We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most relaxing & enjoyable holidays we have ever had”
Review of The Lotus Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lotus Terraces
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the most relaxing & enjoyable holidays we have ever had”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My brother thankfully and very wisely chose the Lotus Terraces for their wedding. It was absolutely perfect, the best wedding I have ever attended and one of the best holidays we have had thanks to the stunning location, service provided by the staff and pride that the owners take in delivering an outstanding service. In total we booked 3 out of the 5 villas, the Banyan, Lotus and Gardenia Villas for our large group. The Lotus and Banyan villas are beachfront and undoubtedly the best villas and it is these I will write about. Each has a number of bedrooms, either 4 or 5, each with their on bathrooms and facilities so that people staying in them have their on space.

The Villas are beautifully and very tastefully laid out. There are several different communal areas around each one so that everyone can find their own space for relaxing but when it is time to come together, there is plenty of space for entertaining. Both villas come with their own chefs and large kitchens. You wake up in the morning, wander through, with the sun shining and sound of the ocean in the background. Sit down overlooking a perfect white sand beach and beautiful blue ocean, with the island of Ko Pha ngan in the distance and Nam, Don or Rose or one of the other wonderful staff will bring you coffee or tea and make you breakfast. Bliss! They can also make dinners and it is truly an amazing experience. They buy the ingredients locally so that they are fresh but nevertheless work out to be substantially cheaper than eating out. They are able to cook such a variety of Thai food that even after over 10 years in Asia I never knew existed, and I never got bored of it in the 2 weeks we were there, always looked forward to it and always absolutely enjoyed it. They also cooked food for the children during the day.

Each villa has a lap pool and there is also a communal pool, so you can always find space for doing a few laps. Each villa also has a gym and in-house facilities for doing massage. Take a couple of steps out of the villa and you're on the beach. They provide kayaks so that you can take a paddle up and down Bang Po beach. Between the Lotus and Banyan Villas, the Lotus is better. It is exceptionally well decorated. The gym has windows that look into the pool and it has pool and table tennis tables as well.

Ton, Sue, Nam, Jane, Rose and all the other staff, thank you so much for your hospitality, it was a painful experience having to leave and come back to reality but we will see you again soon!!

Ken, Dee, Lauren & Aila x

Room Tip: Book the Lotus or Banyan villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aka.seth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Ken, Dee, Lauren & Aila

Thank you very much for this wonderful review of your stay at The Lotus Terraces. It is very motivating to know that this was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays you have ever had and furthermore, flattering that the wedding arrangement has been rated the best ever attended. Your review has been shared with the team, we are very encouraged by your good feedback of our facilities and commendation of our services, thank you!

We certainly look forward to welcome you back again soon!
Best wishes from all of us,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    11
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
46
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
callumlj72
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed a week February for my sister's wedding. Lotus Terraces was the absolutely perfect base for us. Small scale, luxurious and relaxing, the villas are decorated beautifully with all mod cons and free wifi. Ours came with chef service and the chef and food were always consistently fantastic and very reasonable. Continental breakfast is included but if you supplied eggs, bacon etc chef was more than happy to make them. Beds very comfortable, good aircon in the rooms and lovely hot showers. Our villa had private pool which was great and the main pool is also lovely. The complex is right on Bang Po beach and, although this is a quieter beach (which we were looking for anyway), there are several nice beach bars you can walk to. Special mention to Jane, Rose and Sue who were always welcoming and on hand for advice. Sue was fantastic at organising massages, boat trips etc at reasonable prices. Overall, if you are looking for a relaxed holiday in luxurious surroundings, right on the beach, but don't want the impersonality of staying in a large hotel/resort, then Lotus Terraces is the ideal choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callumlj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for the perfect review! It certainly will help provide potential guests a very good picture of The Lotus Terraces' facilities and services and help promote our resort, much appreciate this.

It was a great pleasure having you and your family with us and we look forward to many more opportunities to welcome all of you again.

Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the Lotus villa, 5D4N 9 of us friends looking to spend a holiday together before going home to work and it was absolutely perfect. Sue, Rose and our chef were excellent. Sue helped us arrange all our activities everyday, even helped us to find cheaper, more affordable alternatives because the prices have risen over the last few years. Our chef's cooking was absolutely fantastic, we had originally decided to go out to explore for most of our meals but given that his excellent skills, friendly character and the fact that we had his services complimentary for all our meals, we changed our mind and stayed in. We even had a delicious barbecue by the beach on our last night, all we had to do was decide in advance what we wanted.

The villa itself is a dream. With all the activities already available to us such as kayaking, a swimming pool, a fooseball table, jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table and the satellite tv where we could even catch all the live sporting events, it was difficult to leave. We really were spoiled and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly, really hope we can come back soon!

Room Tip: Lotus beach pool villa is really the best, beachfront so the kayaks are just there and if the pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raffles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
What a wonderful review! We are delighted your friends and you enjoyed the villa's facilities and our services. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I have shared your review with the team - such commendation is always very encouraging for us and make us very happy!

All of us look forward to welcoming your group back again.
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the main lotus villa with our family (3 couples, 3 young children). The multiple pavilion setup works perfectly for a large group providing privacy and excellent socialising areas. The quality of the villa was very high and with an incredible attention to detail. The villa is maintained to a very high standard. Sue and her team were excellent, particular mention for Rose who was outstanding as house keeping / front of house, nothing was too much trouble. Don the chef was good and cooked us a mean BBQ. No real negatives for us but you should be aware that the villas in the complex are not completely segregated and the beautiful infinity pool is a shared facility. If there are rowdy or noises guests staying the other villas it is likely you will hear them. Set against this the complex feels safer and more secure for having other guests nearby. We hope to return again soon!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hugoirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at the Lotus Villa on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and services, and felt very well taken care. Such commendation is always motivating for us and will be shared with the team, especially Rose and Chef Ton.

We hope and look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends back again.
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This villa is situated in a calm area of the island very close to the beach. A beach where you can find several nice restaurants, enyoy massage or go kayaking, and of course go swimming. We also made use of our own pool - for games as well as for learning to swim. The Villa was thus perfect for lazy days "at home".

We loved the breakfast and cleaning service. But the most noteworthy was perhaps all the help we had with excursion bookings and advise on markets and restaurants. We really enjoyed all the advice on great excursions we received!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henkan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the holiday, our facilities and services and hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards also from the team,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed for a week at the Lotus Terraces. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The location is perfect, right on the beach. The villas are beautiful and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Overall I would say that it's definitely one of he best holidays I've ever had and I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: All the villas are nice. The ones o the beach are particularly luxurious and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorious2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that our villas and services met - or exceeded expectations and certainly look forward to welcoming you again!

Meantime best wishes also from the rest of the team,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our 3rd trip back to Lotus Terraces, this time with our extended family of 13 with ages ranging from 15 to 80. We occupied the Lotus villa and overflowed into the Gardenia. Once again Sue and her attentive staff saw to our varied needs - In-villa massages, quad bike riding, scooter hire, and private car transfers made elderly parents and more adventurous nieces and nephews thoroughly relaxed and entertained.
The change to the system which now includes the services of "Thai Iron Chef" Ton for 3 meals was absolutely fantastic and his abilities on the guitar should not go unrecognised. Our shopping trips with him to local markets added fuel to our already insatiable appetite for his cooking. His efforts in feeding 13 varied tastes for 3 meals a day was a monumental feat.
Whilst Sue handles all the paperwork the real boss of the villa is Rose. On hand from sun rise to well after sun set, Rose ensures the villas are serviced & cleaned and fridge fully stocked with everything you could possibly wish for. In the staff v's guest "cook off" from your country of origin her adobo easily beat our Pavlova!

Thanks to all the staff for another lovely holiday.
Cant wait for the next trip.
Gavin & Toni

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OldGrommit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you so much for the very good review of your recent holiday with us. It's always a great pleasure to have you back with us and we are happy to know that the family enjoyed this recent holiday. Your commendation has been shared with the team, particularly Rose and Chef Ton.

We cant wait for your 4th return too!
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
9.6 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
3.9 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,074 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Belmond Napasai
Belmond Napasai
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lotus Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Terraces

Property: The Lotus Terraces
Address: 12/18 Moo 5, Maenam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lotus Terraces 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lotus Terraces is a luxury beachfront resort located on Bang Por Beach. The resort has 5 villas ranging from 2 to 5 bedrooms, each with its own private pool and ensuite bathroom. There is also a 25m communal pool located right at the beach. Each villa is fully air-conditioned and has the convenience of all modern amenities including a fully equipped European kitchen, complimentary wireless internet and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Lotus Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lotus Terraces Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing