We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome budget hotel”
Review of Hutcha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hutcha Resort
Ranked #8 of 34 Mae Nam B&B and Inns
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome budget hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well,i just loved being to hutcha in July 2013,i loved the hospitality,food was good,location was good.The pool was tidy.I had a great time being here,there used to be some night market in a week too.The travel agents,malls etc are not so far from the resort too.Good luck.Thumbs up to huthca.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hk_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    100
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
41
124
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you want a cheap Thai-style hotel - here it is.
Most bungalows are located near the small "river" with very-very dirty green/brown water and terrible smell. They didn't even try to make up their territory. Very sad picture.
Large restaurant is always empty because everything is chaotic and made up from cheap materials. They never heard about design, cleanness, hospitality, etc.
They have very small dirty beach with black (!) umbrellas that was never been cleaned. The beach is right in the place where the [--] river join into the sea. Not a pleasure at all I can say.
iIf you want to see a good example of how the hotel should never be run - please take one night here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAIRytale_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We really enjoy our stay there and we returned a second time after our staying in Ko Tao.
Great location for the beach, really quite. The restaurant was great and all staff really kind. All rooms we tried were really clean and comfortable. The service was really excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranzMotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I find the glowing reviews here deceiving. This hotel is a really poor value compared to the other properties in the area.

We booked a two night stay in Hoocha/ Hutcha and ended up just staying one night, and eating the cost on the second night.

Upon arriving, and checking in, we were taken to a tiny, characterless concrete room/ bungalow. The springs were bursting out of the mattress, stains of dubious origin on the linens, and you had to climb onto the bed to store anything in the cabinets.

A coffin sized room.

Get what you pay for I guess.

We were going to leave that minute - asked for another room, and were "upgraded" to a slightly different room of similar character. We toughed it out for a night.

The next morning we gave the breakfast a try. It was awful. Poorly cooked eggs and grey looking hot dogs. I fed mine to the dog begging at the table.

The pool has no cover, and is poorly maintained.

Further, the concept of "beach access" is a stretch here. There are no true beach front places here. Additionally, while MaeNam beach is spectacular, this hotel's access to the beach is a narrow passage only reached when you walk across the parking lot, through the restaurant and finally to the beach.

In all, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

We moved to the Hammock Hotel, which was far better overall value.

Room Tip: Go to the Hammock Hotel, The Florist or Hacienda. All are far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalimandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
288 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at Hutcha first on my own and then with a friend in a superior double room with a/c, altogether for about a week. For 33 EUR/night, the value was excellent. The set-up of the resort is nice - direct beach access, large pool, separate bungalows spread out on the compound and lush vegetation around them. Our a/c worked perfectly and was very quiet, the room was clean, the bed comfy, the TV had all sorts of different language programmes and we got two bottles of water for free every day. But the room was tiny and the outside bathroom was the perfect breeding place for mosquitoes - I got bitten all the time. What irritated me most was the stench from the canals that run along and across the compound (and it looks like the superior villas are all set along those canals!). Especially during breakfast, the smell sometimes really grossed me out and was a reason for me to stay away from the restaurant for most of the time. The Hammock restaurant next door provides a very nice alternative with a terrace directly on the beach and a lovely beach-lunch menu. Breakfast itself was ok, staff was friendly and the service ok but nothing outstanding. The lady who offers massage at the pool is really good but it is also absolutely worth trying out the massage place on the beach, just across the canal. All in all we were happy with Hutcha as a base for a week but I think if I came back I would rather look for something else.

Room Tip: If you need more space than a couple typically would, make sure you point that out when you book. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hutcha Resort.
The staff was really great and really good service. The rooms were nice and clean. The pool was great, and the location so close to the sea. The restaurant had really great food and very good service. You could get great massage. We loved our stay.
When we return to Ko Samui we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Superior villa AC is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've booked there for 3 families each with 3 kids (ages 1-12). The rooms are very basic - no closet to put clothes in and don't really fit a 4 person family (we've booked one extra room for the bigger kids). The price is not high but all in all it a bit high for what you get. The staff is nice and when we explained we can't stay and have to change hotel (after 3 nights out of the 6) we got all our money back since they realized the rooms aren't what we asked for.

Room Tip: for a couple looking for a basic hotel - it's more than enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drorcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Beach Resort
Hacienda Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Florist Resort
Florist Resort
#19 of 30 in Mae Nam
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutcha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutcha Resort

Property: Hutcha Resort
Address: 82/11 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hutcha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hutcha's design is chic and comfortable; simply designed modern stucco huts blend smooth tile floors with natural thatch decorated room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hutcha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutcha Hotel Mae Nam
Hutcha Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing