We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel stayed at in 10+ years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Retreat Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel stayed at in 10+ years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I travel for a living, have the highest status with all the major hotel chains, and still this hotel shocked me with its beauty, style, and service. The W has a gorgeous setting, high upon a hill with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Most rooms and villas have gorgeous views of the ocean or a secluded tropical jungle surrounding. We stayed in a secluded jungle villa, with a private pool and and outdoor shower! The service is also impeccable and the breakfast is delicious. If you want a relaxing getaway vacation, come here. We spent our honeymoon here and are SO glad we did.

Room Tip: The jungle rooms are perfectly quiet getaways. Upgrade to a villa if you can, they are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgirtrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Edgirtrap,

Many thanks for your thoughtful review of W Retreat Koh Samui- as someone who travels extensively we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate your comments on breakfast and the overall service throughout the resort.

Congratulations on your recent wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back to W Retreat Koh Samui for many anniversaries in the future.

All the best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    178
    66
    35
    30
See reviews for
138
526
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

W is famous for its stylish design and we have to admit it was really cool. The rooms are nicely designed and setup, all amenities you could wish for and just an amazing experience... Although it can be expected for the price, we want to highlight the service which was really exceptional...definitelt a place to go back to!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InternationalBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The view when you first arrive looks exactly like all the photos - breathtaking! The resort is quite expansive built up on a hill, so you get lots of exercise walking between your room, the restuarant and the beach. The rooms are so modern and luxurious - we had room 221 which was closer to the lobby, but very central.
The breakfast buffet was awesome. It was great to have Chef Robert walk us around and show us all the stations and explain how it woked since there was so much to choose from. My husband loved the whole wheat croissant and passionfruit butter idea from Chef.
The beach is quite lovely with very comfortable loungers, but the sand is not very soft (only complaint!)
The staff overall was very friendly and helpful. Our Woo bar server "Ice" was very helpful and made sure that we were enjoying ourselves.
The gym, pool, tennis and overall grounds are kept very well - you do feel like you are in a retreat. The complimentary shuttle to Chaweng was very nice since there isn't much nightlife at the hotel or in the surrounding area.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a special occasion!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seekthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Seekthebeach,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your impressions of W Retreat Koh Samui with the Tripadvisor community.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our breakfast offerings, FIt and shuttle service. I appreciate you mentioning Ice and Rob as talent who made your stay extra memorable.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back to W soon.

Regards,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My first "W Retreat" was awesome, funky room design, good food regardless dinner or breakfast (yay!!), good hospitality and..... :) We didn't spent lots of time at the resort so can't really comment too much about the hospitality but it was pretty good during dining or buggy time or when we hanging around the resort~

Bathroom: Outdoor shower + oval-shaped bathtub was awesome~ There is a tree trunk look like wooden rack @ outdoor shower for guests to hang the towel or clothes, well, at least something different and not normal table/ chair or cabinet for towel/ clothes hanging~ Double sinks are always the best ideas, and pretty "huge+long" make-up area, it fits best for two person dressing at the same time~ Good "Bliss" products for toiletries!

Room: Funky design, it really "wow" when we first entered the room. The only slightly minus point is the room does look "not-new" (not old or run down) but that doesn't effect too much btw. And yes, their signature heavenly bed was fantastic, and the quilt~!!!

Breakfast: I can't really recall if I ever had very good breakfast at a resort, this resort probably rank either the first or the second best in all the resorts/ hotels that I've ever stayed. Sometimes I really don't understand how can the hotel ruin the simple breakfast? Some even served very bad food regardless the bread or even the egg dish, forget bout the rest then.... Oh ya, they served "tomyum" (Thai spicy soup) for one of the breakfast, that was perfect man~!!!!

Dining-The Kitchen Table: We had a Thai food at the restaurant, the food was pretty good anyways. I can't say it was perfect but at least it meets my expectation~ The price was pricey than other restaurant, but if you add on the taxi fares (it is expensive if traveled out of hotel than coming back to the hotel), it is kind of like more or less the same anyways~

Dining- Namu: I had bad flu during that time dining, can't really taste or eat much, just a little but the taste was great from what I recall~

Sweet spot: Another good treat is they have "sweet-spot" at certain spots, where you can have free juice, magnum and Haagen Dazz!!!!

Surrounding: the floating-pods area were great, just always full with people~ lol~

W Retreat, which is the highest category from the Starwoods brands, so it means "luxury+expensive". It isn't too much difference compared to Four Seasons anyways. I traveled with a girlfriend, as what we always heard bout "W Retreat" is funky and party, but yet, we realized their "funky & party & happening" concept seems only available for city-area resort.

This is Koh Samui and located by the beach, the whole resort seems just bit "death" (not really death but not as happening as other W Retreat in the city) and bit bored for us since we weren't there for "honeymoon" (LOL)~ So for those honeymooners, yes, this is the best choice for you~~!!! Especially all the villas come with a swimming pool~!

So if you are hanging with a group of youngsters and looking for party, this probably not really what you are looking for, but for honeymooner, just pick it and you will love it~~!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calvenracquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Good place to go for a bar, cocktail and just good view . Wouldn't recommend the restaurant though , as nothing was tasty or at least close . The service is quite bad as well, takes 40 minutes to make scrambled eggs, which are absolutely tasteless at the end . Just enjoy the view not the food!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Anastasia C,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

I apologize that your experience was less than stellar. We have taken note of your comments on our restaurants for follow up with our B&F Team.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabries
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our group of 27 went to the thursday evening Mojito night. We sat in a couple of the "pods" on the water but had very poor service and had to go a search for waiters to serve us. The biggest problem was the appalling lack of lighting and it would have been easy to fall in the water as it was almost impossible to see where the decking ended and the water began. The music was deadly and it was severely lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear 2011tigger,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at W Koh Samui. I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations on this visit. We have taken note of your comments on the lighting and DJ music selections,

Ideally we would have preferred advance reservations for a group of 27- particularly when separate checks are required. This would allow us to plan adequately and ensure smooth service.

Apologies again and hope to see you soon again at W.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in, the service is spectacular and the rooms are fantastic. We ate at The Kitchen Table and the food was fantastic but by far the best was Namu, just a make sure you book well in advance. We will definitely be going back again and hopefully that will be sometime soon!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Property: W Retreat Koh Samui
Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing