We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be prepared to 'Chill out' for a long time before you get your food!”
Review of Chill Out Cafe

Chill Out Cafe
Ranked #81 of 96 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Cuisines: Thai, Cafe, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be prepared to 'Chill out' for a long time before you get your food!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Visited the Chill Out Cafe for a late lunch when the cafe was half full, and ordered 2 sandwiches and 2 burgers. The beach side location is great, with a relaxed vibe and music. However after waiting for an hour for our food to be delivered (with little explanation or apology from the staff), we were not feeling so chilled out with our 2 young children in tow.
Food was fine and reasonably priced, but until they sort out their service levels and attitude I would avoid.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    4
    2
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly Terrible - Avoid”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were insane enough to visit this place twice.

The first time, we had ordered one of the set breakfasts and not all the items on the menu were on the plate and we had to ask repeatedly for some of them to be brought out - but only the missing coffee came and it was charged extra on the bill! The service was slow and the food was cold. He couldn't even get toast right. We like dogs, but the owner's two dogs were playing quite forcefully around the restaurant which could be disturbing for some.

The second time, there were also menu items missing from our dishes and we ordered croissant but instead were served half-toasted toast with a grunt, "croissant no have". The service was again lazy, the food cold and low in quality. Some of these dishes I had previously thought were impossible to get wrong and I will not forget the food I ate here. The dogs were also quite lively this time too. I would never go here again.

If you face the sea and walk along the beach to the right for a couple hundred meters, you will come across Zenzibar, one of the top rated restaurants on Koh Samui...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Great view, laughably bad food and service”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Admittedly we were there on Christmas Day so maybe the top staff were off for the holiday. We came in from the beach. Just a few tables were seated, the view was great, and we even liked the music that was playing. We ordered our first round of soft drinks for the kids, a bottled Chang beer for me, and a strawberry daiquiri for my wife. The daiquiri took a long time to arrive and tasted like a kids drink but it was the "Chill Out Cafe" so we chilled out and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Then the ignoring started. It was like the staff was actively avoiding seeing us as we looked their way and waved our arms. Finally we were able to order chicken strips and fries for the kids and fish and chips for the adults.

We ordered another round of drinks, and after another long wait they brought most of the drinks but told me they were out of cold beer. Nobody else there was drinking beer. That means they had one cold beer ready to serve for the day. Oh well, I ordered something else.

Two kids meals arrived but they didn't have a third. So one of the kids switched to fish sticks and waited. The real laugh came later when our "fish and chips" were delivered. It was exactly the same as the kids meal! Same fish sticks, same store-bought fries, even the same portions. At that point we just chalked it up to an amusing experience and got out of there.

So if you want a nice shady place to sit and enjoy a drink, but you don't care too much about what you're drinking, go ahead. Otherwise stay clear!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
692 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
“Chilled out and run down”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are staying at the Hacieda next door, so we dropped into the Chill out Café to try out the breakfast. As suggested by previous reviewers, the place is a bit run down and uncared for, and our reception on arrival was a trifle muted.

My wife ordered the American Breakfast, and I ordered the “Jumbo all in one” which included 2 fried eggs, bacon 2 sausages, fried tomato, toast butter and jam, and orange juice. My breakfast was BT220 and the coffee was an extra BT50. Total bill came to BT340. The food was OK… the coffee was not great. The butter turned out to be margarine made from a combination of Sunflower oil and Soy.

I guess you get what you pay for. Best part is the location, right on the beach, with tables on the sand if you can handle the sun, or if you want to get away from the TV blaring advertising in Thai language inside. Tomorrow we try some place else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went here for lunch after being unable to find Zenzibar. Service slow and disinterested. We both had the white snapper fillet with garlic and pepper sauce, both fillets were undercooked. The chips were overcooked and cold and the salad had no dressing. Pineapple shake was nice but the mango shake tasted like it was made with a cordial rather than fresh fruit. One of the worst meals we have had in our 9 days here, yet it was as expensive as we have paid for far nicer meals with great service. The location is great however, right on the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chill Out Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Chill Out Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing