We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We enjoyed 5 nights at Napasai over New Years 2014. Rooms are beautiful, private and spacious. The staff is exceptionally nice and take care to know your name and interests. Sabrina will help you plan your day, A will greet you with a big smile, Kit will make will make your favorite drink, Juan will seat you and the entire team will take care of you.

If you believe the beds are hard you haven't traveled much. They are actually very comfortable and standard for luxury hotels in Asia. The food could be better but breakfast is also comparable to other hotels and there are many low, mid and high end dining choices nearby.

Stephan, the GM, is easy to find and takes care to make his guests happy.

As for the children, day one I was surprised but it is the family holiday season and as the week progressed we enjoyed them.

A new chef on Sunday and Stephan has plans for many upgrades. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Check in online for Bangkok Airways and join their club and you will avoid airport lines and get ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJTCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear SJTCA,

Thank you for taking the time to write on our Tripadvisor page. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that our team could make you feel comfortable. As you rightly mentioned we have some new exciting things coming up.

Until then kindly let us send you our best regards from our tropical island.

Yours
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

My partner and I were also disappointed by the hard king size bed, and we're shocked that we did not have hot water in our shower for two days.
The morning waitstaff were so kind and the pm dinner staff were rude and
Disorganized. We felt like we were in kiddy land with all the ill mannered
Children. The spa massages were exceptional and the front desk personnel were gracious. The General manager was not around during
Christmas ! Thank god for Juan and Saachi or we would have left!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kuma75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Kuma,

Thank you for letting us know your experience which I am sad to read that we did not fully satisfy you. Kindly accept my deep apologies. Please be rest assured that we will be looking closely at the points you mentioned.

We truly hope to get the chance that you visit us again.

Yours
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The beach location is great and the pool is stunning. Sadly the food is simply not up to the luxury standard you expect nor is the service. In fairness, the manager did a great job at compensating me for the issues but nevertheless the overall experience was not five star.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Steve,

Thanks huge for your comments and we are delighted that you much like Napasai. As to the food offer it has been revised and comments are very encouraging.

Wishing you well from Napasai

Yours
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Upon arrival at this resort it is clearly obvious that there is something seriously wrong.
Where is the beautiful Thai Service………..totally missing.
Food & beverage is just totally understaffed 24/7.
The food is possibly the worst that I have ever eaten in Thailand, and the beverage menu is limited to say the least.
The rooms are basic, pleasant, clean and functional.
However, beware of the beds. They have been made from recycled back seats of 1963 Volkswagen Beetles. I have never slept on such a hard mattress.
The Thai Nationals that work here are all extremely pleasant, but they are not allowed to interact with the guests, and appear to have a gun pointed at their heads should they choose to do so.
This is not the Thai way of serving hospitality.
After five days it would appear that the fundamental problem here is this resort is under German Rule & Occupation.
Germans are great engineers, and make the best cars, but should not be allowed anywhere in hospitality or the service industries.
For the money I paid, this was utterly disgraceful.

Room Tip: Beach Front, & Levels 2 & 3 are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigel_747400Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Mr Nigel,

I am very disappointed and sad reading that your stay did not turn out to your full liking. Moreover your negative feelings are very concerning. Kindly let me present you my deepest apologies.

Since beginning of this year we have a new Executive Chef with us and Sebastian is working closely with the team to also come up with some new exciting dishes. The wine list throughout the hotel features a total 126 references, yet we are always delighted to scout for any specific label you wish for. As to the mattress we further have soft ones on hand and it does not take us much time to convert them.

As to the team I can rest assure you that everybody has the liberty to interact with the guest, being further a credo of Orient-Express and therefore it is being praised.

Mr Nigel, I am very sorry for the experience you had and we will do the necessary changes where applicable.

Yours
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Ate at their Thai restaurant Lai Thai. Although the place looked very nice, the service was extremely slow and disorganized. Watched 2 upset tables with wrong bookings. But more than that it took an hour of waiting after ordering food to get a main dish, which was very standard with blend tastes. To our surprise, the banana blossom salad did not mention it was coming with prawns (we thought it was vegetarian is this kind of a dish always is) and the beef stew was very nice and soft, but it came with gnocchi and a tomato sauce. Quite unusual. Again, no word about this on the menu.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Lustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Lustin,

Thank you very much for your comments which have spurred off some changes on our Menu. We hope to get the chance that you visit us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week In this place. Rooms are very nice as well as service. Only 2 things were not as good as expected: food is quite average (but very expensive) and swimming pool is too small for hôtel capacity. Consider renting a car or a scooter as hotel is pretty far from center

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Erastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We loved to stay at Napasai. The staff is very friendly and helpful, starting from the management down. The facilities are maintained very well, the beach is beautiful, breakfast is fantastic and restaurants are tasty and creative. The apartments are gorgeous and we really enjoyed our beach front villa. For those who can't decide if the want to book beach front or sea view, take either one as the are one above the other and therefore both superb choices!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Raimund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Raimund,

Thank you deeply from all of us for your motivating words. We are much delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to be able to host you soon in the near future.

Yours
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
9.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
10.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,461 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santiburi Koh Samui
Santiburi Koh Samui
#3 of 30 in Mae Nam
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £190 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing