We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
17
19
11
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
19
11
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2011

The Phalarn Inn is a little bungalow resort with just recently redone restaurant/lobby area, located in quite Maenam.
The resort has 3 types of bungalows, very simple ones for the budget traveller, some bigger ones for families and the most bungalows are middle sized one-room-bungalows as you can see on my pics. I personally don`t like the bigger "A"-bungalows (green ones) as they are too big and not really nice furnished but they have a fridge and a sort of seperate area to chill. I recommend the "B"-bungalow wth aircon or fan, no fridge but tv and much nicer interiour.
Sugar, who runs the place, is lovely and always helpful, she speaks excellent English (while most of the staff doesn`t, but that is not really a problem as Sugar is always around).
Phalarn Inn has just undergone some major renovations as the lobby and restaurant area is entirley new and much more styled than it used to be.
Located in very quit Maenam but not beachfront (only a 1 min walk to the beach though), it is quiet but in the neighbourhood you will find some nice restaurants (best one is just opposite side of the street!) and small laid back bars.

Phalarn Inn has a nice pool with whirlpool but I have been there as well last April and ot was just that hot that the pool wasn`t really a place to cool down. The pool chairs and oitside furniture needs definetly more attention: run down/old, broken or dirty: Sugar should invest in that next!
I don`t like the Maenam beach much as the water can be sometimes not really clear but the beach is absolutely empty all the time even in high season and clean.

Don`t expect a fancy place for that money but you can have a good relaxing time at Phalarn Inn! I have been there 2 times and would recommend it to travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank na_ka_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I have stayed at this family run resort twice.

The prices are unbelievably low. The communal area for food is great. At night the family goes to bed and you help yourself to drinks and write them down in an honesty book.

Maenam is much quieter than chaweng but has enough bars and restraunts.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leethomaswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Was wary at first after being approached by Smiley on the ferry offering us lodging but my desire to just get settled in somewhere ASAP overrode my apprehension. Turns out it was a great decision. Smiley drove us from the ferry saving us cab fare. The room was comfortable for the price (very reasonable). Still I'd have to say the best part was the staff, Smiley and Sugar made the trip. While at the full moon party on Koh Phangan my traveling partner was robbed. They got all our money and the key to our room. I felt horrible about it, but I had to wake up Sugar at 4am to get an extra key and she even fronted our exorbitant cab fare. We repaid the next morning but the whole experience was eased by their kindness. The beach is close, but not spectacular. The food is great and the hang out spots great for meeting fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Ko samui is an amazing place! Tropical paradise! But I have to say that we stayed in Mae Nam beach, not in Chaweng, which by the way is a awesome beach,but it is turistic, full of bars and night life. I wouldn't like to wake up there everyday!
Mae Nam is a lovely beach, quiet, but with plenty of nice restaurants. We were there for 10 days, at the Phalarn inn, which just behind the Lampraya Pier that connects Samui to Kho Phangan, 2 minutes from the beach! The bungalows are lovely and the staff very, very nice. It is just like home! Sugar, the manager was always there to help us. She help us with car rental, and trips around the island. The national park is a must! It is worth having a car for some days so you can go to different places and enjoy different aspects of the place. I really recommend Phalarn Inn! Would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AStipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews