We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food but expected more”

Thai Cooking Classes
Ranked #30 of 97 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: If you are somebody who loves Thai food and you enjoy learning how to cook the food you love, then you have found the place to go Koh Samui – ‘Sonja’s Thai Cooking Classes’!In this private course you will learn from an experienced chef how to cook your favorite Thai dishes – step by step we teach you15 dishes of the Royal Thai Cuisine.5 dishes will be prepared by yourself in our course kitchen, the preparation of the other dishes will be explained to you. You decide which dishes to cook.Minimum participants 2 personsOur classes are private and small – starting with individual groups of two or more people. If you want to learn cooking alone you still will pay the price for two people. Think again about it, cooking is more fun if you cook together with some one. Absolutely everything is ‘Sanook’, which is the Thai word for fun, meaning you will have fun as you learn to cook Thai food with us.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent food but expected more”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went there based on tripadvisor recommendation. Food was good but not an explosion of senses with the yummie effect. Had mango salad, sweet sour soup, fried rice and fried morning glory veggie.

In total. Fresh food, very polite and friendly personnel paying lot of attention. Nice and relaxing interior.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thore H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    22
    1
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST food and experience!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stopped in Samui while on a cruise ship. We only had about 4 hours on the island, and our main interest was to take a Thai cooking class. We found Sonja online and loved how she offers a private cooking class at a reasonable price. The three dishes we learned how to cook were INCREDIBLE!! My husband spent a lot of time in Bangkok and he said this was some of the best Thai food he has ever had. Sonja has such a wonderful personality and she was very eager to teach us. Sonja also provided us with a notebook so we could write down the recipes we learned. Back home in the US, we just cooked two of the dishes we learned and they were fantastic. This reminded me to write this review on how excellent of an experience we had at Sonja's cooking class!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allllid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding cake”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We married on koh samui and sonja made our wedding cake. It looks very beautiful and tasts very delicious! I want to thank sonja for this cake!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 910Meli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, Zeeland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food for a fair price”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Sonja's restaurant is fresh and simply good. No fancy stuf but honest and she gives you a feeling to relax and just enjoy life.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cooking class with personality”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Sonja is really great with her cooking class. She has certainly a big personality and likes sharing her tips and recipes. She might have her own cooking style but who hasn't? Another great thing is that she welcomes kids in her class and makes them feel very comfortable! I do recommend her!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guestnapoleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Cooking Classes also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Thai Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing