We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, a fantastic hotel, great staff and one that we would definately return to!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We have just come back from the Santiburi. We had planned to stay for 1 week after 2 busy jam packed weeks of fun in Australia, when booking we realised we needed somewhere after Australia to relax! BOY is this the place!!
The moment we turned up, one of the first things we said was 'why did we only book for one week! We were then fortunate enough (being totally selfish!) for the volcano to erupt and us be stranded in one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. With two families travelling together and 4 children in total, there was no way we were travelling to Bangkok, not knowing when we would fly home. Not only did we think that the Santiburi was one of the best hotels for all of the usual reasons - fantastic accomodation, service, food, cleanliness etc etc but the service we received whilst being stuck in Thailand was outstanding. The manager, Willie and staff (Apple, Pimpa and Noi in particular) are fantastic, they really helped make our extended stay, of nearly 3 weeks, an enjoyable one.
At first we had a few concerns having read a few comments on this hotel on various websites, thinking had we made the right choice, but this was not the case when we got there. Everything was great, the 4 children (ages 6 to 10) had a great time with lots to do, including the bikes that they were able to use. The childrens Club had a range of activities and with the snorkles, kayaks etc all free of charge they had great fun.
The staff couldn't do enough for us, fantastic service all round.
I would definately recommend a trip to Bophut (fishermans village) we had several nights here and there was many good places to eat and drink. The Krua Bophut stood out from the crowd and again we couldn't fault the food or service.
With many little additional extras such as bottled water, cool towels, ice cream with biscuits, fresh fruit daily (the list is endless!) we really can not find fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRMCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2010

the hotel remains to be the top place to stay in koh samui. the german general manager turned this place into true heaven.

location:

wonderfully located directly on the beach. the water is wonderful, no stones, no rocks.
sundbeds are available and there are always beach boys close to help you with cold water towels or anything. if they see, that you like a certain place they automatically know the next day and guide you there. the beach is super clean.

we rented a little honda motorbike, which turned out to be great (5 euros per day). fisherman village has a great variety of restaurants, where you can eat and that village is pretty unique. do not go to chaweng, which is terrible.

rooms:

we had an garden villa with outdoor plunge pool, close to the beach. i want to take it home with me!!! the bathroom has an enormous size, the bed ist the biggest and softest i have ever slept in, the a/c is calm and perfect, same sony lcd flat scream like home, but dolby surround system with it. you have a big terrace and also that jacuzzi in an extra big terrace. it really deserves to be called a villa. no insects (saw 2 gekkos) always cleaned and looked after. you have nice kimonos, water complimentary a great lightning system - perfect.

atmosphere:

the people who work here are the nicest hotel staff i have ever experienced. my trips before included one & only / maldives, le prince maurice / mauritius, constance lemuria / seychelles. everybody there was very nice also, but the staff at santiburi is so lovely, polite, always trying to make you feel comfortable. i think that they are truly proud to work in this place. all guests were invited do join the staff 2010 party and it was great fun. i think they have about 300 persons working here, all in wonderful uniforms, always smiling. everybody understands you and the people at guest relation and cashier are perfect in english. we have become a fan of the general manager willy opterkamp who used to be the gm of the most expensive hotel in the world in abu dhabi. you will see him everyday on the premises looking after the guests and checking that everything is in order.

we planned this trip asking friends and doing a lot of research on the internet. all the resorts here have beautiful internet appearances, but do not let this fool you. i looked at some of the hotels near by - all 5 star - but NOTHING does come nearly close to this one, especially if it comes to space and beach.

the santiburi is often called "the grande dame" of the island, since it was built in 1992. this is a great and true compliment. many hotels try to find a chique, zen, feng shui, modern approach these days - not this one. it is perfectly well kept in shape and you can look in every little angle - you will not find a single spot of aging or weariness. it is cosy and comfortable, giving you the feeling of being home. but better!

prices:

so many people complain about prices for food, e.g. i cannot agree on this. coming from berlin, prices even in the hotel are cheaper than at home. (sandwiches, burgers, pasta for lunch run around 5-10 euros, dinner is about 20 euros per person) of course you pay 1/3 if you go a little further down the beach, which is absolute fun. but you will not have the same service or comfort. we always ate at fisherman´s village and gained 10 pounds at least. food and drinks are really cheap in thailand and the quality is outstanding.

the cost for the villas is absolutely fine.

liked best:

everything. we actually booked a "five star resort" in koh tao (2 hrs by boat) for three nights. we arrived there and the first thing was to call santiburi, who picked us up exactly 24 hrs later to accomodate us again and we were so happy.

disliked:

that we have to leave tomorrow!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I loved it! we all loved it!
The front beach villa was great. Space enough for all, the view on the beach great, big swimming pool, personnel always ready to help but not invasive. Enough space for all at the beach, at the pool, at the restaurant..
The beach has a not a fine sand which we loved as otherwise it would have been all over
The beach is big, the trees give the shadows we needed but there is enough space for those looking for sun. The massage on the beach was lovely.
The manager is always there, following up on everything and everybody.

I also liked the possibility to use the tennis court, and the other facilities they have, free of charge. They provide everything from the rackets to the balls to water, and all is very uncomplicated.

Furthermore in our room (414) we had wlan access, which meant I could talk to my family via skype, and check emails using my iphone. I found it extremely practical (not even at the Shangri-La in Bangkok I had this possibility in my room)

True that privacy is an issue: if you do not lower the shades in the room everybody can see inside the room.. unless you have a pool villa
The food at the restaurant can also be a bit improved.
To create some sort of privacy between us and the kids (we all were sleeping in a big room) we asked for shades which were provided immediately.

But we liked it sooo much that we are considering to go back for Xmas

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sscc0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Santiburi with my partner in one of their beautiful garden villas, after booking another hotel for 10 nights and only staying one!
When you arrive at the Santiburi you are treated to a nice fruit cocktail and cold flannel and are made to feel so welcome from the start.
This hotel has everything you could possibly wish for from excellent food and service to the most incredible tropical gardens. Also the superior and luxury quality of the accommodation caters for your every need. All the staff are so friendly and are dedicated to making your stay a very happy one. Our garden villa (204) was by a little stream with our own private patio and everything was so tranquil and delightful. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. There is a beautfiul pool which I am afraid we didn't use because the beach and sea beckoned each day. As soon as you arrive at the beach you are given towels and cold bottled water together with cold flannels. If you are there long enough you are treated to ice-cream and cookies and then fruit which is a very nice touch. The food at the Thai restaurant and all the beach buffets that we tried were of the most superior quality and choice. We did try a couple of places outside the hotel but found the food was not of the same standard. Breakfast had also an excellent buffet choice.
I would just like to mention, if I may, Tawat, the assistant manager, Pimpa and Apple who were always there to make sure we wanted for nothing. But all the staff who work there have a smile for you so thank you everyone at the Santiburi for making my special birthday holiday a much treasured experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dezwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We stayed at the Santiburi Resort in February and it truly lived up to our expectation. The rooms were superbly decorated and we were suprisingly upgraded twice, we booked a garden villa & was upgraded to a beach villa for 4 nights and then to a pool villa for the rest of the holiday, which was truly amazing. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. My only criticism was the hotel Manager. He was German and displayed openly a favouritism to the German guests. He employed staff 'to pamper to their every whim' was what one other holoday maker told us, which was a little annoying to say the least, but this didn't deter us from having an amazing holiday. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pricilla054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Just came back from 8 day holiday in Santuburi. One word: wonderful!
Arrived late in the night. Check in was quick and easy. Booked for equatorial suite, they have upgraded us to a beach villa (419), which was amazing. You have everything that you can think of, in the room, even more.
The beach is very nice, loads of sunbeds and hammocks.They give you two towels each, always nice cold water, cold refreshing towels, ice creams, fruits to keep you fresh all day long. Beach boys are always there for you, if you need anything. And what is very important, nobody wakes up in the morning and rush on the beach with a book or a magazine to get a bed. There is place for everyone, no matter what time of the day you arrive on the beach.
The breakfast was great. A variety of very tasteful food and drinks, especially the juices freshly sqeezed in front of you.
We had dinners in Rim Talay (by the beach), by the pool (on a Chinese New Year), in Salathai and everything was very good quality, well presented, and tasteful. Value for money, excelent. Some people compare the prices with restaurants in Mae nam or in Fishermen`s Village where you can eat for much cheaper, but it is like if you compare 2* with a 5* hotel. If you go, say in Red Snapper restaurant( which is apparently must if you like good food) in Chaweng you pay the same as in the hotel. And if you decide to pay money to stay in a 5* hotel there is really no point moaning about the price of the beer or anything. You can always buy cheaper.
The grounds are huge, loads of flowers, trees, well maintained. The pool is another story. A huge one (app 1500sq.m.). Pity, we always prefer the beach. There are two floodlight tennis courts, nice gym and many other things if you want active holiday like windsurfing lessons, fruit carving, batik painting etc.... There is also playground area, bikes and loads of other stuff for kids.
There is a small business center with two computers and printer. Tthere are also few pairs of reading glasses next to the PC`s, different prescriptions, in case you forgot yours!!! But the WiFi (free!!!) works very good in the room, even on the beach.
The staff is very, very helpfull, always with a smile and efficient..
This hotel, no doubt is very well and professionaly managed. From early in the morning until late in the night the Gen. Manager is there.
We travel a lot and we intend not to go back to the same place. But this time we might make an exception. That`s how much we liked santiburi.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpirovskiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Not as modern, luxurious and flashy as other 5* resorts Santiburi Golf Resort & Spa is definitly a wonderful place to stay.
We particularly appreciated:
-the location of the hotel along a wonderful private beach and nested in a colorful and lush garden
-tranquility everywhere despite the hotel was almost fully occupied, e.g. we never had a problem to find available places at the pool or at the beach at anytime.
-Quality and availability of facilities, and various activities proposed
-A very friendly and available staff&management providing very effective service and doing everything to make you coming back.
-The SPA, well priced and providing very good treatments.
-Our villa (420) well located, furnished and maintained (we just missed a coffee machine)
Nothing we disliked, however the food was very good (and a little pricey) without being great and we love great food. In fact the food here is too much similar to the food served around at much lower price.

We met there two families, one coming for the 7th time, one for the 10th time. We do not know if we are going to come again as we like to change places and hotels but we definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
5.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
2.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,622 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,423 reviews
5.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
763 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 185 in Bophut
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 12/12 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Santiburi Beach Resort, Golf & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £170 - £611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is a five star resort and a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World, with 65 villas, 12 Suites and four restaurant outlets, a Royal Thai restaurant, a Beachfront restaurant, a Pool Bar & Restaurant, a Breakfast restaurant and a Lounge Bar. The resort also consists of an Activity center, Water sport center and Santiburi Spa by Bhawa. The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is well known in Thailand as a first class Resort with a high level in both standard and in the quality of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiburi Golf, Resort And Spa
Santiburi Golf Hotel Mae Nam
Santiburi Resort Koh Samui
Santiburi Hotel Koh Samui
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing