We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome to Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Napasai is a really lovely resort in Ko Samui. We had booked a Sea View Hill Villa with Breakfast included.

When we arrived at the Napasai we were welcomed by the very nice receptionist lady, were taken to a couch near the bar with a stunning view making an incredible first impression. The check in was handled smoothly with a very nice welcome drink and cold towels.

Then we were taken to our room 143 which is actually a very specious villa. Please expect that a hill villa is on a hill, we knew that so no problem for us, but for people with disabilities it can be bothersome, although they take you up and down with a golf cart if you want. The design and location of the villa as well as the view was stunning. Very quiet, very private atmosphere.

In general the staff of the hotel is exceptionally friendly, helpful and there is always someone if you need somebody. Doesn't matter if at the reception, the beach, the pool or even somewhere else in the resort. The managers also take care of every guest. We were asked at least every second day if everything is fine, if we need something etc. THIS IS SERVICE!

The restaurant La Thai has very good french and thai food done by a french chef. We had a few exceptional evenings there. The price for food is between 4-10 Euro for an appetizer, 8-16 Euro for the main course and 6-13 Euro for a dessert. Sure it is a high price compared to restaurants outside the resort, but you get good value for money and I don't think it is overpriced for what you get, a european orientated cuisine with thai style and high quality products. We had a wine and dine dinner once, very nice evening guest were sitting together at one table we had possibility to get a little contact to the other guest, had an exceptional dinner, good wine and a fantastic atmosphere.

What we cannot recommend is the beach restaurant. Prices are nearly the same as in La Thai but quality is lower and the food choices are not so good.

Cocktails at the poolbar are in a average price range of 4-8 Euro. Which is ok, although the lack of little bit of alcohol sometimes, but this maybe good because of the heat.

We always stayed at the beach, is really nice and quite there.. the beach is private which is extremely nice.. although the entry to the sea is a little bit difficult sometime due to stones, but this is nature..

All in all I can recommend every couple that wants to have a stunning experience and a wonderful (quiet) vacation to choose the Napasai!

Thank you to all the staff that made our Vacation so wonderful especially thx to Juan and Jolanta for always being so attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the service and that you had some exceptional evenings at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Thank you for sharing your comments.

As to our Seaside Grill restaurant we have now updated our offer highlighting the Mookata (Thai BBQ) but also offering an array of grilled a la carte dishes.

Thank you for having stayed at Napasai. We much appreciate it.

Best
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    149
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
197
494
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our honeymoon at Napasai was heavenly perfect. Very friendly check-in with welcome gifts and in-room amenities made us smile after a long flight. I was very pleased to be able to check-in early in the morning, though the hotel occupancy was high, the room was ready for us. However we booked the Standard villa, it was nicely furnished and was clean and spacious.
Lots of activities offered by the hotel kept as amused, my husband tried different water sports and I went on a small tour around the hotel property, which was interesting and informative.
The staff was lovely and helpful. I had some issues with understanding the Thai English, but my husband was a good interpreter. Breakfast was served very professionally, and of course, it was abundant with all those fruit, cereals, cheese, etc. Don't miss the green tea, I fell in love with it! Funny little birds who are trying to steal your food were a nice peace of authenticity. We tasted all the dishes from both restaurants (try out a barbecue at the beach) - fed up with Thai food for the whole life, too spicy!
Spa is very good, though a bit pricy. The pool is amazing (if not many kids around) and romantic during the sunset, but the beach didn't impress me a lot - the sea is very shallow and rocky-bottomed. It was a pity to have a sunbed at the beach with all the beds near the pool occupied since early morning.
The hotel is definitely recommended, a greater place to relax and enjoy Thailand in all its beauty!

Room Tip: Try the villas not shielded by other villas in order not to lose the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Napasai for your honeymoon. We know how important and meaningful such trip is.

Moreover we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our new array of activities and be rest assured that we are continuing to improve the choice.

Wish we can welcome you back on your first anniversary.

Yours
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

At the end of our 2 week trip to Southeast Asia, we spent 5 days and 4 nights at Napasai by Orient Express. The plan was to relax and unwind after 2 hectic weeks of thrilling travel and sightseeing (and shopping) in Hong Kong, Phnom Penh, Siem Reap and Bangkok. We picked the Island of Koh Samui as we were told that the weather in July would be better than in Phuket. We picked Napasai based on the reviews and also based on the description and pictures on the website. What we did not know was that the level of hospitality and personal attention to our every need would exceed the beauty of the hotel and the amazing amenities there.

Napasai is set on a beautiful stretch of beach in Maenam, a short 20 minutes from the very modern and convenient Koh Samui airport. The grounds are impressive and stunning. We were greeted by hotel staff at the airport, and then immediately upon our arrival at the hotel, with refreshing beverages and a personal introduction to the property. We were then personally greeted by the hotel manager, Iolanda, who went out of her way to personally ensure that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Napasai and that all of our needs were met. It was obvious from the start, that the entire staff of the hotel understand what it means to excel in the hospitality industry.

We had booked an oceanfront pool residence and it was simply the most amazing villa/hotel room we have ever had! Each of the separate bedrooms was outfitted with stunning and tasteful furnishings, and each of the separate bathrooms contained all of the high end amenities one could possibly want. In addition to our separate bedrooms, our villa had a separate and stunning living room overlooking the pool and ocean, complete with a full kitchen, and a separate indoor/outdoor dining pavilion where we spent hours each day enjoying the beautiful Gulf of Thailand. Most afternoons we spent lazing around our private pool (or enjoying our private spa), or enjoying the warm waters of the Gulf of Thailand itself.

When we first arrived, the high speed internet in our villa was not working well. Could have been an issue when traveling with 2 older children, but before we had unpacked our bags, maintenance staff were at our villa fixing the internet connection so we would not be inconvenienced. One evening, there was a quick (and exciting!) flash wind and rain storm that passed over the property. Leaves and tree branches were thrown all about the property. Before we awoke in the morning, the entire property (including everywhere by and around our villa and pool area) were completely cleaned such that you wouldn't have even known about the storm if you hadn't seen it yourself!

We ate many meals at Napasai and each was better than the next. The breakfast buffet was sensational, with varied and rotating options to meet everyone's desires, from western to asian, plus fresh fruit and pastries. We twice had room service for lunch and the food arrived promptly and was ALL delicious. It was a decadent treat to be able to enjoy the tastes of Thailand without having to give up our relaxing afternoons poolside and by the ocean. On our last night, we had an unbelievable barbeque dinner on the beach which was absolutely the best meal of our entire 2 week trip!

We used the tennis courts (and were provided with rackets and balls), the kayaks and the spa, and had amazing Thai massages in a beautiful setting.

When we bothered to venture out off the property (and believe me it was difficult to want to leave the beautiful Napasai!), the hotel staff arranged taxis and made dinner reservations and suggestions that were all excellent. During our stay, the hotel had a new concierge come on board and Sabrina made it a point to personally learn about everything we were interested in on the island to ensure that we were experiencing the best that Koh Samui had on offer. Sabrina even accompanied us on our elephant ride adventure to ensure that everything was perfect! Who does that? What other hotel would send their concierge out with guests to ensure they were happy? No other hotel that I have ever stayed at for sure!

It is clear that this hotel and the entire Orient Express organization understands that international travelers have vast choices in picking vacation properties to visit and they want travelers to pick Orient Express hotels and resorts, and perhaps, more importantly, to continue to pick Orient Express hotels for future travel. I had never even heard of Orient Express before this trip, and unintentionally we wound up picking 2 of their amazing properties on this trip (Napasai and La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap). And while the locations could not be more different, the level of attention to customer service and hospitality remained the same. The staffs at both properties were 100 percent dedicated to ensuring that we were completely taken care of and enjoyed everything we did at their destinations.

Napasai is an extraordinary property with extraordinary staff at all levels from the top on down to everyone who works there. We look forward to returning again (and again)!

Room Tip: There is nothing more spectacular than the private oceanfront pool residences!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, HI
Level Contributor
365 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a beautiful resort, right on the beach. The personal villas are just lovely, designed in a way that gives the feel of traditional Thai lifestyle. Our villa was right on the beach, which I recommend! We loved spending time on our outdoor patio just relaxing and watching the ocean.

I particularly liked the secluded, romantic feeling of this place. I loved the restaurant right on the beach (not beside the sand, ON the sand!), but it seemed they also do a good job of offering semi-secluded dining in a variety of gazebos and patios that serve their 2 or 3 restaurants.

We enjoyed the special celebration for Chinese New Year's, a special outdoor buffet, with Chefs cooking and serving hot foods and meats, and a buffet of delicious side dishes. Setting off the "lanterns" at the end was a delightful surprise! I've never seen this done, let alone get to participate, lighting the big life-size Chinese lanterns, hold till they fill with hot air, and then release into the night sky over the ocean.......Memorable!

The staff is very professional, very helpful. We enjoyed meeting the Manager, she spent time conversing and getting acquainted with us during our stay and seemed to be very conscientious about making sure her guests were well attended to.

Breakfast was excellent, a big variety of both Western and Thai breakfast items.

We also enjoyed the infinity pool which seemed to just flow right off into the ocean.

Spa is also lovely, we enjoyed a great massage here.

And the flower art! It's amazing! We even had "Happy Honeymoon" spelled out on our bed in little tiny white petals.......amazing!

All-in-all, this place is wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just back from 10 days at Napasai. This place has everything that one can dream of: a setting surrounded by nature and beautiful gardens that creates a calm and serene ambiance. In terms of restaurants, we loved sitting on the beach and having the traditional Thai Mookata in the evening. Breakfast was amazing with a huge selection of Western and Asian dishes. As a family, we really enjoyed the activities, yoga and Pilates in the morning and sailing in the afternoon. What impressed us the most was definitely the staff: from the management to the gardeners, waiters or concierge, everyone was very warm, friendly and attentive. I would say that this made us feel very special. Thank you so much Napasai for such a great time! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

The Napasai was in fact a 2nd choice for us when there was an issue with our original choice.... But it proved to be fantastic! Our concerns were the distance from Restaurants, but it was very easy to get a taxi that the resort arranged for you with an agreed price.
The resort is set in beautiful, lush gardens, with the villas all private & secluded.
Nice clean villas but do agree with feedback I read about the problem about the 'turn down' being too early. But spoke to Juan who dealt with this & they came later. Had no problem with sun beds on the beach but the pool was rather busy with lots of families with children... So we stayed on the beach. Wit, the beach guy was brilliant, always ready to help move the sun beds, was always very discrete but very attentive when he served us drinks & food. He is a major asset to the resort.
Beach is lovely, but wish we had taken our beach shoes as it was quite hard on the feet with stones. Not Napasai' fault!
If we were to be critical about anything it would be & agree with another member it would be.. European costings in the resort but in Thailand. Thailand is so cheap to eat & drink out but resort needs a taxi to go anywhere so adds to the cost. The service in the restaurants is good but the food was average, so adding this cost to your overall holiday makes this a more expensive choice.
A shame really as the resort is more expensive to begin with then some very good resorts in Fishermans & they have restaurants on hand. But don't be put off.. The setting, the beach & the most amazing infinity pool ever makes the Napasai a fantastic choice for couples. There are changes being made apparently & a few 'extra ' special touches would make this resort somewhere that won't be beaten!!!
Overall loved the Napasai, thank you everyone there... You all make an amazing special team!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToniHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

It has been very long time since my First visit at Samui Island. This place used to be very calm and quiet. Today, it becomes fancy.
If you want the calm and quiet atmosphere as it used to be. Napasai Hotel is a good candidate to think about.
The villa is well design that reflects Thai traditional way of life whereas the modern function requirements be perfect.
The services are great and impressive.
It is worth spending your time for a break here , then back to your busy world....

Room Tip: Take to beach front ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimjai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to host you soon again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Stephan Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
7.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
7.4 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Property: Belmond Napasai
Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing