We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is very basic - rooms not suited for families with small children”
Review of Hutcha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hutcha Resort
Ranked #9 of 35 Mae Nam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've booked there for 3 families each with 3 kids (ages 1-12). The rooms are very basic - no closet to put clothes in and don't really fit a 4 person family (we've booked one extra room for the bigger kids). The price is not high but all in all it a bit high for what you get. The staff is nice and when we explained we can't stay and have to change hotel (after 3 nights out of the 6) we got all our money back since they realized the rooms aren't what we asked for.

Room Tip: for a couple looking for a basic hotel - it's more than enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drorcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked our first night via Agoda and paid about $46. It is a lovely, peaceful resort with friendly service on the best beach in Koh Samui. The rooms are clean and comfortable with air con. Breakfast nothing to write home about. Pool is lovely.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

On this visit i noticed a change of uniform & manager/owner? Sadly 2 of the lovely reception staff i met last year, Kotai & Nussey are no longer there. Tor (Butterfly) remains along with 2 other sweet lovely girls to help her, May & Phai. They always had a pretty smile & made you feel welcome. It was also great to see J.J. & Oam in the bar.

This time I stayed in an a/c villa. The extra space, fridge & tv (rarely used) are appreciated for minimal cost over the standard a/c bungalow. The canal appeared finished, it has water in it this time (along with frogs & fish). During one evening the dozens of frogs in the canal began their mating frenzy - swimming, splashing & croaking for hours on end. Something different to see, but could be disturbing when trying to sleep through the night.

The breakfast menu has been improved with more choice than what was previously offered. The drinks menu has changed, Red Bull Martini is no longer listed but they were more than happy to make one for me :-)

The resort seems a little worse for wear since last year, the beach bar has gone, damaged during a storm but there are still 2 other bars onsite & plenty more nearby. After problems last year not having cold drinks after hours i made good use of the fridge this time.

There were a few damaged or overgrown garden areas that wouldn't take much to fix.

The public computer at reception is also gone.

The batteries in my safe were flat, instead of being replaced, i was given the master key & threatened with a 2000 baht fine if i lost it. Honestly i would rather they spend 99 baht & replaced the batteries.

I still feel that housekeeping is very adhoc & inconsistent.

The plug in my basin was broken, a maintenance man looked at it but no repairs made.

I cut both feet in many places from submerged rocks & concrete on the beach. This is not a fault of Hutcha, but i believe from nearby Hammock Bungalows that were under construction last time.

The accomodation varies by price depending what website you book through. They are great value for money in comparison to other nearby places. Overall another enjoyable visit, great to see Tor & J.J. again.

Room Tip: If you can spare the expense, pick a a/c villa over a standard a/c bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingRiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Beautiful beach and the sun loungers are rarely full. Pool is clean and more sun loungers here. Rooms are small but clean and comfy bed. Bathroom is open air which initially worried me but we didn't get bitten my mosquitoes whilst in the shower so OK once used to the idea. Location is quite remote from nightlife but beach bars are very welcoming for quiet evening meal and taxis to Bo Phut are easy to flag down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We only stayed for one night. They picked us up from the airport which was nice as the hotel is hard to find. The breakfast was good and the views were beautiful. I'm not sure I would stay here for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I only spent one night here arriving quite late in the evening on my way to phangan, the hotel picked me up from the airport, a really great driver who refused my tip, the staff couldnt of been more helpful from reception to bar staff. In the morning i had a great and cheap breakfast and walked down to their amazing beach.. id definitely stay here again although id probably go for aircon next time rather than superior fan room as it was so hot.

Room Tip: Go for aircon rather than fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Office staff were lovely including Katai, Tor Tor & Nussey. The business has been sold. Sadly Katai & Nussey have left. Rooms o.k. with clean linen but outside bathroom where the mozzies seem to bite your bum.

Grounds have been let go with no one to organise staff. Food in restaurant is not very good. They need a new cook.

Horrible stench in dining area - think it must be the sewage pipes being broken. Smell was so bad earlier in March this year we had to leave. Did go back & visit 2 weeks ago & the place hasn't changed. Even with new owner, not a lot has been done. There is no music or anything going on there.

Hutcha is set back from the beach with a new hotel infront of it so you have no view plus if you have a riverside bungalow, the river is so dirty & full of mozzies so beware.

Room Tip: Just wouldn't stay there again after being there 3 times in this last year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
1.5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
748 reviews
2.7 mi away
By Beach Resort
By Beach Resort
#7 of 57 in Mae Nam
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Bungalows
Shangri-La Bungalows
#14 of 57 in Mae Nam
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutcha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutcha Resort

Address: 82/11 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Nam
Price Range: £17 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hutcha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hutcha's design is chic and comfortable; simply designed modern stucco huts blend smooth tile floors with natural thatch decorated room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hutcha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutcha Hotel Mae Nam
Hutcha Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing