We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Ampha Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ampha Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Mae Nam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently stayed here overnight on our way back from Koh Tao, and were extremely happy with our stay at Ampha Place. We loved the fact that it is on a street off the main road, and though within a short walk to the beach it did not feel like the full on Koh Samui experience, though there was a great restaurant at the end of the road, & massage service on the beach. The rooms were great, and the pool lovely. That night Eric suggested we go to the local night market which was really fun, and though we werent the only tourists, there were just as many locals. Our very early taxi turned up on time - thank you once again Eric. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We normally prefer to stay in beach bungalows but couldn't find anything suitable. We'd seen good reviews for Ampha Place and decided to give it a try.

The hotel is in a good spot, less than 2 minutes walk from the beach and within easy walking distance to the main street where there are lots of restaurants and street sellers.

The hotel is kept well maintained and very clean. The room we stayed in was of a good size and had a lovely big bed which was comfortable, TV and mini bar fridge. One bonus was that the curtains didn't let the sunlight in so you got a good nights sleep.

The bathroom was modern with quality fixtures and the air conditioning worked well.

All the hotel rooms have a small balcony with a table and chairs and overlook the swimming pool.

The swimming pool was kept exceptionally clean, and could be used between the hours of 9am and 9pm. There were also sun loungers for guests use around the pool.

The hotel also serves breakfast and has a small bar area, whilst we didn't use the bar we did on one occasion have breakfast which was good.

Mae Nam is not really touristy which is what we liked about the place. There are lots of good quality and very reasonably priced restaurants near the hotel. The restaurants on the beach cater more for tourists but on the one occasion we ate at a beach bar we found it overpriced and not particularly good.

I'd definitely recommend the Ampha - it has everything you need and more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juxined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Having read reviews chose this hotel.It was low season and a fantastic price for this small quiet hotel.Eric the owner was a mine of information and even arranged moped hire for us.everything was spotless and the female reception and housekeeping team were friendly and hardworking nothing was too much trouble.we loved its location in a quiet lane halfway between beach and main road.we would love to return.probably the best value hotel we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisetrav_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We arrived late at night with 2 tired children (2,1) and Eric was there to check us into our spotless room. He had turned the AC on before we arrived so it was nice and cool. I had asked for an extra bed and a baby crib and both were set up and ready for the kids. The hotel was really quiet, most days we had the pool to ourselves. Eric was really helpful organizing a car for us and giving us tips about the area etc. The restaurant only serves limited breakfast and some days just a continental style but it was fine. It is a short walk to the beach. The staff were friendly, helpful and lovely with our children. I will be booking us in again for next year :)

Room Tip: We have 2 small kids and got the last room furthest away from bar on teh ground floor, it was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProfessionals2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Location is near Maenam beach, about 3 minutes walking. Beach is quiet and nice for swimming. Hotel has no restaurant, but there is many on the beach and near streets. Owner was very helpfull. We had nice time there.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Päivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Had 1 night at Ampha Place and couldn't fault it. The owners were extremely friendly and made me feel welcome.

The bed was the most comfortable I experienced in Thailand, good choice of tv channels and a pool (though didn't use it).

Mae Nam was a bit disappointing but I'd recommend About Cafe for a brilliant brekky!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1TheAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Some of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever encountered in Thailand. Beds were big and comfortable, wi-fi was free and fast, bathrooms clean, TV had a few English channels, air conditioner worked well however they are placed above the door which is totally inefficient but that's their problem, not yours. All rooms face the pool which was not only convenient but really contributed to the atmosphere of the place. Owned by a Swiss guy and his beautiful Thai wife, there is a bar next to the pool but during my trip the only dining options on-site were open for breakfast. The owner informed me this would likely change soon as they're looking for new staff. The only thing preventing me from giving a 5-star ranking is the location. It's not that close to the beach, it is within walking distance but feels so much further since there's this forest-slash-swamp preventing you from seeing, hearing and feeling Mae Haad Beach, which was incredible. Besides that, you won't find a better place for this price point and would highly recommend a few nights here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sens4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.2 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#44 of 185 in Bophut
1,668 reviews
1.1 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#11 of 30 in Mae Nam
619 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
762 reviews
8.2 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 45 in Lamai Beach
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Point Village
Palm Point Village
#5 of 35 in Mae Nam
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampha Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampha Place Hotel

Address: 67/59 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Nam
Price Range: £23 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ampha Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in a quiet area only 150 meters to the beautiful beach of Maenam. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, hot water shower, TV with international channels, refrigerator, safe deposit box, terrace or balcony, good quality mattress, Wi Fi internet. Bar/restaurant and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ampha Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ampha Place Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing