We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not great..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mimosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mimosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice but not great..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I had high hopes for this place, the pictures looked nice and the reviews were pretty good - it did not live up to my expectations. Don't get me wrong - it was okay...but I think for the price I could have found better ($20USD more per night could have went a long way).

First the good things: the place was clean, absolutely no issues there. The staff were very helpful and things got done quickly. It was out of the way and quiet, which is what we wanted as we aren't into the party scene, but still accessible if you rented a motorbike. The wifi worked without issues and the AC in the room was great - it wasn't working to it's fullest on the first night and they came to fix it the very next morning.

Here's what I found disappointing: we were charged 600baht for the airport pickup, which seems to be pretty standard for the island but still expensive in my mind. The resort over-charged for everything! The spa treatments were more money than any of the places up the road, the cost to rent a motorbike was higher, the food and drink at the restaurant was higher, and the staff (while helpful), didn't seem to know much about the area when asked for directions or restaurant recommendations. The buffet breakfast was included and it was the same each day - the coffee was really bad (and the first cup every morning was lukewarm at best). We rented a motorbike, ate a few meals and used the taxi service offered at Mama Moon up the road - everything there was fabulous!

Also - on our 3rd day a huge group arrived with a bunch of pre-teen kids who pretty much took over the resort. The kids hung out in the pool, splashing each other (and anyone else in the way), ran by spraying water on you and whipped a volleyball around, hitting anything in it's path. No idea where their parents were during this but they should be embarrassed. Lucky for us, the room of kids was put directly above us. They continued like this until at least 1am, our room was practically shaking, until I called the front desk. The next night, they threw wet towels and bathing suits off of their balcony onto the path below, and ran the halls. I've never seen anything like this before. Anyhow, no fault of the hotel at all - just made me realize that I should make sure that we book "adults only" from now on...and this resort might not be as quiet and out of the way as you hope.

Room Tip: We stayed in the jasmine room with the outdoor shower - it was nice! I believe these are only on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineTO081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    135
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
58
223
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lovely rooms, beach, pool and garden area. This hotel has very friendly staff. The location cannot be moaned about as it is directly on the beach front. A few reviews have suggested that it is the middle of nowhere however we would disagree. Although not close to the main town the hotel provides a shuttle bus service to the 3 main towns. Although you would need to pay for a return the furtherest town chaweng is only about £6 in a taxi.

***An added review of Mama moons restaurant*** Mama moons restaurant is a short walk away from the hotel. It does delicious thai food with massive portions for a very reasonable price. Not only this the owners are very friendly and accommodating. We ate here most days whilst staying at minosa because it was
fantastic. They really need their own review page!!!!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a great little place ,you can get around the island in a couple of hours and there is always something interesting to see. the hotel is right on the water and the beach is not as crowded as they are down in Chaweng one thing to remember is if you want to go riding driving ya better have a international licence.Food everywhere. The only thing that surprised me was when I went out to the toilet at the rear of the place where we were eating just down the road from the hotel I found one of the waiters washing the plates down with a hose in the toilet I hope they didn't do that every where and we never got sick anyhow.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bantam414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

we loved our stay at mimosa the lovely staff made us feel welcome. This place is so relaxing and friendly and if there not quite sure they know what your after they go out of there way to work it out. Also they have the best/nicest waiter in the world called Coo he is the happiest, friendliest waiter that puts a smile on everyone's face. we had a big group at mimosa and Coo went above and beyond for all of us and everyone misses him!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently stayed at Mimosa for our wedding on Koh Samui. We held the wedding through Faraway weddings, however all 40 of our guests and ourselves booked out the majority of rooms at Mimosa.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, if their was an occasional language barrier, they did all that they could to ensure that we understood each other.

The rooms, (we stayed in the family pool suite, but saw many others also) were exactly what we expected: clean, moderately furnished without being overcrowded. We really loved the spacious bathrooms, showers and pool.

The restaurant was generally fantastic. All of the food was cooked to a high standard and we had no concerns at all about hygiene. Small issues in terms of wait time around large dinner bookings, however the service and quality at every other time definitely made up for it overall.

The spa was very nice, and the staff were lovely. It was quite expensive though, yet another (much cheaper) spa could be found just a short walk away.

We would definitely return to Mimosa on our next visit to Samui. The staff there are so lovely and they did everything that they could to make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are all on the ground floor and were lovely to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardusWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Cozy and modern resort by the beach. The rooms are good with simplistic decor an modern design. Some signs of wear and tear but still in good condition. The highlighlights of this place are the proximity to the beach(+ for being almost deserted) and beach side pool - giving you all the incentives to relax.

Downsides: shallow beach best suited for children (reef outside makes swimming a hassle) and the lack of good eateries close by. Getting a nice dinner can be quite an expedition.

Considering we payed 310USD for four nights w/breakfast this resort comes highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leifarneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had a wedding ceremony at Mimosa resort&spa and stayed here for 4 days. I was absolutely amazed by this ceremony! Everything was done brilliantly and we have great memories about that day! I want to thank Mr. Methee for organization of our unforgettable ceremony! The honeymoon suite we had was beautifully decorated with flowers and candles and we had jacuzzi in room.

The hotel itself is situated in picturesque place, far from noise, it is nice and peaceful. You can find everything you need in this hotel: swimming pool, restaurant (I advise to try healty drinks and chicken breast), spa and massage and different sport facilities.
We spent great time here and would like to come here again!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
2.9 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.4 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
2.8 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
1.8 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Resort & Spa

Property: Mimosa Resort & Spa
Address: 32/2 Moo 5, Mae Nam, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Mimosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Koh Samui
Mimosa Resort And Spa
Mimosa Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing