We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

There are many hotels to pick from on Koh Samui, so its a bit strange that the Santiburi has any guests at all considering their terrible service level, mixed with a dated decor. I think they are living on a past reputation, because my family received nothing but bad service at this hotel. I am starting to think that any positive reviews on trip advisor were written by fake guests. The location of this hotel is also very undesirable, and the beach is a mess. They are greedy about the pool towels, and the restaurants are just mediocre. Stay away from this hotel! And dont expect any help from the management when you seek them out. Especially khun apple will just apologize, as if that helps, and go on her way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gwenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We enjoyed 10 days at Santiburi Resort. We liked the spacious villas. An upgrade to an ocean front villa was worth it. The beach is clean, more than enough desk chairs and even hammocks. At the beach nice service with towels, water, ice cream. Big breakfast buffet. Nice, but expensive restaurants. My tip: eat in Na Mam close by (10 minute walk) or take a taxi into other towns.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank KRB723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is out 3rd time in this hotel in two years.its the perfect holiday for families &couples.the beach is calm& beautiful where you can enjoi both the quiet,the wind,the views & the local Thai sellers come with their great goods.the location is only a few Momemnts by taxi from the beautiful Fishermanns village where you have perfect restaurants &shops.
For kids it's paradise,all the sport equipment & art for the little once,the pool is huge &much fun.
But above all of is the unbelievable staff.its seems like they have every morning adaily review about each&every guest in the hotel.thay remember your name ,the way you drink your Coffey in the morning ,when is your last day& where you prefer to seat in the beach.they always will be one step ahead of you with your needs.you must experienced it to understand.just one small example.our flight to Bangkok was at 19 pm.when we arrived to the room the night before we received a note telling us that they have already issued us( we didn't even have the chance to ask...) a late checkout just until the time we have to leave the hotel.....we can't wait for the next time

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank orineta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

a wonderful location and a beautiful long beach. The resort and all amenties are excellent. Good quality restaurants if you don't want to move from the hotel. if not you can rent a scooter for less than 5 euros a day just outside the hotel and head towards fisherman's village or Chaweng. The hotel's beach service is excellent and good sports facilities. Guest are mainly german, which makes that when I asked for an italian AC adaptor to recharge my laptop, not only it was not available but after 1 day I had been told that I should buy it myself (i bought it in Chaweng for 2 euros...). In my opinion this is unacceptable in a 5 star resort. I booked a Santibury river villa (1 bedroom), very close to the beach, which I recommend, although the additional bed for an adult (15 years) including breakfast was charged another 60 euros a night which is rahter expensive. However I was advised before booking, so up to the guest to decide. I found out that cleaning of the room was only partially efficient, when searching for my glasses under the bed and noticing a good centimeter of dust on the floor. Breakfast is good but does not meet the standards of other 5 star resort in Thailand. In any case I would go back to Santiburi, the staff is very polite and helpful and besides above minor accidents, the location is really worth a stay.

2  Thank Flexyclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed two days/one night at the Santiburi hotel in Koh Samui and we were amazed by the level of service and pampering at the hotel. We arrived well before check-in time and they immediately gave us a room and actually upgraded us to a room with a plunge pool and ocean view. At the beach, they came by with ice cream, sun tun lotion, cold water, and cold towels to wipe our faces, all complimentary services. The water sports are free, including kayaking and sailing. The thai restaurant was delicious, and they left complimentary fruits at our room. They also allowed us to check out late since our flight to Bangkok was not until evening and s time.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and well maintained. They have local plants (which are all labeled), ponds, small lakes and a beautiful pool.

We could not have asked for a more relaxing time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60745Traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed as a family of four in a villa and had a great time. The pool is enormous and the beach wonderfully kept and managed with hammocks, loungers available all the time in both areas even with the hotel being supposedly full. Staff were excellent, attentive but not overly so, always available and friendly. Restaurants were good quality although you have the easy option of going along the beach or a walk away from some other great restaurants including Barracuda, highly recommended on TA. At these types of places the little touches make the difference and I was concerned with what facilities we would have after our room checkout, at 11, when we weren't due to leave until 1800. We were given access to a twin room with full bathroom facilities for the whole day at no charge. With a fairwell sing song and my son being given the honour of banging a large gong in the lobby it was a really nice end to a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The room, the bathroo , the garden , the pool and above all the exquisite attention given by the members of the staff at all times, everywhere you went, by the pool or at the beach. I miss the scoop of ice-cream they use to bring the guests who were sunbathing and their (free) afternoon tea and also the reasonable prices of their room-service menu and the restaurants. The manager of the hotel introduced himself to us and we could tell how committed to his job he was.
As a matter of fact when I think of the perfect beach resort in Asia the Santiburi comes to my mind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
5.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
2.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,622 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,422 reviews
5.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
761 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 185 in Bophut
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 12/12 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Santiburi Beach Resort, Golf & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £169 - £611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is a five star resort and a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World, with 65 villas, 12 Suites and four restaurant outlets, a Royal Thai restaurant, a Beachfront restaurant, a Pool Bar & Restaurant, a Breakfast restaurant and a Lounge Bar. The resort also consists of an Activity center, Water sport center and Santiburi Spa by Bhawa. The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is well known in Thailand as a first class Resort with a high level in both standard and in the quality of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiburi Golf, Resort And Spa
Santiburi Golf Hotel Mae Nam
Santiburi Resort Koh Samui
Santiburi Hotel Koh Samui
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing