We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, excellent service . Relax in a hammock or be active” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent service . Relax in a hammock or be active”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The hotel is located at the beach and offers a beautiful natural surrounding. The rooms and villas are spacious and offer privacy. There are many beautiful Hotels on this planet, but what makes Santiburi special is the staff and the many offers and activities.
When relaxing in the hammock after a swim in the salty water of the ocean nothing is better than a fresh melon or pineapple which the waiters brings to you. The beach waiter also provides drinking water and ice cream.
Other activities included: catamaran, boat, tennis, squash, coffe&cake, fitness gymn, internet, games, yoga,....and many more. The staff is always helpful- they show you how to sail or play tennis with you.
Another activity is Golf on the very beautiful but quite difficult golf course which belongs to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMS1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    82
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
241
322
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the Santiburi Beach Resort for one week. This was one of the most pleasant holidays we have had in recent years.
The resort consists primarily of independent villas that are generously spread out over landscaped gardens allowing each villa resident considerable privacy. The villas are large, well-appointed, each with a private patio and plunge pool. Housekeeping service is impeccable.
The resort is ideal for families with children. Our ten year-old son was kept busy for most of the day with the myriad activities available for children. Football daily at 4:00 pm was a favourite as was the sailing, and windsurfing lessons that were all complimentary. Santiburi is truly a child-friendly resort.
While the children were kept busy we played golf in the magnificent, if difficult, 18 hole, championship course. Since the golf course does not have members, the course is effectively for the exclusive use of the hotel guests. Unfortunately, walking is not possible as the terrain is dramatic in its topography with steep hills and fairways, large distances between greens and the next tee and stunning views over verdant valleys.
The hotel’s beach is fantastic with the ocean more like a beautiful, calm lake in the early morning hours. Swimming in the late afternoon as the sun set behind us was an exhilarating experience.
What would bring us back to Santiburi however are not its physical attributes, many as there are, but the inimitable attitude of the Thai staff and the incredibly personalised service they give you from arrival. Without exception, the staff was kind, gentle and warm. Their smiles, starting with the man who greets you at the hotels entrance, are a joy to behold. The staff of the hotel took personal responsibility for making sure that our son was at all times entertained and the General Manager made sure that all was well with us. His daily tours of the resort greeting guests, as well as his Guests’ Reception allowed us to interact with him on a regular basis. He, the GM, was our host for golf on one of the days we played golf (he’s not a bad golfer.)
As long term expats in Asia, we have had holidays in many of Asia’s best resorts; Santiburi ranks as one of our favourites and one to which we will certainly return.
AA Zamora

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DistantTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My family and I been on Thailand for the last 4 years every summer/winter/Easter, so we know a bit about Thailand. However, Santiburi is not so much about pristine and crystal clear beaches, the place is more to do with the human side and hospitality. The staffs are friendy and caring and you know why, it is simple, because the managing director Mr Willy Optekamp and his wife are hands on running the place and greeting guest and encouraging such feel good family atmosphere. I go on holidays because I want my wife and daughter to be happy and comfortable which is simple but yet difficult to get. Nonetheless, at Santiburi we have managed to get such family comfort that they have rated one of the best places they have stayed. Anyway, we will make sure we are back again. I hope this review is useful to some people. Finally, I would like to say thanks to the activity centre people who provided care and time to my daughter, Seung Yon. She is your number 1 fan. Thank you and my family would like to wish the Santibury family Merry Christmas and a healthy and prosperous 2012 year.

The Kim family at 317.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KSY7-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

This is the first time I've added a review on Trip Advisor which I hope will show how impressed we were with this hotel. We stayed in a garden room for our fifth wedding anniversary trip and were well looked after the minute we were greeted at the airport until the departure with waving flags from the front of house staff.

The hotel is excellent in every respect and we couldn’t fault any aspect. It was improved still further by the staff and their attention to every detail. I want to personally thank Willy Optekamp the general manager who works tirelessly to ensure all guests are well looked after.

I also would like to give Va Va and Bung a special mention as two great members of staff who made an already good breakfast even better.

My wife made use of the spa whilst I played two rounds of golf during our stay and golfers should take every opportunity to experience a fantastic course set high in the hills overlooking the coast. I’m a useless golfer and it showed, but the local course manager Derek didn’t make me feel too bad! – he’s a great guide to play golf with and sorry I couldn’t be a better opponent.

You will not be disappointed by this hotel and don’t miss the 4pm tea and cakes on the beach front and the excellent local buffet every week, even if it is the only meal you indulge in during your stay.

You know you are in for a good time when your sun glasses are cleaned by the pool staff while you enjoy fresh fruit and ice cream and iced bottle water courtesy of the hotel.

I cannot praise this place enough – go see for yourself.

Room Tip: Any room is good, ours was a garden villa which we preferred as I could imagine the beach villas mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
196 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is our 2nd visit to Santiburi and it was just as good as last time. The grounds are so spacious with hundreds of trees and plants and our villa was like a home from home. The staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble and as returning guests we were made to feel really special. If you want to eat out their recommendations are excellent and they make all the arrangements including providing the transport in a hotel mini bus. Breakfast is 1st class and the food in the beach front restaurant is very good. The pool is enormous and everywhere is spotless thanks to the 250 staff! You are hard pressed to find anything to
complain about

Room Tip: Ask for a villa by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We visited this hotel for 6 nights in October. The hotel is situated on the north coast of Koh Samui away from the busy resort/nightlife of Chaweng Beach.
Our arrival was greeted by welcome fruit drink & cold scented towels whilst our luggage was taken directly to our villa.
Willi, the German Managing Director was extremely curteous and with his long experience in the hotel trade had set very high standards of leadership, customer service and attention to detail.He welcomed each guest personally at breakfast and at dinner.

Our villa was very comfortable with very efficient air conditioning and luxury bathroom with every conceivable guest comforts such as luxury toiletries, insect repellent, torch, slippers and even a Santiburi "teddy bear".
The breakfast was served from 6.00 am to 11.00am and choice was varied inc cereals, bacon, eggs to order, breads and even "fruit shots". A lady was on duty outside the breakfast restaurant each morning to make fresh squeezed fruit smoothies.
A choice of several restaurants but the most popular was the beach side where it also served complementary afternoon tea with cakes, bread & butter pudding & crepes. During the afternoon, staff would visit guests along the beach & around the pool with fresh fruit and ice cream as well as complementary chilled water & iced flannels.
Willi hosted a golf tournement twice a week for guests which included free beers at several holes as well as Sinha Beer/polo shirt voucher at the clubhouse.
A Managers cocktail party was arranged each week and was attended by most guests.

We ate at various restaurants in Bophut/Fishermans Village but the best value was the Barracuda in Mae Nam - only 10 minitues walk from the hotel.

A nice touch was for Willi and his team to see guests leave with flag waving.

We would certainly recommend this 5* resort for couples & families.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mumbles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

If you want to go to the Santiburi for golf then don't!! The Name of the hotel is misleading because the golf course Belongs to the Owner of singha Beer and the hotel has no say at all. We are teavelling w Children As always and so we wanted to join my Hutband on the cart for 9 holes - what we have Done many Times before - and they don't allow that. I could partly understand the no Kids Part but Even an adult non-player is Not allowed on the course! I would also understand that if the course was full but when we were there only the scottish Manager of the golf course was playing, while about 10 thai employees were working (He seems to have a Nice job). Overall - i'm a Bit Mad at myself for having chosen this hotel because much nicer and much more modern Hotels - such As W retreat - are nearby and since now we are not playing golf at all this would have been a better Choice!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilibern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. Just to clarify, we do allow non-golfers on the course but due to the severity of the terrain they must take a caddie and cart as it is not possible to walk. Yes, I do have a great job, thank you, and I play with the guests from Santiburi Golf and Spa Resort every Tuesday and Friday in the special golf tournaments which explains why I am on the course. Due to the tree lined fairways guests have the feeling they are completely alone on the course which of course is a huge bonus compared to the pack courses around the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
5.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
5.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 12/12 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Santiburi Beach Resort, Golf & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is a five star resort and a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World, with 65 villas, 12 Suites and four restaurant outlets, a Royal Thai restaurant, a Beachfront restaurant, a Pool Bar & Restaurant, a Breakfast restaurant and a Lounge Bar. The resort also consists of an Activity center, Water sport center and Santiburi Spa by Bhawa. The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is well known in Thailand as a first class Resort with a high level in both standard and in the quality of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TravelUp so you can book your Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiburi Golf Hotel Mae Nam
Santiburi Golf, Resort And Spa
Santiburi Resort Koh Samui
Santiburi Hotel Koh Samui
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing