We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice people - right on the beach”
Review of Jun Hom

Jun Hom
Ranked #57 of 100 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people - right on the beach”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed on Bang Po beach for 10 days and Jun Hom was one of the 2 restaurants we visited several times.

The food was nice & fresh every time we visited (for lunch and in the evening). They serve mostly Thai food, and the prices are reasonable, much the same as most of the restaurants in the area. In the evening they bring out a large selection of fresh fish for you to pick from which they will cook up for you in a number of ways.

To be honest though it wasn't the food that brought us back, it was the service. The staff all seem to be ver friendly and accomodating with most of them seeming to speak at least basic english. In all of our visits not one mistake / wrong dish was served. They always seemed pleased to see us and made a big fuss of the kids.

Combine this with a lovely beach front setting and it really made for relaxing meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank El_Badgerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai sea food”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

On the beach, not luxury but they focus on Thai sea food. I like the squid in black soup and other local menu. Recommend to try some. It located on the north of Samui Island that may be quite far from Chaweng beach. A notice : I think the pin in this map is wrong, by the way please ask some people to get there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wichar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worst Restaurant in The Area”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our hotel recommended this place, although I can't imagine why. We traveled half the way around the world for great Thai food and were so disappointed to have wasted a meal on this place. First, the service was non-existent. We had a reservation, (although the place was empty), but when we walked in no one even acknowledged we were there. One gal even gave us a very unpleasant look. Finally we just walked ourselves to a table and sat down. It was more of the same throughout the meal - no one seemed interested in taking our order or delivering it. I could have forgiven all that for a great Thai meal (afterall, I am from Chicago ;), however, everything was tasteless. The sweet and sour snapper tasted like something out of a can - full of corn starch and corn syrup (or something that tasted as such). Do yourself a favor and try another place. Our dive instructor said all the locals love Bang Po Seafood down the beach - wish we had the chance to try it out but we wasted our last meal on this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaCodaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Check this out”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I liked this place so much last year I went back again but I must say that the food was better the first time.
The restaurant has a great beach-side location so an excellent choice for either a few hours on the beach with lunch or for dinner. The food is generally good and tasty - especially the curried crab, although the service on my second visit was disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swissericsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thai Seafood in great beach front setting”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Brilliant Thai seafood, Crab Rice was amazing, Steamed Crab and Glass Noodles real surprise. Salted Thai Sword Fish recommend, squid grilled with Oyster sauce like butter. The BBQ prawns over the famous wood was great. Service was good, waiter even fetched insect repellant without asking, can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardjCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jun Hom also viewed

Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Jun Hom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing