We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very comfortable and clean stylish hotel. Easy to get around the island from here. Beautiful restaurant and right Ion the beach. Great for a weekend or a long stay. . Stayed here several times and will definetly be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Jane,

Many thanks for your super review, we particularly appreciate hearing from our repeat guests.

Hope to have you back with us soon again,


Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    184
    68
    36
    30
See reviews for
142
539
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

W was not my first choice of hotel in Samui and there were some TA negative comments so I should say I had low expectations when I reached W. And from the second in reached the resort to the moment I had to leave to go back home, I was proven wrong. The hotel is superbly located. Cliff villas have a superb panoramic sea view. Villa pools are not plunge pools. You can really swim. Staff is genuinely nice and helpful. The Japanese restaurant is extremely tasteful. Lobby bar is super cool. I stayed there for 5 days and it could not be better. The beach does not have soft sand but one of the nicest beaches on the island, Lamai is just 15km away by car. And the breakfast is always about the same food served every day and the creeps and pancakes are overlooked. Apart from these minor defects, your stay there will be perfect. So do not shop around too much. Just book there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HongkongInvictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear HongkongInvictus,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at W Retreat Koh Samui with the Tripadvisor community.

It was wonderful to learn that you had a great stay with us; we have shared your insights with the team- in particular your thoughts on talent helpfulness and our Namu restaurant.

I have noted your comments on breakfast selection; we will pay further attention to our rotation of daily favorites to ensure enhanced variety.

Look forward to seeing you soon again at W Retreat Koh Samui

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in April 2014. We stayed in one of the beach villas and really enjoyed the room. Huge bath with an indoor shower and outdoor shower..loved the outdoor shower. Loved the private pool. The staff was very attentive and made sure we were comfortable and well taken care of. The beach area was wonderful with comfortable lounging areas and mix of shade/sun to choose from. Very good Japanese/Asian options for dinner near the beach. My only suggestion for improvement would be more salad/lighter options for lunch at the beach grill and that is just a minor improvement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbhodge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear jbhodge24,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at W Retreat Koh Samui.

We appreciate your positive thoughts on the room design, pool features and our Namu restaurant.

Our Beach Grill restaurant offers a more relaxed option. We are currently revising our menu choices to incorporate some lighter/ healthier fare as you suggest and will have them on offer shortly.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon again at w.

All the best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband stayed here while on our honeymoon. Our room had rose petals on the bed and in the bath. The room was amazing & had it's own pool and outdoor shower. The bathroom was huge! The service was amazing. They helped us book all our excursions outside the hotel. The staff was very attentive and always wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. The hotel also had organized happy hours and parties for the guests, which was very nice. The views from the hotel are breathtaking! You can stare at the views all day everyday. Seriously, you're missing out by not staying here. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Collin W,

Thank you very much for your kind time to review your May 2013 stay experience.

We do appreciate a lot when our guests are sharing their experiences and as you have rightly pointed out: to not want to be missed out if not staying with us.

We are looking forward to welcome both of you back soon.

Regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights. W hotel is amazing. Best hotel iv ever stayed in. We stayed in the jungle villa. The villa is spacious with a modern look and huge bathroom with two showers and its own pool. The service of this hotel is excellent. Staff are very friendly. Room service food is nice. I will definitely stay at the W hotel again. Loved my stay at the W.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nabeelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear nabeelah,

Thanks so much for your review on TripAdvisor in regards your recent stay with us.

We are simply delighted to hear and read that your stay was nothing less than a perfect one.

Thanks also for hi-lighting the level of services, our talents and the various aspects and features of your retreat.

Let us know when you are heading to us again.

Cheers,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This W was pretty awesome. We ended up getting the beach bungalow with the pool oceanfront, and it was great. Very private and just a 10 second walk to the beach. It also had an outside shower which was amazing. Everything was brand new and they had a lot of fun organized things that guests could enjoy like all you can drink mojitos on some days. Also had all you could eat ice cream through out the property. For free!!

They could use a little help in the breakfast department, they didn't have as much to offer as other hotels we visited. It's very expensive and a lot of walking, which isn't a big deal. The beach was ok. Sand was very coarse, but that just has to do with the hotels position on the island.

All in all this place was great.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Nick M,

Thank you for your kind time to review and share your experiences in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are glad to see/hear that you are enjoying the facilities throughout – be it the spacious room and it’s lay-out, including the shower facilities for both in- and outdoor experience as well as your rightly pointed out the Moo-Hee-Toes night and not limited to the full enjoyment of our Sweet Spots.

We also have taken your comments for future improvements in regards to the breakfast variety that you have pointed out.

Thank you.

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is arguably one of the best we have stayed in from the staff to the views to the standard of accomodation really is second to none.

Firstly the staff - they really could not have been more friendly, helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Special thanks to Gift and Bang who worked in the bar, they took a great deal of time and thought into making us feel welcome and having a enjoyable evening every night.

Secondly the views - we could have sat a looked at the view over the bay and onto the opposite island all day, the inifinity pond and DJ booth in the main social area made it even more special, it was so relaxing and peaceful it felt like we were miles away from anywhere.

Thirdly - the room we had was exceptional, huge room, luxurious bathroom and fantastic garden and pool, this standard really does set the bar extremely high.

Fourthly - the beach and restaurant were great, we ate their on the last night and everything was cooked to perfection.

The breakfast was pretty amazing as well, huge choice of all kinds of food. I would love to come back to this hotel, we didn't stay nearly long enough.

Room Tip: sea view if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benalexhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear benalexhw,

Thank you for the detailed review and sharing your experience with other travelers in regards to your recent stay with us.

We have put on spot lights to those talents that you have mentioned and it’s great to see that they are being recognized.

What more to describe in regards to our views? You actually need to come and see it with your own eyes to believe it! Seeing = believing….

We are also delighted to hear/read that you have enjoyed your retreat with its spacious size and bathroom including your private garden and your very own pool.

Furthermore, we would like to hi-light our Whatever/Whenever Service – you just need to ask next time to extend your stay as you mentioned that “we didn’t stay nearly long enough”, we could have easily overcome that challenge for you!

Thanks again!

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Property: W Retreat Koh Samui
Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing