We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not allowed to eat!”
Review of John's Garden

John's Garden
Ranked #26 of 169 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: John's Garden is a typical restaurant offering Thai and Western food in a warm and friendly place !
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We stayed at coco palm resort not far from this restaurant, so we thought it looked really nice from the outside. We entered through the lovely carved gates and saw 2 groups of people, one group at the bar the other at a table, the rest of the restaurant was completely empty, a waiter behind us said hey what do you want? We said can we have a table please? He said no we are fully booked! It was about 7pm and empty! He just walked off. There was no reason to be treated like this, we were not drunk, rude or discourteous we just wanted to have a drink and maybe a meal too. We did not go back here.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank davecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The setting is great - spaced out tables in lovely garden really pretty at night. We came with our two daughters . The service was excellent - very friendly and informative . We tried the massaman which was delicious and also the stir fried prawns in chilli and Thai basil. We wanted to try the "Thai ravioli" out of curiosity - like little deep fried wontons very naughty but good. Good value too.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We found this place by looking on the internet for suggestions where to eat in Mae Nam.
It was one if the best meals we have had during our stay here and would highly recommend giving them a try. You won't be disappointed with the food nor the ambiance of the lighted garden area .
Well known for their awesome Massaman Curry so we gave it a try and Wow, it's amazing! Be sure to order this delicious meal!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank craftylady2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

We visited here after searching on trip advisor.
The restaurant is on a street that many may not venture down and hidden behind a wall.
The tables are well spaced out in a beautiful garden setting. Every table has bug spray and an incense candle placed under it. My husband and I thought this was a great touch. The waiters were very bubbly and spoke good English a couple of them even saying typically English phrases like 'lovely jubbily'
The setting in the garden is beautiful and it was playing lovely chilled out music. The food was delicious, we wanted to try the massaman curry but it had run out. We had heard about it on trip advisor. It's a curry that has been cooked for approx 8 hours, maybe next time we could try it.
We had a fab night and glad that we found it. The prices were reasonable, I think you paying a bit more than other places in the area BUT are getting so much more.(beautiful garden, wooden tables, chairs, good music, good service,good food, ambiance)
Definitely somewhere to go.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Naleesha73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Lovely restaurant and a fantastic waiter who could not do enough for us his favourite saying was lovely jubbley

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Jessiejake1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed John's Garden also viewed

 

Been to John's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.