We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of W Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Koh Samui
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights. W hotel is amazing. Best hotel iv ever stayed in. We stayed in the jungle villa. The villa is spacious with a modern look and huge bathroom with two showers and its own pool. The service of this hotel is excellent. Staff are very friendly. Room service food is nice. I will definitely stay at the W hotel again. Loved my stay at the W.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nabeelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear nabeelah,

Thanks so much for your review on TripAdvisor in regards your recent stay with us.

We are simply delighted to hear and read that your stay was nothing less than a perfect one.

Thanks also for hi-lighting the level of services, our talents and the various aspects and features of your retreat.

Let us know when you are heading to us again.

Cheers,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This W was pretty awesome. We ended up getting the beach bungalow with the pool oceanfront, and it was great. Very private and just a 10 second walk to the beach. It also had an outside shower which was amazing. Everything was brand new and they had a lot of fun organized things that guests could enjoy like all you can drink mojitos on some days. Also had all you could eat ice cream through out the property. For free!!

They could use a little help in the breakfast department, they didn't have as much to offer as other hotels we visited. It's very expensive and a lot of walking, which isn't a big deal. The beach was ok. Sand was very coarse, but that just has to do with the hotels position on the island.

All in all this place was great.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Nick M,

Thank you for your kind time to review and share your experiences in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are glad to see/hear that you are enjoying the facilities throughout – be it the spacious room and it’s lay-out, including the shower facilities for both in- and outdoor experience as well as your rightly pointed out the Moo-Hee-Toes night and not limited to the full enjoyment of our Sweet Spots.

We also have taken your comments for future improvements in regards to the breakfast variety that you have pointed out.

Thank you.

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is arguably one of the best we have stayed in from the staff to the views to the standard of accomodation really is second to none.

Firstly the staff - they really could not have been more friendly, helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Special thanks to Gift and Bang who worked in the bar, they took a great deal of time and thought into making us feel welcome and having a enjoyable evening every night.

Secondly the views - we could have sat a looked at the view over the bay and onto the opposite island all day, the inifinity pond and DJ booth in the main social area made it even more special, it was so relaxing and peaceful it felt like we were miles away from anywhere.

Thirdly - the room we had was exceptional, huge room, luxurious bathroom and fantastic garden and pool, this standard really does set the bar extremely high.

Fourthly - the beach and restaurant were great, we ate their on the last night and everything was cooked to perfection.

The breakfast was pretty amazing as well, huge choice of all kinds of food. I would love to come back to this hotel, we didn't stay nearly long enough.

Room Tip: sea view if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benalexhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear benalexhw,

Thank you for the detailed review and sharing your experience with other travelers in regards to your recent stay with us.

We have put on spot lights to those talents that you have mentioned and it’s great to see that they are being recognized.

What more to describe in regards to our views? You actually need to come and see it with your own eyes to believe it! Seeing = believing….

We are also delighted to hear/read that you have enjoyed your retreat with its spacious size and bathroom including your private garden and your very own pool.

Furthermore, we would like to hi-light our Whatever/Whenever Service – you just need to ask next time to extend your stay as you mentioned that “we didn’t stay nearly long enough”, we could have easily overcome that challenge for you!

Thanks again!

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Two times in 1 month. It's perfect place to hang out with friend or romantic night out with your love. Really like this place. Staffs were very nice and have service mind. Many choices of drink. Nice appetizer. Good location. Will go again soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Thanyawadee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Thanyawadee K,

We sincerely thank you for the time taken to review your visit at our retreat.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and especially your attention to hi-light our talents and the level of their services, including but not limited to our choices of drinks available throughout as well as our varieties of appetizers.

Please do come back for more!

Thank you.

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The W retreat is must stay at Koh Samui. The pool at the lobby level is stunning and seems to merge with the sea. The rooms with their own private swimming pools are extra-ordinary. The service is great. Vegetarian food maybe a bit of the challenge but the stay is worth missing out on that. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Choose the villa at the highest level for more stunning views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lall888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Lall888,

Thank you for your time for reviewing and sharing your experience of your recent stay with us.

The reflection pond is indeed designed to get that infinite look to be merging with the ocean – worth to mention here that the view does change on a daily basis, given the low and or high tide of the ocean as well as the reflection on the sky on some cloudless day. We often hear the first impression from other travelers: “WOW”

We have also reviewed your feedback for the vegetarian options – our culinary team is indeed appreciating your concern and we are working hard towards expanding our vegetarian option in the near future – thank you again for providing your feedback.

Cheers,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Not much really to say above the top rate for "Excellent Stay" I easily grant to W Retreat. Whether you go for romance or family (as in my case), adventure or calm, it is the place you wan to be as long as possible.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugenio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear eugenio s,

Thank you for your review and pointed out to be of a stunning place with an unforgettable experience.

We would say: "Come back soon!"

Cheers,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Yes, this is a lovely hotel, but there are many on Koh Samui. Rooms lovely, good size pools in the villa. Soaps and shampoos nice. Everything you expect from a W hotel. The breakfast buffett was nice with plenty of options. Room Service was good. Always some sort of drink special somewhere on the hotels grounds. and we were upgraded to next level room which was nice- and from talking to other guests, it seemed to be a routine thing that they try and do.

So why the low stars? 2 items. Prior to checking in I sent an email advising the hotel that we were going to be celebrating my daughters upcoming 13th birthday. Any other time we have traveled to a hotel around hers (or even one of ours) birthday- something was done. And i know that they received the email as they confirmed my daughters food allergy which had also been on the email. Really poor that NOTHING was done-

2nd) checking in the first night it was just my daughter and i, remaining nights it was husband, daughter and i. So while checking in they told me there was a fee for my daughter . i explained that she was free as their web page says 12 and under. they said no it is 12 and older. pointed out web page to them. they then said but she is turning 13 this month. and i said yes but not for another 10 days so she is still 12 and therefore free. this went back and forth and back and forth. FYI- she did not turn 13 while we were staying at hotel.
then it was that there would be a fee for her breakfast. and i said yes, it was already included in my rate -they said no. i said well why would there be a difference in the rate of the room between the first night and the rest of the nights - it had to be the cost of the breakfast as we just established there was no fee for our daughter being in the room .
it got resolved but its just a hassle to deal with this and start off your vacation this way. especially got annoyed with the "she'll be turning 13 soon"

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear bobosing,

Thank you for your thoroughness and explained the situation of service encounters that you have experienced from your recent visit.

While we are striving to be attentive and making our guests feel hassle free when they are travelling, we have obviously not met your expectation on this occasion – we must apologize for this.

Further investigations internally have reviewed several “miss-haps” of unfortunate events and I have further shared this to the team as our learning opportunities in order to avoid such incidents in the future.

We thank you for your constructive feedback and we are hoping you will give us another chance to be of your service again in the future, in order to see our improvements.

Best of regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,444 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#30 of 185 in Bophut
940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.7 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Koh Samui

Address: 4/1, Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £509 - £1,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing