. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and our room was not ready. However, the manager and another staff member 'Apple' were extremely helpful and caring. And we were not disappointed with our room - it was huge, clean and nice. For our welcome, there was a fruit basket and chilled water bottles. The room had free wi-fi, which was actually working and the connection was great.
In the evening, we decided to have dinner at hotel's restaurant. The restaurant manager (dont remember the name) was helpful as well. As soon as we told her, we were vegetarians, she got a dish prepared for us and took extra care whenever we went to the restaurant during our stay.
Overall, our experience at Kirikayan was fabulous and we would definitely stay at the same place when we go back to Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AarushiGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed April 15th 2014 for 6 nights. We travelled with our 2 kids aged 7 &9. Breakfast was lovely. Food was fresh and everything was covered. Use of their sister resort at Chaweng beach with free shuttle was excellent value. Peaceful and relaxing. Places nearby to eat. We Highly recommend the little orange restaurant on the way up the hill on the left . We also got our washing done there. There is also a massage place at the bottom of the hill that is very cheap. Get in early if you want a sun bed by the pool. There is other areas to sit if all sun beds are taken though.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which I appreciated with kids as there are no lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 787Rebekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for a night and ended up staying for a week, top notch rooms with excellent friendly staff at an un-beatable price. The pool bar was unoccupied most of the time however it was low season during my stay and the staff were only a phone call away and always happy to help. Highly recommended for a quiet get away close to some great restaurants in bop hut

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mobidyk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

PRO: Staff was really helpful, attentive and friendly. Kirikayan is extremely quiet, it's a tranquil place surrounded by a lush palm forrest and situated in beautiful hillside. The main pool is simply amazing, from inside you actually feel like in a jungle with the palm trees lining it.
We booked the penthouse, and the jakuzzi on the top floor is amazing...as well as the view from there. The rooms are huge, with a kitchen (however it was not really equipped for actual cooking, lacking almost all utensils...perhaps they provide on request). There is a scheduled free shuttle from resort to Chaweng beach, but we found Mae Nam beach (that is only 1km walk away from resort) to be much more relaxed, charming, and enjoyable.
CONs: Location is more suited to a relaxed, family getaway, might not be the most suitable place for a spring break crazy party week. I found the breakfast to be a bit bland, with very little variety offered...don't get me wrong, it's perfectly acceptable...but had to find some cons too, right?

Room Tip: Penthouse with Jakuzzi...awesome!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mkoppany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Kirikayan on last minute booking following delayed flight from Bangkok meaning we could not reach our destination on Koh Tao that day and we needed somewhere close to the pier.
After a long journey we arrived at Kirikayan. After some initial confusion on our late booking we were put in an amazing suite. It was huge with kitchen, bathroom, dining area etc. almost wished we were there longer as we left 7am the next day for the ferry.
The hotel sorted our ferry tickets with transfer first thing the next day and the Lomprayah pier is a few minutes drive away.
As we arrived late and the hotel is a bit out of the way we asked if we could get room service but were told we could eat in the restaurant where we had a great meal and great service. We think they may have kept it open just for us. Golf on reception was brilliant.
Breakfast was also good with lots of variety.
The pool looked lovely but we didnt get a chance to use it given the few hours we were there! Will definitely consider if we return to Samui again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
731 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
448 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,627 reviews
7.1 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
409 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa

Address: Soi Maenam 1, Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#13 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £47 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas And Spa
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas Hotel Mae Nam
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Hotel
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing