We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forever yours!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Forever yours!”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We just returned from Santiburi back home, back to the reality, but we left our mind, our soul and our heart in Santiburi. Santiburi is perfect in all ways. Beautiful villas hidden in the tropical forest, the best beach on whole Samui. Delicious food. Activities for adults and children. And the personal..... the personal has to be rewarded for being excellent, for listening to all our needs and responding to our desires. Amasing people work in Astonishing Santiburi Ocean and Golf resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sommerglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    86
    20
    10
    11
See reviews for
259
341
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We spent 8 days here with our 17 and 19 year old and were fantatically looked after. the villas in the garden are cleverly arranged to give wonderful views and privacy. Our children had a garden villa which was beautifuly decorated in a traditional thai style, we were lucky enough to have a newly refurbished villa (504) with the most amazing bathroom. The European manager is very hands on; welcoming guests and overseeing the running of the the hotel. The staff are charming, many having worked here for many years, and quickly they knew our name and our drinks orders! Overall this is a lovely place to stay on a very beautiful island.

Room Tip: 504 was newly refurbished with great bathroom and modern decor throughout. Very private location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here with my 2 teenage kids and it was pure luxury, had one of the beach villas. Beautiful surroundings and bath was filled with flowers each day, a fruit basket delivered to the villa every day. A little far away from all the action in Chaweng but took a bus there and back with no problems.
Definitely one of the most beautiful places in the world!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were really disappointed after 10 days at the Royal Orchid Sheraton, Bangkok and The Chedi in Chiang Mai to arrive at Santiburi. The hotel was built 20 years ago and is showing it's age. We stayed in one of the few rooms in the main hotel with a beautiful view of the pool but we had come all that way, we wanted the SEA! Set on 2 levels, the lower level has a balcony and turns into a bedroom for our two children, we were on an upper level with no access to outside but away from the children whilst they slept. The bathroom and plumbing are from a different era. The shower is forceful but no mixer tap! The bath did take a long long time to run! When we arrived the weather was blustery, the beach restaurant was deserted at 3pm and we ordered the most revolting hot dog for my son and pizza for my daughter that I had tasted in a while. Things were not good, and after telling the manager what we thought we looked into flights back to Bangkok or at least a change of hotel. HOWEVER, first impressions can be misleading. We came to really love this hotel. I commend APPLE the wonderful manager for the way that she took us in her stride. The beach is beautiful and deserted, there is even a sacred tree in the grounds. The pool is fantastic and as soon as you sit down, always loads of room, you are offered towels, water, sun tan lotion, cleaning of your dark glasses ( I jest not!), ice cream, fruit! We were offered a room in the grounds, but came to appreciate the coolness of our own when we realised how hot it could be. Afternoon tea with cakes and fruit is served at 4PM every day. There is a fantastic array of activities, free tennis, squash, sailing, and fishing coaching, never overbooked. If you are up at 9ish your children can bag a scooter for the day which helps with getting around the enormous tropical grounds. By the end I felt so at home here, my son spend hours every day playing squash with Thai coaches. We swam for hours. There were weekly cocktail parties on the beach and by the end I felt part of the family. It is a perfect place to relax. You might be anywhere when in the hotel, but if you walk out of the front door you can walk another 10 minutes to the local village and lively street market, or take a taxi for 200-300 baht to Fisherman's village or just stay on site and eat at the Beach Restaurant and fantastic Thai restaurant. I am still not sure why I liked this hotel so much but I think it is because it isn't so flash, minimalist, perfect, but it actually has a really lovely feel to it. ( when we left the German Director, who approached us in a very friendly way several times during our stay, waved us off with his Thai team- that has never every happened to me before, and we were not special!) I would certainly consider going back!
Thank you Santiburi.

Room Tip: The beach rooms are few, the other's are exposed, we liked our room attached to main hotel by po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mum-2-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

A truly wonderful place!! Staff is amazing and mangement could not be more friendly or welcoming. So relaxing and beautiful. And the food...delicious. What a special experience. Made our honeymoon special indeed! Thank you Santuburi :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank risabel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Having travelled extensively through Europe and Asia, santiburi was a very pleasant surprise. So much so that we have returned for 3 years now - the only time we have returned to a hotel.

The rooms are large and clean, albeit that they are getting slightly old now. The real drawcard is the service that a boutique hotel can provide. For example:

- the first time we stayed, we had a late evening flight. They arranged a room for us to stay in (we were
Traveling with 2small kids so this was a godsend) without mention of an additional half day fee

- all the staff know us and our kids by name

- the staff genuinely try to help you, for example, on the beach the staff will bring sand tools for the kids to play with without us needing to ask

- free afternoon tea and ice creams at the beach

- smiles everywhere you look (ok, this is Thailand so perhaps not unique)

For anyone with kids who wants to get away from the bustle and sleaze of chaweng, santiburi is highly recommended. The one drawback is the distance to eating options (we generally don't eat at the hotel), but there are a few places within walking distance (in particular barracuda and koh sheng which are both excellent) and so with a bit of research on trip advisor, it's very easy to plan around this.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKJPBOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We travelled with 2 kids aged 7 and 5 and booked a garden villa with plunge pool. The room was nice and large with a large bathroom, and a sofa which converts into a bed where even an adult can sleep. The plunge pool has a jacuzzi as well and very private. The villa was barely 20 metres from the beach and perfectly located.

The resort is fantastic for families with kids with good facilities from a large pool, kids club, tennis and squash courts, golf chipping range, table tennis, and the like. On the beach they have kayaking, sailing, fishing. The beach is nice and quiet with not much around. The water is very calm but not clear which was disappointing. The resort has a library of over 350 DVDs which can be watched in the room free of cost. They also have a library with books and two computers with high speed internet to surf, check mails, etc.

The service was excellent, the staff extremely courteous and well trained in taking care of all your needs. Really service with a smile.

Location wise, Maenam Beach is very relaxed with not much in the area barring a few "shacks" within walking distance of the hotel. We rented a car one day and drove around the island. After seeing the crowds at Chaweng, we were quiet happy with our choice of location. In any case, taxis or the hotel limo are available at reasonable prices to go to Bophut or other beaches / towns.

Thanks to the Santiburi team for a great vacation

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
2.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,555 reviews
5.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
5.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.0 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 12/12 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Santiburi Beach Resort, Golf & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is a five star resort and a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World, with 65 villas, 12 Suites and four restaurant outlets, a Royal Thai restaurant, a Beachfront restaurant, a Pool Bar & Restaurant, a Breakfast restaurant and a Lounge Bar. The resort also consists of an Activity center, Water sport center and Santiburi Spa by Bhawa. The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is well known in Thailand as a first class Resort with a high level in both standard and in the quality of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiburi Golf, Resort And Spa
Santiburi Golf Hotel Mae Nam
Santiburi Resort Koh Samui
Santiburi Hotel Koh Samui
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing