We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Effort Counts”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

When vegetarians travel to Thailand they are prepared for limited options. The standard menu at the restaurants in Napasai were no different. What was different was when we shared our problem with them we were offered a new vegetarian menu the next day. Not just a couple of dishes but an entirely new menu! We overheard other guests at the hotel appreciate the effort. Would thank Sascha for making it possible.

If you want to explore the island, take a drop from the hotel cart to the main road and the restaurant at the corner will help with renting a car or bikes.

The property is more beautiful than snaps on the internet. We read feedback on slow service at the pool but they seemed to have sorted it out. This is a comparatively smaller property hence perhaps a small staff is required which results in slightly slower service in rooms. So simply ask for what you want in the room buffering for the extra time.

Room Tip: We chose to upgrade (at extra cost) as our original selection of room couldn't accommodate 2 kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekdahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

Absolutely stunning setting. Level of service from staff was incredible and nothing was too much trouble. It is a little out of the way but that suited us fine. Amazing pool and private beach. Highly recommend for luxurious rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njg8373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is a bit isolated, but its quiet and relaxing. We got upgraded to a beach pool villa which was AMAZING! Spacious and private. You can enjoy the most amazing sunset from the pool or hammock. This was our favourite time of the day.

The service and staff of the hotel were very nice and extremely helpful, especially the concierge.

A lot of steps to take since the hotel is on a cliff, but we needed the exercise!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

GORGEOUS HOTEL - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. My husband and I stayed in a seaview hillside villa due to it being a bit cheaper than the beachfront ones but actually all we got was a tiny bit of the roof in front which really didn't obstruct the otherwise stunning view. The rooms and the hotel are BEAUTIFUL, as was most of the service. I would agree with a couple of the other reviews on here that it could be hard to get poolside/beach service at times, but we only really found this a problem around sunset. The beach isn't great for walking on etc but does look pretty and we found it very hard to go out in the sea due to the sea floor being so covered in broken coral and sludgey sand.

Good value compared to other hotels I've stayed in of this standard, however as expected, compared to the rest of Thailand the food and drinks were much more expensive (although I doubt any more expensive than any other 5* hotel there).

This is nitpicking - overall its a GORGEOUS hotel, we absolutely loved our stay there and would highly recommend it!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank rattynatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBenischke, Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear valued Guest,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience at Napasai and would like to sincerely thank you for your motivating words.

Thank you for having chosen Napasai

Yours sincerely
Stephan Post

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My wife and I were introduced to Orient-Express Napasai while at a cooking class in our hometown in the States. Two people seated near us overheard us talking about our upcoming travels to Koh Samui. At the time we were booked at the W Resort - Koh Samui, as I am a Starwood Preferred member. Our new friends encouraged us to alter our plans and stay at Napasai. We could not be more pleased with our decision. We spent a total of five days and four nights at Napasai. The staff, the services and the accommodations of the Napasai resort especially impressed my wife and me. Upon check-in my wife was immediately greeted with “Happy Birthday!” as it was a day before her birthday. On our second night at Napasai we were overwhelmed to see our bed adorned with flower petals and a “Happy First Wedding Anniversary” message as well as a birthday cake for my wife. While the resort was beautiful and the location so ideal, it was the staff that most impressed us. It was very difficult to leave the resort on as we had forged great relationships with the staff. We would like to extend a THANK YOU to all the people of Orient-Express Napasai, including Iolanda Martinez, Algen Pumaloy, Piyapong Ratchaborworn, ‘A’, Wao and many others. We cannot begin to acknowledge each member of the staff who treated us so wonderfully. You all contributed to a memorable anniversary. While at Napasai, we enjoyed a Thai cooking class, a Thai massage at the Napasai Spa, delicious food and a peaceful and serene environment located along a beautiful stretch of the Gulf of Thailand.

Room Tip: Highly suggested that you pay for a beachfront villa suite on the water. You will not experience a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLowcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBenischke, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased that for your friends Napasai is referred to the hotel of choice on Koh Samui. Moreover we are very happy that we could create a memorable stay for you.

Hope to see you soon for maybe another celebration

Yours
Stephan Post

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We went for our honeymoon, and booked a honeymoon package. While all the staff were very friendly, getting the pool and beach staff members' was difficult. Moreover, had we not taken the initiative to remember the parts of our honeymoon package that were unique to that package (such as the couples' massage and beachfront dinner), we fear the hotel would not have let us know that these were amenities we had paid for. Finally, for a hotel that should be service-based (given its location on an island known for its beaches), we sat at the pool and beach with flies in our water and had to search out restaurant staff to find pool staff so that we could merely look at a menu. (Also, the hotel's practice to have its customers sign a receipt for each separate order shows a lack of trust--in my mind--that the guests will pay their tabs).

Breakfast was included and though the food itself was good, there were fruit flies all over the fruit and flies swarming around the indoor dining room.

Overall, folks are friendly but their execution of their duties was poor, and far inferior to that of any of the other hotels we stayed at on our 2-week Asia trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REL513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBenischke, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your important comments with us. Be rest assured that we have taken the right actions in terms of internal communication and organization in order to prevent such incidences in the future.

We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you once more at Napasai in order to showcase you the changes made.

Wishing you a beautiful start into your marriage.

Yours
Stephan Post

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

we enjoyed our stay at napasai in Mai 2013. excellent infrastructure, top service minded staff, lovely rather small hotel ressort. good but gastronomy. ideal for travellers in search of romantic, silent vacation. beach not very convincing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBenischke, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such nice comments which has been a motivation factor for our team to continue in this mind set.

We hope very much to be able to pamper you soon at Napasai once more.

Yours sincerely
Stephan Post

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
9.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
10.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £186 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing