We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lotus Terraces - Quite simply, wonderful.”
Review of Lotus Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lotus Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My partner in crime and I decided we could both take a week off, with just a couple of weeks notice before departure - Our criteria was somewhere on the beach, in a villa, with it's own pool and jacuzzi - Thailand was our first choice. Thank you google for introducing me to The Lotus Terraces fairly high up the listings. Thanks also to the other contributors to Tripadvisor for helping convince me. As one does, I had emailed a few places at the same time, but pretty much on the first email reply from Jane, it was clear we were heading to Koh Samui and the Lotus Beach Villa. I have to say that from the first contact, all the way through to our departure, we had nothing but the most friendly, helpful and charming assistance from the entire team. I've been to many places on this small planet we live on, and I can honestly say that I think the team here are the best I've had the pleasure of meeting whilst on a vacation. It felt like staying with close family and friends, but of course with plenty of space and quiet times to ourselves.

So, what can I tell you? Lotus terraces is a small boutique collection of 5 villas - 2 right on the beach, 3 just behind. You get your own pool, plus a larger shared pool, and it's all right on the beach. The beach itself is lovely - very quiet, and with a few quiet bars and restaurants within a few meters (but all quiet - no excess noise issues here). There is a coral reef in the sea, which at low tide can be a bit tricky to walk over to swim (great for snorkling though!), but easily solved - there are 4 kayaks, head right 200 meters and there's another gorgeous beach with no reef - even easier swimming.

As for the villa - I had a look around all 5 villas, as I'm very likely to go back soon, with a few friends - Here's the layout - Lotus Villa - 1 master bedroom, plus an annex in a separate building with 4 more suites (bedroom and bathroom). You can rent just the master, or add as many of these suites you want to - I'd put this villa as the best for a couple, and pretty good for up to 10 people. the Banyan Villa is very similar - with 2 master bedrooms in the main villa, plus 3 more suites in a separate annex. These master rooms are therefore a little smaller than the single master in Lotus Beach. But all lovely of course. Everything is great quality.

With the 2 larger villas, your own chef is "included" in the price - and we had the immense pleasure of Chef Ton taking care of us - what a lovely, charming gentlemen, and a great cook of course. Lots of wonderful meals - personalised to our taste and beautifully presented. For food (and drinks) you can either go yourselves (with driver or your own car) to one of the large supermarkets or smaller markets to get the food you want, or you can give shopping lists to the team and they will shop for you - also Chef will go and get what's needed for whatever dish he's preparing too. We did a combination of the above - so your food costs are much at they would be at home really. Be warned, champagne is quite expensive in Thailand ;), but we discovered our hidden talents in making our own cocktails also, which was fun.

The resort manager, Sue is another wonderful member of the team - available whenever we needed anything, wonderfully knowledgable about all things on Koh Samui - and seems able to make anything happen with ease.

For things to do - Nikki's for sunday Brunch is amazing if you like that sort of thing - poolside beds and tables, great food, live music and DJ, with dancers - and wonderful cocktails..

Liam's boat hire place is great - lovely crews - great boats and a fun day.

Drinks on the beach at the W hotel - more great cocktails.

Fishermans village - wonderful place for a stroll in the markets on a Friday night - with great good and lovely bars - special mention to Coco's something-or-other bar and the fire dancers - and apologies to Apple, our driver for keeping you waiting for another 45 minutes whilst we watched. (We did let her know of course).

I've already had a chat with a few friends about having a week there as a larger group, and also had a chat with the family about taking my Mother, 3 sisters, 2 nephews, 1 niece etc.. So I think this place works on all levels, for couples, families, groups of friends etc.

I'm definitely going back - recommend you take a close look too.

Room Tip: There are 5 villas - I think that Lotus Villa is the best for a couple - also good for up to 10 peop...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at Lotus Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Andrew

What a wonderful review, thank you so much! We truly appreciate how well you captured the experience of your recent stay at the Lotus Beach Villa and our resort in your comments and suggestions.

I will pass on your commendation to our team. Such a positive review never fails to encourage us to always deliver our best. We are looking forward to welcoming you back with your friends and family.

Meantime, please accept best wishes from all of us.
Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces, Koh Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Lotus Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed with our extended family, firstly for a week in the Lotus villa and then The Banyan. The Lotus villa has been designed with every detail taken into consideration, it is stylish and chic, with enough private and communal spaces to make it as sociable or quiet and relaxing as you like. The villa's layout was quite unlike anywhere I have stayed before, seamlessly blending indoor and outdoor space with rooms seeming to float in water (stepping stones to our room). The plants and flowers, sky and beach view feel part of the architecture - for example in the bathroom - large white pebbles in the shower, banana trees outside the window. The master bedroom took it one step further with an outdoor bath. I don't think this comes across in the website.

I enjoyed massages most days (at a reasonable price), my children played table tennis when they weren't swimming in the choice of pools or the sea. We hired a babysitter to watch over them for a few hours on a few of the days and take them out of the sun which worked well. The sitting rooms had big screen TVs and the bedrooms were well equipped. We took a couple of trips: to ride elephants (the children adored), drink cocktails at the hip 'W' hotel and to Kohpangan.

However, we were perfectly happy in the setting of the Lotus Villas so had no real desire to go anywhere, the beach was quiet and we could enjoy private dining all together in the evenings.
For us, it was a real luxury to be quietly taken care of and given the space to relax and enjoy such a beautiful setting. We look forward to returning when we can.

Room Tip: Depending on budget, the master bedrooms are special with huge bathrooms. The upstairs room in the B...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Maud_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at Lotus Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us. I am sure many reading your review will find your observations and impression of the Lotus Villa and our resort very helpful. Much appreciate the photos too!

Your good review has been shared with our team, and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your family and you back!


Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our wedding and two week vacation at Lotus Terraces met our expectations in every respect. Our group of 14 adults and 5 young children shared the Lotus, Banyan and Gardenia Villas. The entire group had a great time and left with happy memories. The beach villas provide very comfortable accommodation in a beautiful island setting. Having visited Koh Samui and Koh Phangan many times before, we were looking for somewhere special for our wedding - and found it.

Jane deals with bookings in an efficient and responsive way. Sue and the staff at the villas attend to any requests and we enjoyed interacting with them, as did the children. The chefs are great and we enjoyed dining in the villas most evenings, only occasionally venturing out to restaurants. If you like Thai food, as we do, then the standard of food is hard to beat.

A special mention goes to Ton Nagel who organised our wedding and who we got to know in the months before, and during, our stay at Lotus Terraces. Ton is superbly talented at organising events of this type and went above and beyond to create a truly memorable event for us. We greatly enjoyed the whole experience, from our Skype calls during the winter months in Scotland to the big event itself which, as all of our guests commented, was perfect in both design and execution.

We hope to be back before too long :)
A & M

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at Lotus Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for sharing the experience of hosting your wedding at The Lotus Terraces on TripAdvisor. It is rewarding for us too to know that we did deliver a memorable experience for your Special Day and that everyone enjoyed the stay. Your wonderful feedback is appreciated and has been shared with the team

We certainly look forward to welcoming all of you back again!
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights in The Banyan Terrace Suite , this is a very exclusive boutique retreat , that can accommodate from suites right through to 5 bedroom luxury villas. The staff headed up by Sue are fantastic and can’t do enough for you.
The suites are perfect with the terrace for private sunbathing and breakfast every morning which is delivered by your maid. The 25 meter pool is perfect for those morning laps , and of course there are a couple of beach bars within 50 meters of stepping out on to the beautiful beach front.

Tun, carol & Manfred have an unbelievable set up at Lotus Terrace , this is certainly one of the Jewels we have found and intend to re visit many times over

Watch-out for their new website it will be stunning just like the venue.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at Lotus Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at the Banyan Suite on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and services, and certainly look forward to many more opportunities to welcome your wife and you back again.

In the meantime, best wishes from all of us
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My brother thankfully and very wisely chose the Lotus Terraces for their wedding. It was absolutely perfect, the best wedding I have ever attended and one of the best holidays we have had thanks to the stunning location, service provided by the staff and pride that the owners take in delivering an outstanding service. In total we booked 3 out of the 5 villas, the Banyan, Lotus and Gardenia Villas for our large group. The Lotus and Banyan villas are beachfront and undoubtedly the best villas and it is these I will write about. Each has a number of bedrooms, either 4 or 5, each with their on bathrooms and facilities so that people staying in them have their on space.

The Villas are beautifully and very tastefully laid out. There are several different communal areas around each one so that everyone can find their own space for relaxing but when it is time to come together, there is plenty of space for entertaining. Both villas come with their own chefs and large kitchens. You wake up in the morning, wander through, with the sun shining and sound of the ocean in the background. Sit down overlooking a perfect white sand beach and beautiful blue ocean, with the island of Ko Pha ngan in the distance and Nam, Don or Rose or one of the other wonderful staff will bring you coffee or tea and make you breakfast. Bliss! They can also make dinners and it is truly an amazing experience. They buy the ingredients locally so that they are fresh but nevertheless work out to be substantially cheaper than eating out. They are able to cook such a variety of Thai food that even after over 10 years in Asia I never knew existed, and I never got bored of it in the 2 weeks we were there, always looked forward to it and always absolutely enjoyed it. They also cooked food for the children during the day.

Each villa has a lap pool and there is also a communal pool, so you can always find space for doing a few laps. Each villa also has a gym and in-house facilities for doing massage. Take a couple of steps out of the villa and you're on the beach. They provide kayaks so that you can take a paddle up and down Bang Po beach. Between the Lotus and Banyan Villas, the Lotus is better. It is exceptionally well decorated. The gym has windows that look into the pool and it has pool and table tennis tables as well.

Ton, Sue, Nam, Jane, Rose and all the other staff, thank you so much for your hospitality, it was a painful experience having to leave and come back to reality but we will see you again soon!!

Ken, Dee, Lauren & Aila x

Room Tip: Book the Lotus or Banyan villas
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aka.seth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at Lotus Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Ken, Dee, Lauren & Aila

Thank you very much for this wonderful review of your stay at The Lotus Terraces. It is very motivating to know that this was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays you have ever had and furthermore, flattering that the wedding arrangement has been rated the best ever attended. Your review has been shared with the team, we are very encouraged by your good feedback of our facilities and commendation of our services, thank you!

We certainly look forward to welcome you back again soon!
Best wishes from all of us,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed a week February for my sister's wedding. Lotus Terraces was the absolutely perfect base for us. Small scale, luxurious and relaxing, the villas are decorated beautifully with all mod cons and free wifi. Ours came with chef service and the chef and food were always consistently fantastic and very reasonable. Continental breakfast is included but if you supplied eggs, bacon etc chef was more than happy to make them. Beds very comfortable, good aircon in the rooms and lovely hot showers. Our villa had private pool which was great and the main pool is also lovely. The complex is right on Bang Po beach and, although this is a quieter beach (which we were looking for anyway), there are several nice beach bars you can walk to. Special mention to Jane, Rose and Sue who were always welcoming and on hand for advice. Sue was fantastic at organising massages, boat trips etc at reasonable prices. Overall, if you are looking for a relaxed holiday in luxurious surroundings, right on the beach, but don't want the impersonality of staying in a large hotel/resort, then Lotus Terraces is the ideal choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callumlj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at Lotus Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for the perfect review! It certainly will help provide potential guests a very good picture of The Lotus Terraces' facilities and services and help promote our resort, much appreciate this.

It was a great pleasure having you and your family with us and we look forward to many more opportunities to welcome all of you again.

Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the Lotus villa, 5D4N 9 of us friends looking to spend a holiday together before going home to work and it was absolutely perfect. Sue, Rose and our chef were excellent. Sue helped us arrange all our activities everyday, even helped us to find cheaper, more affordable alternatives because the prices have risen over the last few years. Our chef's cooking was absolutely fantastic, we had originally decided to go out to explore for most of our meals but given that his excellent skills, friendly character and the fact that we had his services complimentary for all our meals, we changed our mind and stayed in. We even had a delicious barbecue by the beach on our last night, all we had to do was decide in advance what we wanted.

The villa itself is a dream. With all the activities already available to us such as kayaking, a swimming pool, a fooseball table, jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table and the satellite tv where we could even catch all the live sporting events, it was difficult to leave. We really were spoiled and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly, really hope we can come back soon!

Room Tip: Lotus beach pool villa is really the best, beachfront so the kayaks are just there and if the pool i...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raffles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSongphaison, Manager at Lotus Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

What a wonderful review! We are delighted your friends and you enjoyed the villa's facilities and our services. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I have shared your review with the team - such commendation is always very encouraging for us and make us very happy!

All of us look forward to welcoming your group back again.
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
9.6 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
10.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,602 reviews
1.8 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,080 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Samui

Address: 12/18 Moo 5, Maenam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly The Lotus Terraces)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range: £278 - £985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotus Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Samui is a luxury beachfront resort located on Bang Por Beach. The resort has 5 villas ranging from 2 to 5 bedrooms, each with its own private pool and ensuite bathroom. There is also a 25m communal pool located right at the beach. Each villa is fully air-conditioned and has the convenience of all modern amenities including a fully equipped European kitchen, complimentary wireless internet and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lotus Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing