We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jameden
Cumbria, United Kingdom

Hidden little gem

Review of By Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Sept 2014via mobile
This resort is amazing! It's hidden away and nothing really around it but it is so chilled out and relaxed and the food out of the little beach shack kitchen is awesome probably the best thai red curry I've ever had and the masaman curry is amazing too! If you want to cut yourself off from the outside world and reality this is the place to go! P.S turn left onto the beach and walk about twenty minutes and there is a really nice beachfront restaurant/shack that serves the best curried squid ever!
Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£73
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.7 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pinnacle Samui Infinity Pool
£35
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£29
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£55
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£30
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.8 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£511
  • WHotels.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.8 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £95
  • Hotels.com
3.2 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £149
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £57
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £47
  • Priceline
4.0 miles from By Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mae Nam
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
98
62
22
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
98
62
22
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

Fantastic little resort located on the quieter NW side of maenam, due to the location being so secluded you will need to spend money getting to the busier places, ie chaweng, but there is no shortage of transport. You can get a taxi, bus or hire a scooter (which the hotel provide and is best value for money). The surrounding are is less developed than other areas which allows you to experience the real koh samui, but there is still plenty to do, with many coffee shops and eateries along the beach. They will also provide you with snorkelling equipment or even a guitar for those who prefer to not just sunbath!

The bungalows are very basic but it's gives you a real feel for the laid back beach life and for £7 a night it's an absolute steal.

The resort is thai run and has a real friendly and family feel to it, having stayed on samui before at the more expensive and brash European run resorts this place was a breath of fresh air, all the staff were fantastic and made our stay that much more pleasant.

They have a beautiful beach front restaurant which is extremely well priced, excellent food and a sunset to remember.

Date of stay: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent three nights at By Beach last month. Nice little bungalow that fit our needs. Not much to it, but enough. Lovely location to relax. The bed was comfortable, and after two weeks in the sun, we spent a lot of time sleeping. Lots of ants in a room, but we weren't too concerned about that.

The beach was gorgeous. Not deep enough to swim, but I enjoyed just sitting in the water and relaxing. We were even greeted by two of the "guard dogs" while taking a dip. They were extremely friendly.

The restaurant is ok, but the one up the road immediately to the right is delicious and reasonably priced. We ate there two nights and loved it! We also came close to getting attacked by a dog while walking to 7-Eleven, so be careful. We don't think he was a stray, as we saw him in the same spot the following day (on the left side of the road right past the school yard as you are walking toward 7-Eleven).

Not much within walking distance. It's a bit of a walk to the more
populated area, about 20-30 minutes on the beach. We were able to catch a taxi to the pier for much less than what the hotel was quoting us. We just walked on the street until one stopped.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We really enjoyed our three night stay at By Beach. After the hussle and bussle of koh phangan, it was nice to chill out on the beautiful beaches of Koh Samui. We had a fan hut right on the beach and it was lovely! Very clean and comfy and very spacious! The staff were friendly and helpful, organising our on going travel for us. The restaurant was good with tasty food for a reasonable price. Good working wifi. Not much about but you don't need it for chilling on the beach!

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meghan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Had the most amazing 6 nights at By Beach Resort. Our bungalow was basic but clean and had air con. We wanted a relaxed week doing nothing - it was perfect. We were right on the beach, the views were stunning, ate and drank at the little bar/ restaurant. Food and drinks were very good and very good value. Staff were friendly and helpful. For the price it was terrific - would definitely come back.

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georginakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting :) the staff really made the trip what it was and it wouldn't of been he same without their positive attitude... The food was all amazon and great value :) would definitely say here again!

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RupertHougham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews