We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Napasai = True Samui Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Napasai = True Samui Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed at the Napasai for four nights in late December. We really enjoyed our stay and we’ll definitely return the next time we’re in Samui. First, the plusses. The Napasai’s location is probably among the best we’ve seen in Samui. It’s located next to a very private beach, and privacy is overall a major plus in the resort. Even though the resort was nearly full, it’s so private there we felt like we were the only ones there at times. And yet, if you want to go to Chaweng beach, it’s not far at all. Taxis cost around 400 baht to Chaweng or to town.

What you see on the website is really what you get. The villas are all nestled in hills or right along the beach, and the natural beauty is breathtaking. From the lazy water buffalo grazing as you enter, to the combed beaches, to the dreamy infinity pool, it’s one of the most beautiful natural settings we’ve seen. Another huge plus is the service. There is no shortage of staff here, and they are all extremely friendly, speak English, and very warm – true Thai hospitality at its best! Service extended down to the beach and pool area, where there was always someone present to take a drink order, put up an umbrella, etc. We also noticed the resort does a very good job with mosquito management, as we did not get a single bite while we were there. And breakfast is excellent, with to-die-for homemade jams!

On the negative side, there are a few minor quibbles, and one major one. First, the minor. We did not get a daily paper for the first two days there, and then the third day we received a one-page UK news summary, and on the final day a US news summary. The paper in the restaurant did not change for four days. There is no in-room Wifi, although there is wifi in the pool area and a couple of laptops for public use. Some of the “finishing touches” in the room seem less than 5-star, such as the inkjet printed room service menu. The A/C seemed to kick off at times at night, leaving the room a little stuffy. Both umbrellas in our room were broken, and there is no ipod hookup in the room (although a DVD player is installed and the boutique store has an extensive selection of free DVDs for a rainy day).

Now, the major complaint. The hillside villas are really nestled in the hills, and the path to get to them is steep. Definitely not for the elderly or frail or unfit, which is why the resort provides golf carts to cart guests to their rooms. We actually liked the hillside villas the best of all the rooms, and here’s why: The resort is located right next to a fishing village. The fishermen go out in their longtail boats every morning around 6 am, and it is LOUD, LOUD, LOUD. The noise lasts for about an hour. The noise must be much louder for the seaside cottages, so unless you really want the beach at your front door, we recommend you stick with the hillside villas and keep your windows and doors shut especially if you are a light sleeper.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and we look forward to our next visit to Napasai.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank bangkokiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    146
    34
    15
    9
See reviews for
192
487
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2008

We enjoyed an absolutely mesmerizing stay with Napasai in November.

Our room was gorgeous Beachfront Cottage Suite. The room was very spacious, clean, comfortable, and romantic. Perfect for a couple. Spectacular sea view (very up close) from every part of the room including the bed, direct access to the beach. I really liked the bright and spacious bathroom; heavenly shower booth, relaxing bath tub, nice aromatic oil...we didn't use the outdoor shower in the back as we saw a huge lizard nesting there...

You do see fisherman's boats from time to time, and you can hear them sometimes too, but not to the point that it bothered me in the morning as some have noted (I think it would've my father..) There were no construction noises during out stay.

The room was made twice a day; linens changed daily, towels changed at every visit.

The breakfast was freshly prepared with good variety of selection to chose from. We didn't get to try the restaurant at night, but the food from pool area was quite nice. We were worried that it might be a little 'westernized' but it was a proper authentic Thai dishes with a bit of fancy twist.

The swimming pool was as gorgeous as how you see on the hotel photos, and a good size to swim in. We received complementary fruit cocktail and quick Thai massage while lounging by the pool.

Getting around can be very difficult, I would strongly recommend to rent a car if you're like us who enjoy exploring the island on your own and trying different restaurants. We got a very good deal and had a small jeep for 4 days w/ insurance for 3000 Bahts. With car, location was no issue at all.

We were recommended to goto Fisherman's Village but didn't think much of it...a good place to pick up some souvenir but you can do that in Chaweng on your way to bars/marine activities etc. Restaurants there were average, there are far better quality selections along Chaweng Noi to Lamai (again, you will need a car) from cheap local eateries to top notch restaurants.

If you chose to stay at Napasai, we would highly recommend to stay at beachfront cottage suite. It's pricey but worth every penny, and the only rooms with direct access to the beach. I am sure that other rooms are very nice too, but there are many other 5 star hotels that offer similar rooms and service at a lower price. I really enjoyed staying at Tongsai Bay's cottage suite a few years ago (better breakfast, much better spa, easier access, pool and beach was so-so). But if I were to chose between Tongsai's Grand Villa and Napasai's beachfront cottage suite, I would chose Napasai at a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The room and the pool
  • Disliked — Staff's English comprehension level
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dckmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
474 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

The two drawbacks first: the sea access was quite difficult when we were staying at the Napasai: only possible to swim at high tide :-/ And the scuba diving that requires a one hour speed boat to get to the spots (like from any other hotel in Koh Samui).
All the rest was perfect, from the pick-up at the airport to the drop off.
Hotel entrance is almost at the top of the resort allowing an overall view on the huge infinity pool, the beach and the sea, the two restaurants (both excellent), the bar and several bungalows. The staff was attentive and efficient, from the reception to the housekeeping, a sign of very good hotel management. The spa was all right and massages up to it. Bungalows are spacious, made of top quality material, with all amenities you can expect from a ***** resort, some of them having a large leaving room where children can comfortably sleep. And the hotel is organising all sort of activities, from scuba diving tests to excursions or games on the beach. Not to forget of course the nice infinity pool where we could chill out, get some lunch and some drinks...
In short, we spent two weeks in paradise...

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The beach access at low tide
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

Just returned from our trip around the Far East (Thailand, Singapore, Hong Kong) and can't say enough about how wonderful Napasai was, the surroundings, the staff and the quiet comfort of a truly wonderfull hotel. From our greeting with cold drinks and chilled towels on arrival through the sumtious breakfast and the ever attentive beach/pool staff to the wonderous dinners in the main or the beachside restaurant everything is done to make you feel special. I've read other reviews which describe it as a "Gilded Cage" given the "reality" of the rest of Ko Samui - I disagree! if you're prepared to spend time and look there are some wonderful restaurants and bars around and a little bit of reading will winkle them out. Best part of all was the people - always warm and welcoming with food, from the best retaurants to the lowest street stall, to die for. Yes the "tourist attractions are a little amaturish but that has it's own charm and any issues are easily smoothed over with a smile.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The 3 am. fishing boats
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_IanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

Beautiful sea side location, excellent service , Bungalows are beautiful Faultless.
But...
We wanted a little bit of life on this leg of our holiday and as far as the hotel ents go there are none. We took a taxi every night to the fishermans village. The taxis are about 3- 4£ each way and the money you saveon the meals you get in Bo phut make it worth it as the hotle is much more expensive than the restaurants outside.
This is a lovely resort great for beach bumming on the day, but be prepared to take a taxi and go out on a night.

  • Liked — beautiful beach bungalows
  • Disliked — location for restaurants and night life
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYPRUS
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

Words actually cannot describe how wonderful this hotel is...we liked EVERYTHING.Although its a bit expensive it worths every penny!the staff was excellent very polite helpful and friendly.they couldnt let you do anything on your own!we stayed 3 days at the beach front cottage..and 2 at the sea view hill cottage.they were amasing!all the rooms have a balcony and all are sea view.and the same inside.very nice spa.the beach is small but that is that makes it special!the most of the people were using the swimming pool and a few the beach.there are aboud 8 sunbeds at the beach.you can do free kayaking and wind serfing and they give you masks for snorkeling.this hotel is for people who really want to relax and just listen to the sea..most of the people there are couples or honeymooners.the bars at the hotel close at midnight.there is no partying there.no loud music or shows.its all for RELAXATION!!

  • Liked — the pool ,the polite and helpfull staff,the amasing room view
  • Disliked — they didnt have a 24hour room service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DAISYCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

Stayed there for a week to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary with our 2 young children.

We had a most enjoyable time at the resort and in Koh Samui. The island is not as developed as Phuket, it has a rather laid back feel to it. People here are generally warm and friendly.

We booked a cottage suite with buffett breakfast included. The suites are very quiet and secluded, giving you a sense of privacy. There are 2 low sofas in the lounge that were converted every night into beds for our kids. There is a 'sala' outside in the courtyard which is perfect for relaxing. We also had a private dinner served there for our anniversary - at no extra cost.

The resort is relatively secluded, but fairly close to Bophut and the restaurants at Fisherman's Village. Would recommend 'Smile House' for dinner where you can have freshly cooked seafood.

We booked a rental car to get around the island and to shop in Chaweng. If you want to save money you can easily rent motorbikes or a jeep - lots of European tourists do this.

We enjoyed the big breakfasts at the resort. They have a French chef, so the pastries taste like real French pastries. The food at Napasai is good, but we only dined there once for dinner. They have one restaurant and one cafe. The restuarant has theme nights, BBQ, Thai set menu, etc. But be warned it is rather pricy.

The housekeeping staff are especially heplful and friendly. We were fortunate with the weather, warm sunny days with cooling seabreezes. Napasai is not cheap, but would recommend it to couples wanting a quiet romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Seclusion and Service
  • Disliked — Expensive dinners
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mulgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
3.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
6.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
9.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Property: Belmond Napasai
Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing